RSATT328

Winter Leggings

Based on 434 Ratings

92%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

6
58
4
Small
True Size
Big

434 Reviews


by Courtney
October 29, 2014

Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 135 lbs

Want another pair.

You'll start noticing that these are what you throw on in any occasion -- running errands, going out at night, lounging around the house. They are high quality -- even thicker than the AA easy jean. You don't have to worry about which panties you use because these dont show a panty line like most leggings. As for the long inseam, I need it, its impossible for me to find leggings that are full length on me. I definitely recommend these!!!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by V
October 22, 2014

Sucks now :(

I used to buy these every winter because they were so thick and warm. I just got mine in time for fall, and they might as well be regular leggings now :-/. Super thin and not worth the money any more.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eska14
October 22, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 132 lbs

The best leggings ever!! A must in your closet!

I bought my first pair of American Apparel winter leggings five years ago and I told myself it is time I buy a new one! So I did, yesterday. I was wearing them so often, the color with time did not go away and elasticity stayed the same. I always feel so comfortable wearing them. I even go to work in this legging and in a simple shirt. Also, I wear them when I have no time to think what I should wear and what to match. This pair of leggings is a perfect match. They size me perfectly and the quality is excellent! Thank you American Apparel for being unique!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Maria
October 20, 2014

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 135 lbs

Great for Curvy Girls: Best Leggings

I ordered three pairs size large. Two black and one orange. I love these! I don't have to worry about them being too thin. They are thick and comfy. I have worn and washed all Three pairs. I hang dry them but they seem sturdy enough to dry in low. For reference I am a girl with curvy hips and a butt. My hips are 41 inches around including my butt and 133-135 lbs. I bought these in a Large to be safe but I may switch to a medium when I get back down to 120lbs. At my current weight they slip down like any leggings would but its not a huge problem. As for the pilling, I haven't had much of a problem but my thighs down rub together all that much. I will be ordering more pairs. My only caution is that the light colors may show any dimples you have. They are long so I just cuff them at the bottoms.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Emma
October 7, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 120 lbs

Favorite pair of leggings!

I've had these leggings for a little over a year now and they still look just like they did when I first bought them! I love how thick they are not only because they keep me warm enough in the winter, but they also aren't see-through in the butt area like most leggings that I've bought are. Next time I need a knew pair I'll definitely be coming back for more of these!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Julia
September 26, 2014

Wish there was a high-waisted version!!

LOVE these winter leggings. Unlike other reviewers, I have not had a problem with pilling, despite machine washing and wearing these all fall/winter. I have only purchased in black so this may be a problem with other colors. I really wish AA made this in a high-waisted version for a smoother look under form-fitting tops. It would be great to see this material used on the same pattern as their cotton spandex high waist leggings!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nat
September 9, 2014

Height: 5' 7"

Yeah..they pill but best winter weight leggings I've owned so fa

I love these leggings, but as many reviewers pointed out, they pill and look pretty dumpy after 5 months(I've only purchased Charcoal so can't speak for other colors). I've tried to minimize pillage by hand washing, but eventually I see pilling, give up, and throw them in the machine....If anyone out there can offer solutions to slow down eventual pillage, please share! Great fit otherwise and Charcoal is a perfect neutral color.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by jjc
June 14, 2014

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 105 lbs

poor quality

started pilling within a couple of months. I am very disappointed after having paid $40-something for them (in Canada) plus alterations to have them shortened for my height. I was really hoping that I was purchasing a quality product, but that turned out not to be the case. I purchased the item in early 2014; chances are the product used to be better quality a few years ago and started being more cheaply made.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by May-Li
March 12, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 135 lbs

Essential...

These are THE perfect leggings. They will be in your heaviest laundry rotation. If you're planning on buying them only in a color, thinking, "I really don't need another pair of black leggings," do yourself a favor and just get them in black too. They're super stretchy and just thick enough to mold you flatteringly. They're warm, and they do look it--there's a TINY bit of bulk visible, i.e., they won't cling to the every contour of your kneecaps. But this is a good thing. You know that trusty saying, "Leggings are not pants"? These leggings are pants aaalllll day, baby. You can trust me, since I have an ass and am careful to treat it tastefully. My waist-hip is about 26-38, and I got the M (in both charcoal and black). They fit perfectly when I got them, and they still fit perfectly after many rounds of tumble dry low. I am fully unafraid to wear hip-skimming sweaters over these gems. In fact, it's all I want to wear now. They are miracles.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Alexa
March 10, 2014

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 130 lbs

BEST LEGGINGS EVER

I have owned these leggings since my senior year of high school (2008) and they have been washed and worn many times. They still fit and look about the same as when I first bought them. I don't wear them nearly as much as my basic cotton spandex leggings, but they show very little signs of wear. Hopefully American Apparel hasn't changed the way they make these leggings because they are full of quality. They are super warm as well!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Adria
February 8, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 140 lbs

Love!

I love these leggings! I ordered them to wear on my trip to New York (I live in sunny Palm Beach, Florida) They are soft and keeping me warm! These leggings fit more like a jean than a true legging. A bit long but the fit is great everywhere else. I recently had a baby and I still have 20lbs to lose and the small fits great, so glad I didn't order a medium. The only thing I would say is...don't put these in the dryer, treat them as a pair of jeans.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Zoe
February 5, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 117 lbs

Super comfortable!

I wear these all the time, they are very warm and comfortable. At first they fit really tight, but they stretch out. However, I think the have a somewhat awkward fit in the crotch and they are highwaisted, however that does not stop me from wearing them every day. (I have a small in black). They are also very thick for leggings, so you can wear comfortable underwear! :)

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Liz
January 31, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 125 lbs

Best Leggings I've ever owned!

I have worn the same pair of the Winter Leggings for 3 years and finally, today, I noticed I got a rip in the seam. Once I saw the rip, I decided I had to write a review. I've probably worn these leggings over 1,000 times...I practically live in them. There should have been a rip in these leggings wayyyy before now. They are the best quality. They're not see through like a lot of cheap leggings, the fabric is durable yet soft and the fit is flexible. Within the past 3 years I have gained or lost around 10lbs...these leggings have never felt too tight or too lose. Perfect fit.(I'm 5'6'', 125lbs and wear size Small) I'll be buying more!...I think it's time!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Allison
January 25, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 120 lbs

Leggings as warm as sweatpants. How I love thee...

These are the perfect winter legging. Completely opaque, which is great if you like to wear leggings as pants. I tried the small but they were too big through the waist and hips. The xs is perfect (aside from the fact they are about 3" too long, which is expected since I'm short).

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Amy
January 14, 2014

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 115 lbs

BUY AT LEAST ONE SIZE UP!!

I'm pretty skinny and wear about size 25 in jeans. I am a little thicker in the bottom half but i bought a dress with these pants at a size XS but i bought these pants at size MEDIUM! These are quite long though but it shouldnt be a problem, just a bit scruched up at the end? You probably wont notice. The only part about the medium that was a bit loose was between the legs, but i guess that's okay because i prefer that rather than a cameltoe. I think S would fit too but it'd just be SUPER tight especially at my calves and thighs but i guess they stretch? VERY WARM AND THICK!!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Erika
January 7, 2014

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 88 lbs

So, so impressed.

I received 2 pairs of these in the mail today. I got a pair in black and one in charcoal. They are sooo nice. They really are much thicker than your average leggings, which is why I decided to try these out. I can tell that I'll be kept warm in these for a long time. There is definitely some extra fabric at the bottoms, but I love that. I think it looks good, and for some reason I find that extra bunched up fabric at the ankles to be comforting. Maybe I'm just weird, but I think it's a nice touch. Keep in mind I'm only 5 foot. These are also pretty high waisted, the top hem lays right against my belly button, but I don't mind that at all. I'm a very petite 88 lbs, with a bit of a larger backside, and an xs fits me like a dream. Overall I'm very impressed with these, and if I run into any problems with them, I'll leave another review :)

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Molly
January 4, 2014

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 145 lbs

LOVE these leggings! Wish they made them high-waisted!!

I bought these leggings because they were advertised as thick, and I wanted leggings I felt comfortable wearing as pants (that aren't see-through). I love these leggings! They are definitely not see-through. I wear them all the time--I really really wish American Apparel would make a high-waisted version of these! I have a super-long torso and I'm always hiking these up! I got a size medium--I'm usually between medium and large for pants. They stretch to fit.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Aisha
December 18, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs

Comfy, but SO NOT the great quality I was expecting!

I was hearing rave reviews about how AA was such great quality. I also love the whole sweat shop free thing, so I strolled into AA and bought these super comfy leggings. I normally wear XS in everything, but the S fit better (no camel toe). They feel great and are nice and warm. However, I am really disappointed that after only wearing the leggings 3 times (didn't wash them, just wore them 3 times in a week), they are starting to pill in the crotch area. What?! $38 for leggings that get ruined after 3 wears?! Maybe I just got a bad pair, but it's a shame because I would totally have wanted to get more colors... Sigh.... Won't be shopping here again methinks.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kasey
December 17, 2013

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 150 lbs

Nice quality, a little tight

Compared to normal leggings, these definitely fit more like jeans. Meaning, if a large leggings is wayy to big for you like it is for me, going for a medium of these may not be the best choice. I have a pretty big butt and an average sized waist and that makes jeans really difficult to buy, and these fit a lot more like jeans on my butt mostly. Very tight, but not tight enough to return or exchange. You just may want to consider buying these sized like jeans rather than leggings. They are really warm and comfortable! I haven't worn them enough to see if the thigh area will get nubby as you wear them like normal leggings do, but i can't imagine that happening because these are so high-quality. Happy with my purchase!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lexy
December 11, 2013

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 125 lbs

Disappointed.

I bought a pair of these a few years ago and fell in LOVE with them. They were the quintessential winter leggings and I truly could not find any pairs of leggings anywhere else like them - thick, tight, warm, durable and more. It was my absolute favorite pair of leggings and they saved my butt (literally) through the cold, NYC winters. HOWEVER, I just purchased two more pairs for this winter, only to find that they are now much thinner, less elastic and not much different from the other leggings that I can find just about anywhere else. This is not only disappointing because I now know that the quality of these leggings has drastically changed for the worse, but because I can also find leggings much like these for much cheaper, too. I even recommended these to my bestie and really pushed her to buy these over any others because "quality over quantity" and whatnot, and now I just feel bad. American Apparel, what happened here??

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

434  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 22