Rayon Babydoll Dress

rsarch302
30 Reviews
87% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Chelsea


Height: 5' 2"
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Great dress for summer
April 17, 2016
I wanted this dress for the longest time and I finally got it. I got in size large and I think I should've gotten a medium because it's a bit big on me. I also does not help that I am 5'2, this dress was definitely made for a taller person! Overall I really love this dress, it's made out of a very light material, very cute and great for the summer.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Haley


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

It's a shame it's so short
December 22, 2015
Such an adorable dress but it's simply too short. I usually wear a XS/SM so that's what I ordered, and it fits fine in every other way. The dress is kind of a baggy/flowy style so if I sized up I'm sure it'd look too big. The way the dress is constructed means it flows around a lot, which makes it even harder to wear considering how short it is. One stray breeze and your nethers will be revealed to all. Other than that the dress seems good quality, the lavender color is even prettier in person. Unless you are very short or like your dresses scandalously short I wouldn't recommend it.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by morgan


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 85 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

December 8, 2015
im pretty short and this dress is the perfect length and fit, i got it in an xs/s and its really nice. i can imagine how people would think its too big but it could also just be the style. i can see this being too short if i was taller though

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by kira


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 108 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Favorite Dress
November 28, 2015
Definitely my most comfortable dress, im so in love with this style! I bought a floral one a few months back, wore it so often that I just ordered another one in Forest and I bought one for my friend for Christmas. I get so many compliments on this dress and its not see through or anything at all, super cute with thigh highs and boots!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Bea


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 180 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

Read the measurements/size guide before buying!!
September 20, 2015
I got this in the M/L size since that's the biggest there is for this dress, sadly. I really REALLY wish they had this in at least L/XL size and I should've put off buying this until they had such a dress in stock. But alas, I got excited when this dress went on sale since I'd been wanting one for awhile so I impulse bought it only by reading the reviews. Many people said it ran large or true to size. I usually get a M or L in their Unisex Fisherman Sweaters so I thought a M/L would be fine. It fits but it just looks a bit awkward and the top part of the dress is a tad tight. It made me really sad. But I checked the measurements for this dress and it said M-L goes up to about a 38 inch bust max so I suppose I should've read that since my bust is about 41 inches. If you don't mind being a bit snug with anything higher than maybe a 40 bust then M/L is good. But if you're like me and wanted the dress to be like it is on the model (loose and flowy in the chest area as well, not just the bottom) then maybe hold off on buying this dress? Or at least try to get your hands on one in store and try it on! I'm even more bummed because people talked about how this pills a lot and it's thin and doesn't last long. It's kind of expensive for such a simple garment really it should be better quality especially since it's made in the US. Last thing to note, I own at least five other baby doll dresses and this one is the least flattering because the cut is so high! Honestly it just looks like maternity wear on me and it sucks that I bought it final sale (just received mine in Menthe today, will receive Light Grape in a week or so since they were backordered items) because otherwise I'd return these in a heartbeat. So much for a wardrobe staple (it's not even that cute as a skirt, wearing a sweater over the dress to cover the top fitted part, because the bottom half of the dress is sort of a slightly flared boxy shape). Oh well, I guess I can give this to my petite 13 year old sister who looks much better in this than I do.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by ivy


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

love it!
September 8, 2015
This dress is very simple yet absolutely gorgeous. It's very versatile so you can wear dress it down or up. On a casual day i pair mine (the black one) with a jean jacket and combat boots. The dress is also super comfortable and soft. I'd say it's a great staple piece to have and I'd totally recommend buying it!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Zoe


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 140 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great
January 22, 2015
Runs a little short but overall its a great dress

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jenny


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 116 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Cutest Dress Ever
December 7, 2014
I've had my eye on this dress for a while and then black friday came around every single item was 50% off at the outlet store in Orlando. They didn't have that many colors left in this style but I found a black XS/S at the back of the rack. I tried it on and fell in love. This is hands down the cutest dress I've ever owned. One I start working again im definitely going to buy more colors. I've only worn it once so far with my hair in a messy bun, a skull necklace, and doc martens but you can definitely pair this with cute flats dress it up a little. I think it fits perfectly but I thought the dress would be baggier because it looks a lot baggier on the model but I guess its because shes tiny. I would definitely go to a store and try it on if you don't know what to expect.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alex


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

Cute style, doesn't wash well.
September 17, 2014
I fell in love with this dress, which I purchased in Navy. I wore it maybe ten times over the course of two months, hand-washing and hang drying it a grand total of two times. Sorry about it, my laundry habits are kind of gross. But I digress. I have now fallen out of love with this piece because the fabric has become so horribly pilled. Rayon never washes that well, but usually the issue(s) with rayon are wrinkling or shrinkage. What gives? Honestly, fix this fabric AA! I am in love with the concept of the dress but I can only give it two stars, representing those two short, summer months during which I enjoyed this dress!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Wendy


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Perfect but...
August 22, 2014
I was obsessed with these dresses, I have them in black, royal blue, leopard, and the fall floral one. They are so cute, comfortable, and easily stylish. BUT they shrink after a couple washes, so DO NOT PUT IT IN THE DRYER. Also, you can't iron rayon so after a while you start to feel frumpy in the way the edges get all wrinkled. I did get a ton of wears out of them from not washing all the time so I think I got my money's worth. The leopard one for some reason didn't shrink as much— good thing cause its my favorite! I would even consider buying them again (and have! I got the floral one twice, it shrinks really fast), but I've grown tired of it not upholding its quality. I'm moving on.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Taylor


Height: 5' 3"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

LOVE.
August 21, 2014
i got this dress a few weeks ago in black, and i can honestly say that i'm in love with it! i'm only 5'3" so i got a size small, and it fits perfectly. it's probably the most comfortable dress that i've ever owned and i can't wait to show it off!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Eleanor


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Great
June 22, 2014
I got a size xs/s. I have an athletic build and this fits really well. This dress is perfect for an effortless look. It's a bit short when i lift my hands high but i never do that anyways so i don't care really. Other than that just make sure it is washed properly and to hang it carefully. The fabric is pretty fragile!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by P


Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

June 5, 2014
I love this dress! I have it in sunflower print, burgundy, and menthe. I plan on buying it in daisy print and forest. However I do have one big issue with it. For some reason it pills like crazy and the material gets stiff. I wore my burgundy once twice and I didn't even wash it yet and it started pilling. help???

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by kuchisake


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great staple for your closet
June 3, 2014
I'm a curvy, busty, and petite lady. Wasn't sure what size to get due to conflicting reviews, so I went safe and got the M/L. The fit was perfect; loose, cute, and hits a few inches above the knee. I know, it's a fifty dollar plain babydoll but the material is great. Cute belted, with knee highs, or just with sandals. A must-have for your wardrobe.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Eva


Height: 5' 5"
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

yeeeuuahaaahhhhhh
May 30, 2014
I have an average body type and I'm not too tall. I bought this in an XS/S and it was REALLY short! If I lift my arms up my crotch is exposed to the world. However, the top of the dress fits perfectly. I also have this dress in a M/L and it's really nice too. A bit looser and great to have because of the extra length. It is such a great dress. I would definitely recommend.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Maralina


Height: 5' 6"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

perfect dress!!
April 16, 2014
my dress just came in the mail today, and i love it! i had read reviews that it was a little long so i was kind of worried the first time i tried it on, but it fit perfectly! the only downside is that the color is far more vivid in real life than it is in the photos (i got mine in forest green and is surprisingly bright) but i love it none the less. i need it in every color!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jess


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 180 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Loved it!
January 25, 2014
This dress is so perfect for heavier girls. It is loose fitting and falls nicely. It is a bit see through in sun light so be careful what you wear underneath but all in all a great dress.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Caroline G.


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Exceeded Expectations-- Amazing piece!
January 3, 2014
I read reviews and was impressed by what other people said, but a little skeptical about the dress itself. So I trusted reviews and ordered one (and as everyone else has said, it's a big dress: I normally teeter between S-M-L, so I ordered XS/S and am pleased). I am SO glad I ordered this dress. I want to wear it every day!!!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Cat


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Adorable Investment
December 4, 2013
This dress has been a fantastic purchase! At first I was skeptical after seeing it on other people, and then I bought it on a whim. The dress is now one of my favorite AA pieces! I shop here frequently and most of my wardrobe consists of American Apparel clothing. I have a slim built figure and B-cup chest. I personally believe this dress will look good on a number of different body types due to it's loose, free hanging, design. The dress feels very airy and bouncy when worn. Basically, you want to twirl around in it. In my experience this dress can be deemed casual OR dressy. I've worn it with docs during the day and a pair of heels at night. I definitely suggest hanging this to dry as it will make your dress last longer and it's already pretty short (mid thigh) so machine drying will only cause more shrinkage. You know those little symbols on the tag no one ever reads? Yeah, read that shit. Your clothing will last longer. PS if you're ever having a fat day this dress is a life saver.

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jessica


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 135 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

so cute
December 2, 2013
I got this dress in a xs/s because i read some reviews saying it ran big, and it fit me perfectly! It hangs beautifully on me, and i'm a D cup so thats hard to find. I got it in black and i might go back for other colors.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


30  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2