Opaque Over-The-Knee Sock (3-Pack)

rsaskopkpac
82 Reviews
75% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Alice


Fits? --
Recommend? --

October 5, 2014
Very tight around the band. I am a fairly slim person but they squeezed my upper leg in an unflattering way. No amount of fiddling or adjusting could correct it. Unwearable :(

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by karolinaa


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 106 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

cute!
January 5, 2014
i bought these in store, and i absolutely love them! i got the white shear ones, and they fit me perfectly without it cutting circulation off of me. they are a little snug, but thats what i love about em, because usually socks tend to role down my knee eventually. i wore them last night with a high waisted skirt, long knitted cardigan, and a crop top!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by meh


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 102 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

isn't true black
December 9, 2013
these aren't a deep, true black like i was expecting from aa. more like a washed out, dark brown. i'm not a very tall, and seeing as these are sold as one size, these would not be comfortably long enough for taller ladies. even when pulled up little bit, these socks are not that thick and will not remain opaque when stretched.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Olivia


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 135 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

Dissapointed
November 17, 2013
I'm really upset with American Apparel over these, although I'm also a little upset with myself for not reading the reviews before I ordered these. They come in one-size-fits-all, which I know most people seem to be weary of because one size can't really fit everyone, but I like one size because I can usually just buy it without worrying about it being the right size or not, especially with my legs (I have big boobs so I appreciate that at least my lower body is pretty average). But these are not what I thought they would be. They are not so easily "over-the-knee" socks and definitely don't fit the way they do in the picture. They can easily come to your thighs, ESPECIALLY if you put them on the way you're supposed to put on pantyhose/tights. Most of the sock fits fine, it's just that the band at the top is SO tight! I work out and I know I'm not in any way fat, but when I put these on, I can't help but feel bad about myself because the band it so tight that it cuts into my leg and fat hangs out of the sock in a way that I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving the house in. They really take a lot of messing with in order to get them to look right. I've tried just about everything I can think of to make them look good but I've pretty much given up on them looking like they do in the picture. One good thing I can say about them though, is that the color is truly beautiful (I got the grey "wild dove" and it looks like the color in the picture). However, unless you have really skinny long legs, I would not suggest ordering these. Remember: you can't return them. For reference, I wear a size 5 or 7 in jeans or a size medium.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ashley


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great!
September 14, 2013
I got these today and they fit perfectly, but they're more like thigh highs! I wasn't stretching them out either, but I didn't mind at all. They're comfy and comfortable and perfect for the fall or winter!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Masha


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

Over the knee? More like thigh highs!
February 16, 2013
Sorry but when I bought these I thought it meant over the knees. Instead they're more like thigh highs and I'm not even streching them out either!

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Byer


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Cozy, but don't stay up
December 16, 2012
I have about 4 pairs of these - they're super comfy, but I have to wear them as knee socks. They don't stay up over my knees...not even for a short amount of time.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by butts


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 92 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

THE BAND IS SOOOO TIGHT
June 7, 2012
I weigh 92 pounds!!!!!! and it even cuts in BELOW the knee how is this possible :( they're so cute but omg they're so tight

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Star


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Wonderful!
May 30, 2012
I was somewhat hesitant to buy these after reading so many reviews about the socks 'cutting in' and 'falling down' and whatnot, but I'm so glad I went for it. I just put them on a little bit ago for the first time and they are extremely comfy and cute! :) They don't cut in on me and so far they seem to be staying up, but I haven't really worn them enough to form a strong opinion. However, if they do start to fall down, I read a tip online about using double-stick/fashion tape to keep them up. These are so comfortable and adorable and I can't wait to start combining them with some outfits!! (By the way, I was also worried that the black would be more charcoal gray than black, but the tights are a nice, opaque black. Woo!) I say go for it and buy these socks/tights! :)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by naomi


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 18, 2011
Wow i can actually go out in these because they stay up. Unlike other people, these don't cut into my legs. I'm 5'5" and 115 pounds. The largest part of my thigh is 50 cm and my calf is 30cm so these fit perfectly for sizes between those. They're also stretchy enough to wear all the way up my leg but are not loose above the knee. Perfect<3 i plan on getting more colors.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by yvette


Fits? --
Recommend? --

May 17, 2011
bought a three pack hoping these would be my holy grail of over the knee socks. i was wrong. sorry to be a broken record, but they cut in so badly on my (very slim) thighs, that i can't wear them at all :( what a waste... so sad

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ella


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 24, 2011
mine don't streatch up high, but i agree they are too tight at the top. i'm 5 4 and 105 pounds and i don't have big legs whatsoever but i get the muffin thing going on for sure. i wear them below the knee to avoid it

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Pip


Fits? --
Recommend? --

November 21, 2010
Bought the three pack of these, the colour swatches aren't greatly accurate, look at the pictures for a better example and I've had the same problem as many other people with the cutting in. They are super stretchy length ways so you really can wear them knee high or thigh high (I'm 5'7" with 34" regular [a bit wobbly] legs). The cutting in is bad, the elastic round the top is just too tight. It's a big bad as well so its is quite noticable. What I tend to do is pull them up really high and fold down the tops to just above my knees, this seems to lessen the muffin top look as you have a roll of sock to distract the eye.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ally


Fits? --
Recommend? --

September 6, 2010
What everyone else is saying-too long, too tight. I'm 5'9" and they stretch all the way up to my butt without trouble! They work without bagging when pulled up otk on me, though, so having the extra length is actually kind of nice as I can adjust them based on the length of my skirt/shorts. The tightness thing, however, is super annoying. I've managed to stretch them out a bit by sticking them on a book all day, but they still cut into my decidedly not fat thighs and cause a bit of weird thigh muffin top. Overall, meh.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kim


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 1, 2010
These would be perfect if they had a silicone band. PLEASE update with a silicone band and I would buy these by the box load!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Suzanne


Fits? --
Recommend? --

June 7, 2010
So I bought a pair of these back in 2007, and they were comfy and held up pretty well even though I didn't wear them that much. But, what the f AA?! You messed this one up pretty bad. It's NOT OTK, rather up to my butt. And seriously cuts off circulation. Bring back the old model!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Debra


Fits? --
Recommend? --

June 1, 2010
These are awful. I am 5'6'', 125lbs with normal sized thighs and I haven't managed to wear them yet since I got them around Easter time. First of all the top elastic part is VERY tight which cuts into my thigh, while the "over-the-knee" length is more like "under-the-butt" length. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Susan


Fits? --
Recommend? --

May 24, 2010
super cute with any outfit.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jillian


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 5, 2010
I got these on sale at an outlet for $6. I'm 5'2" and these stretch up to my thighs! But that's just when you stretch them all the way. You can have them over your knee, but it might be slightly baggy... but when I say slightly I mean barely. I have athletic thighs. I don't have much fat on my thighs (mainly chunky muscles!), and these make it look like I have drum sticks for legs! The socks would look fantastic on a tall and thin girl... And the sock is made so-so. The foot isn't really altered to fit a foot. It's just rectangle.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jamie


Fits? --
Recommend? --

March 18, 2010
It's really cute, but too long and tight. I have what I would say "normal" thighs and it cuts into them abit. Not so flattering. I really like the material though, like opaque pantyhose.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


82  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5