Velvet Long Sleeve Mini Dress

rsavv358
207 Reviews
99% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Flowergirl95


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Amazing dress... but how can I shrink back to original size?
November 3, 2015
This was a beautiful dress and fit perfectly! I lusted after it online and finally decided to buy it for halloween. The very next day my friend decided to borrow it and it became stretched out. I'm wondering if anyone else has tried washing it on warm to shrink it? I really liked the original fit of the dress :/

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ashley


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 100 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Loved the hell out of it.
February 20, 2014
I wore this dress for about 3 years, wore it out. The color is faded and I have stained it and beat it up. It was a go-to dress for me and I think I'm going to buy it again. My only concern was that because the scoop in the back was so wide, the shoulders kept falling down on me. It was annoying to deal with, but didn't affect the way the dress looked on me.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by SUlNlNY


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 145 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Pretty but extremely small
February 5, 2014
I got the green and its so pretty!! however its also extremely small. I have couple of double u neck and lace nylon dress from AA in size large and they fit TTS but this dress was so tight and showed all the flaws. I'm still debating if I should return it... Its too pretty to let go but it's way too tight. Compare to other AA dress this has little to barely any stretch. When i first opened the package i though AA sent me the wrong size because it looked so tiny for a size LARGE. Sighhh if you're skinny i highly recommend getting this dress.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by beth


Height: 5' 1"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Love love love!!
January 18, 2014
I have this dress in Burgundy and Bottle green, and I absolutely love them both! I'm usually a size XS but I ordered a S just in case and they fit perfectly! Only thing that's extremely annoying is the fact every time I wear one I have to ask my partner to pull it down on the odd occasion. Yep it rides up! It's such good quality though! and I'm extremely happy with them both!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Melanie


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 128 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

STAND OUT
January 2, 2014
This dress is a little hard to get on at first because it is pretty tight.. but once it's on, it fits like a glove and is super comfortable!!! I've worn it to more fancier parties and I have gotten tons of compliments! Definitely gets people attention in a good way:) I think it's beautiful and highly recommend it.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jasmine


Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Definitely size up!
December 27, 2013
My opinion on this dress is 100% sure to size up! For a while I was unsure from the mixed reviews whether to go for my size or up, so I went to the american apparel store to try on some different sizes and M fitted me snug. With all other brands I am XS - S. Other than that the dress is an absolute stunner, way better quality than the pictures give credit for. Do be careful for the colours being fuller as well. Hope this helps

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by StickGirl


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Annoying Shoulders but Perfect Dress
December 5, 2013
Yeah, the title says it all! The shoulders are a bit too shallow so the dress literally has a hard time staying on. Idk if that's just a "me" thing but yeah just putting it out there. Other than that this dress is comfy and warm. Be careful if you have a booty because it might ride up on you a little bit. Such a great item.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anne


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Perfect!!
December 4, 2013
This dress is so beautiful and it fits perfectly. At first when I saw the small, I thought to myself "no, this def won't fit me". So I tried the medium on first and it was loose around the stomach area. I ended up buying a small because it hugs onto my body nicely. AND the small is tight enough where I don't have to wear a bra (I'm a 32D-DD) & it looks good without it, surprisingly!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alexandra


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 114 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

AMAZING
December 1, 2013
Such a lovely dress - really flatters on all the right places! I had been thinking about buying this for a while, I am so glad I did! I bought it in the emerald green colour, in size medium, despite being a small in American Apparel usually, so I would say it's slightly small on the sizing.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Daniela


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 132 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

November 26, 2013
I've got really mixed feelings about this order although I love the dress. I ordered a Navy L and unfortunately it got mixed up with a Black one. Other than that, it's a superb dress. So if you're 132lbs and 5'4 and relatively big boobs and bum, do go for the L, it's a perfect, perfect fit, doesn't crush anything and it's not long...However I am really disappointed with the mix up and would definitely exchange it if it weren't for the extra postal charges I have to pay and not to mention, the time I'm wasting with sending it back...

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by TK


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Perfect
November 26, 2013
Size S fit perfectly and it is incredibly flattering. You can see lines and bumps under the dress, so plan for that. Not too short, not see-through or low. It's a good quality dress and I imagine that every color will be nice. I almost want to get another one.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Amanda


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great Dress
November 22, 2013
I just got this dress today at AA for a last min night out dress for a birthday party. I got it in the green in size XS. The smaller size makes it easier to not wear a bra (I am a 32 C though). Green is one of my least favourite colours but I have to say, this dress in green is stunning! It is more of an emerald green which is also perfect for this type of season with Christmas coming around. With the dress being velvet, it is nice and warm especially if you are going to be outside. It is the perfect dress for the fall and winter time of year. The fit is tight especially around the wrists. I really had to pull hard to get the sleeve on but the girl at the AA store said that the dress is meant to be really fitted. Normally, I would have gotten a S but I have this dress in cotton short sleeve in S and the shoulders are always falling off, which is a huge pain. Only thing I would have to say is, if you are buying a colour other than black online, you should consider going into the store to get it because although you may choose one colour the shad can. Ex. I tried on a S and XS today in the same dress in the same colour but the small was a brighter green and the XS was much of a darker and nicer shade. Also noticed the same thing with the navy colour. Definitely my go to dress for the season that can be casual or dressy. Do NOT hesitate buying this dress!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tiffany


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 107 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Get thiiss!
November 8, 2013
The dress fits great. I got a size XS in Burgundy. Measurements are 33 (36C)-25-34. It fits like a glove. Makes the assets look amazing. The length isnt too short. I was able to bend over without my kibbles and bits showing!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Katherine


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

beautiful
October 31, 2013
My measurements are 34-26-35 and the S fit perfectly. It is tight, but the falling-off-the-shoulder situation is more manageable if the garment is snug. The navy is beautiful and dark. When I am ready to splurge again I may go for green.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by layla


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 129 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

super cute
October 21, 2013
got this dress for homecoming in magenta size small. it's comfortable and unique - i love it!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kayla


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 100 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

October 12, 2013
This dress was so big in the shoulders:/ Otherwise, I got burgundy and it's beautiful and flattering!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by shar


Height: 5' 2"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

i want this dress so bad
September 15, 2013
but im kinda in-between sizes. should i take an XS or S? 5'2, bra size 34B, waist 24'' (61-62 cm? something like that) Which size should i get? Thank youu.

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Annavdb


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 119 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Help with sizing pleaseee!!
June 9, 2013
Hey guys I really need some help! I'm ordering this from new zealand and i don't know what size to get! I'm usually a uk size 10, my chest is about 84cm (33") and waist 67cm (26"). I weigh around 54kg (119lbs), I'm relatively slim I think, I'm pretty sure a size S would be best but what do you think?? :/ I just don't want it to be weirdly loose in any areas ahhhhhh!! Thanks soo much xxxx

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by sarah


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Can I wear this with a bra?
May 27, 2013
I just ordered this dress in black. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it! But i was wondering if i can wear it with a bra because the back is so low, thanks!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Megan


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 100 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Beautiful
May 15, 2013
I tried this dress in XS and it's a perfect fit. Cannot wait to purchase another this payday! So many compliments received when out wearing this dress, definitely worth the money. Only problem as pointed out by others is that it does tend to slip off the shoulders but apart from that its a great investment.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


207  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11