RSASKOPK

Opaque Over-the-Knee Sock

Based on 81 Ratings

75%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

2
5
1
Small
True Size
Big

81 Reviews


by karolinaa
January 5, 2014

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 106 lbs

cute!

i bought these in store, and i absolutely love them! i got the white shear ones, and they fit me perfectly without it cutting circulation off of me. they are a little snug, but thats what i love about em, because usually socks tend to role down my knee eventually. i wore them last night with a high waisted skirt, long knitted cardigan, and a crop top!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by meh
December 9, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 102 lbs

isn't true black

these aren't a deep, true black like i was expecting from aa. more like a washed out, dark brown. i'm not a very tall, and seeing as these are sold as one size, these would not be comfortably long enough for taller ladies. even when pulled up little bit, these socks are not that thick and will not remain opaque when stretched.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Olivia
November 17, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 135 lbs

Dissapointed

I'm really upset with American Apparel over these, although I'm also a little upset with myself for not reading the reviews before I ordered these. They come in one-size-fits-all, which I know most people seem to be weary of because one size can't really fit everyone, but I like one size because I can usually just buy it without worrying about it being the right size or not, especially with my legs (I have big boobs so I appreciate that at least my lower body is pretty average). But these are not what I thought they would be. They are not so easily "over-the-knee" socks and definitely don't fit the way they do in the picture. They can easily come to your thighs, ESPECIALLY if you put them on the way you're supposed to put on pantyhose/tights. Most of the sock fits fine, it's just that the band at the top is SO tight! I work out and I know I'm not in any way fat, but when I put these on, I can't help but feel bad about myself because the band it so tight that it cuts into my leg and fat hangs out of the sock in a way that I wouldn't feel comfortable leaving the house in. They really take a lot of messing with in order to get them to look right. I've tried just about everything I can think of to make them look good but I've pretty much given up on them looking like they do in the picture. One good thing I can say about them though, is that the color is truly beautiful (I got the grey "wild dove" and it looks like the color in the picture). However, unless you have really skinny long legs, I would not suggest ordering these. Remember: you can't return them. For reference, I wear a size 5 or 7 in jeans or a size medium.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? No

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashley
September 14, 2013

Great!

I got these today and they fit perfectly, but they're more like thigh highs! I wasn't stretching them out either, but I didn't mind at all. They're comfy and comfortable and perfect for the fall or winter!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Masha
February 16, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 125 lbs

Over the knee? More like thigh highs!

Sorry but when I bought these I thought it meant over the knees. Instead they're more like thigh highs and I'm not even streching them out either!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Byer
December 16, 2012

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 115 lbs

Cozy, but don't stay up

I have about 4 pairs of these - they're super comfy, but I have to wear them as knee socks. They don't stay up over my knees...not even for a short amount of time.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by butts
June 7, 2012

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 92 lbs

THE BAND IS SOOOO TIGHT

I weigh 92 pounds!!!!!! and it even cuts in BELOW the knee how is this possible :( they're so cute but omg they're so tight

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Star
May 30, 2012

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 105 lbs

Wonderful!

I was somewhat hesitant to buy these after reading so many reviews about the socks 'cutting in' and 'falling down' and whatnot, but I'm so glad I went for it. I just put them on a little bit ago for the first time and they are extremely comfy and cute! :) They don't cut in on me and so far they seem to be staying up, but I haven't really worn them enough to form a strong opinion. However, if they do start to fall down, I read a tip online about using double-stick/fashion tape to keep them up. These are so comfortable and adorable and I can't wait to start combining them with some outfits!! (By the way, I was also worried that the black would be more charcoal gray than black, but the tights are a nice, opaque black. Woo!) I say go for it and buy these socks/tights! :)

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by naomi
July 18, 2011

Wow i can actually go out in these because they stay up. Unlike other people, these don't cut into my legs. I'm 5'5" and 115 pounds. The largest part of my thigh is 50 cm and my calf is 30cm so these fit perfectly for sizes between those. They're also stretchy enough to wear all the way up my leg but are not loose above the knee. Perfect<3 i plan on getting more colors.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by yvette
May 17, 2011

bought a three pack hoping these would be my holy grail of over the knee socks. i was wrong. sorry to be a broken record, but they cut in so badly on my (very slim) thighs, that i can't wear them at all :( what a waste... so sad

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ella
April 24, 2011

mine don't streatch up high, but i agree they are too tight at the top. i'm 5 4 and 105 pounds and i don't have big legs whatsoever but i get the muffin thing going on for sure. i wear them below the knee to avoid it

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Pip
November 21, 2010

Bought the three pack of these, the colour swatches aren't greatly accurate, look at the pictures for a better example and I've had the same problem as many other people with the cutting in. They are super stretchy length ways so you really can wear them knee high or thigh high (I'm 5'7" with 34" regular [a bit wobbly] legs). The cutting in is bad, the elastic round the top is just too tight. It's a big bad as well so its is quite noticable. What I tend to do is pull them up really high and fold down the tops to just above my knees, this seems to lessen the muffin top look as you have a roll of sock to distract the eye.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ally
September 6, 2010

What everyone else is saying-too long, too tight. I'm 5'9" and they stretch all the way up to my butt without trouble! They work without bagging when pulled up otk on me, though, so having the extra length is actually kind of nice as I can adjust them based on the length of my skirt/shorts. The tightness thing, however, is super annoying. I've managed to stretch them out a bit by sticking them on a book all day, but they still cut into my decidedly not fat thighs and cause a bit of weird thigh muffin top. Overall, meh.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kim
July 1, 2010

These would be perfect if they had a silicone band. PLEASE update with a silicone band and I would buy these by the box load!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Suzanne
June 7, 2010

So I bought a pair of these back in 2007, and they were comfy and held up pretty well even though I didn't wear them that much. But, what the f AA?! You messed this one up pretty bad. It's NOT OTK, rather up to my butt. And seriously cuts off circulation. Bring back the old model!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Debra
June 1, 2010

These are awful. I am 5'6'', 125lbs with normal sized thighs and I haven't managed to wear them yet since I got them around Easter time. First of all the top elastic part is VERY tight which cuts into my thigh, while the "over-the-knee" length is more like "under-the-butt" length. I WANT MY MONEY BACK!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Susan
May 24, 2010

super cute with any outfit.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jillian
April 5, 2010

I got these on sale at an outlet for $6. I'm 5'2" and these stretch up to my thighs! But that's just when you stretch them all the way. You can have them over your knee, but it might be slightly baggy... but when I say slightly I mean barely. I have athletic thighs. I don't have much fat on my thighs (mainly chunky muscles!), and these make it look like I have drum sticks for legs! The socks would look fantastic on a tall and thin girl... And the sock is made so-so. The foot isn't really altered to fit a foot. It's just rectangle.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jamie
March 18, 2010

It's really cute, but too long and tight. I have what I would say "normal" thighs and it cuts into them abit. Not so flattering. I really like the material though, like opaque pantyhose.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kelsey
March 10, 2010

cute, but too long & tight! i'm 5'3 & uk 8, and ended up tucking left over sock under my foot in my shoe when i pulled them just over the knee.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

81  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5