RSARCH302

Rayon Babydoll Dress

Based on 22 Ratings

91%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

1
14
7
Small
True Size
Big

22 Reviews


by Alex
September 17, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs

Cute style, doesn't wash well.

I fell in love with this dress, which I purchased in Navy. I wore it maybe ten times over the course of two months, hand-washing and hang drying it a grand total of two times. Sorry about it, my laundry habits are kind of gross. But I digress. I have now fallen out of love with this piece because the fabric has become so horribly pilled. Rayon never washes that well, but usually the issue(s) with rayon are wrinkling or shrinkage. What gives? Honestly, fix this fabric AA! I am in love with the concept of the dress but I can only give it two stars, representing those two short, summer months during which I enjoyed this dress!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Wendy
August 22, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 120 lbs

Perfect but...

I was obsessed with these dresses, I have them in black, royal blue, leopard, and the fall floral one. They are so cute, comfortable, and easily stylish. BUT they shrink after a couple washes, so DO NOT PUT IT IN THE DRYER. Also, you can't iron rayon so after a while you start to feel frumpy in the way the edges get all wrinkled. I did get a ton of wears out of them from not washing all the time so I think I got my money's worth. The leopard one for some reason didn't shrink as much— good thing cause its my favorite! I would even consider buying them again (and have! I got the floral one twice, it shrinks really fast), but I've grown tired of it not upholding its quality. I'm moving on.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Taylor
August 21, 2014

Height: 5' 3"

LOVE.

i got this dress a few weeks ago in black, and i can honestly say that i'm in love with it! i'm only 5'3" so i got a size small, and it fits perfectly. it's probably the most comfortable dress that i've ever owned and i can't wait to show it off!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eleanor
June 22, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 150 lbs

Great

I got a size xs/s. I have an athletic build and this fits really well. This dress is perfect for an effortless look. It's a bit short when i lift my hands high but i never do that anyways so i don't care really. Other than that just make sure it is washed properly and to hang it carefully. The fabric is pretty fragile!

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by P
June 5, 2014

I love this dress! I have it in sunflower print, burgundy, and menthe. I plan on buying it in daisy print and forest. However I do have one big issue with it. For some reason it pills like crazy and the material gets stiff. I wore my burgundy once twice and I didn't even wash it yet and it started pilling. help???

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by kuchisake
June 3, 2014

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 130 lbs

Great staple for your closet

I'm a curvy, busty, and petite lady. Wasn't sure what size to get due to conflicting reviews, so I went safe and got the M/L. The fit was perfect; loose, cute, and hits a few inches above the knee. I know, it's a fifty dollar plain babydoll but the material is great. Cute belted, with knee highs, or just with sandals. A must-have for your wardrobe.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eva
May 30, 2014

Height: 5' 5"

yeeeuuahaaahhhhhh

I have an average body type and I'm not too tall. I bought this in an XS/S and it was REALLY short! If I lift my arms up my crotch is exposed to the world. However, the top of the dress fits perfectly. I also have this dress in a M/L and it's really nice too. A bit looser and great to have because of the extra length. It is such a great dress. I would definitely recommend.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Maralina
April 16, 2014

Height: 5' 6"

perfect dress!!

my dress just came in the mail today, and i love it! i had read reviews that it was a little long so i was kind of worried the first time i tried it on, but it fit perfectly! the only downside is that the color is far more vivid in real life than it is in the photos (i got mine in forest green and is surprisingly bright) but i love it none the less. i need it in every color!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jess
January 25, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 180 lbs

Loved it!

This dress is so perfect for heavier girls. It is loose fitting and falls nicely. It is a bit see through in sun light so be careful what you wear underneath but all in all a great dress.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Caroline G.
January 3, 2014

Exceeded Expectations-- Amazing piece!

I read reviews and was impressed by what other people said, but a little skeptical about the dress itself. So I trusted reviews and ordered one (and as everyone else has said, it's a big dress: I normally teeter between S-M-L, so I ordered XS/S and am pleased). I am SO glad I ordered this dress. I want to wear it every day!!!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Cat
December 4, 2013

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 115 lbs

Adorable Investment

This dress has been a fantastic purchase! At first I was skeptical after seeing it on other people, and then I bought it on a whim. The dress is now one of my favorite AA pieces! I shop here frequently and most of my wardrobe consists of American Apparel clothing. I have a slim built figure and B-cup chest. I personally believe this dress will look good on a number of different body types due to it's loose, free hanging, design. The dress feels very airy and bouncy when worn. Basically, you want to twirl around in it. In my experience this dress can be deemed casual OR dressy. I've worn it with docs during the day and a pair of heels at night. I definitely suggest hanging this to dry as it will make your dress last longer and it's already pretty short (mid thigh) so machine drying will only cause more shrinkage. You know those little symbols on the tag no one ever reads? Yeah, read that shit. Your clothing will last longer. PS if you're ever having a fat day this dress is a life saver.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jessica
December 2, 2013

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 135 lbs

so cute

I got this dress in a xs/s because i read some reviews saying it ran big, and it fit me perfectly! It hangs beautifully on me, and i'm a D cup so thats hard to find. I got it in black and i might go back for other colors.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lucy
November 10, 2013

Height: 6' 5"

love it

I have this dress in S/M - and it is huge! i'm normally a medium, so i would definitely recommend going down a size, but i love the flowy look of the S/M! Also, American Apparel, PLEASE make this dress in white!!! PLEASE!

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Else
November 3, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 107 lbs

huge :(

I love this style of dress so I was very excited to order this. I got the smaller size after reading reviews that it ran big. I was a bit worried it would be too long but it looked fine on the models and the listed length didn't seem that bad. It is so LONG!! Every skirt I have from AA is very short which I love. This nearly hit my knees! I'm not super tall but I'm not short either...so I can't imagine how this must fit on someone shorter than me. I thought about going to get it hemmed but I don't know if that would even be worth it because it is all around too big. This is coming from someone who loves this loose style of dress... This might fit okay if you are bigger or taller. It just didn't work on my size. If only it came in a smaller size. I love the colors and how it looks on the models!

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Erica
November 1, 2013

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 130 lbs

I bought this dress in a M/L because I wanted it to be a little baggy and I usually find that AA runs super small. When I first got the dress I was a little disappointed that it was sooo big but I kept it anyway. Come to find out, if you wash it in the washing machine it shrinks a TON. Now it fits much better but it's almost too short cause I'm so tall.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sabrina
October 18, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 98 lbs

Cute, but too baggy

I knew this dress would be a bit baggy when I ordered it but it ended up being much larger on me than I had hoped. It still looks cute though so I decided to keep it! My biggest problem with it is that it is wayyy too long on me. It comes down to my knees unless I pull it back so that it's shorter in the front and appears to have an asymmetrical hemline (which I do because it looks less frumpy that way). I REALLY wish they didn't combine sizes for this and made made separate sizes like with the new velvet babydoll dress. I'm sure if you're taller than I am this will look better on you, but if you're kind of short like me, don't expect it to look anything like how it does on the model.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by gracie
September 24, 2013

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 109 lbs

LOVE

so so so cute. little big on me but i like it like that. i got it in the wine colored one and definitely do not regret getting it i loveeee it omagldfijagdhbvz

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Katie
September 24, 2013

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 135 lbs

Big as well as Long

I was so excited to get this dress! When it arrived I pulled it out of the box and tried it on to find that it was much too big. I wear somewhere between a 6 and an 8 typically, and I have two other babydolls that are similar; I read the reviews and the sizing chart but this dress is very long, way past the knee, and was much too generously sized in the waist and skirt to be flattering on me. Keep in mind I am 5'6"! The quality of the dress was excellent, very soft and not as see-through as the other reviewer described. I'm so sad it doesn't fit correctly. I am going to try the XS/S in store and think about it, but I think I might be moving on.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? No

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ciara
September 20, 2013

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 220 lbs

Love It!

I'm a... bigger girl as you can tell by my weight and I previously bought the red floral dress. Even though the dress has a flowly, loose style I belted it right under the bust where the two seams are stitched together to give me a waist line and wore it with a pair of tights and boots and I got so many compliments on it. Plus the material is really light and soft. It's the perfect dress to wear on a lazy day and you don't feel like getting all dressed up

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kelly
September 9, 2013

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 160 lbs

LOVE this dress but...

I have this dress in the m/l leopard print, and LOVE it. It's short enough to make the rather shapeless and baggy dress seem cute and flattering, but not SO short that I constantly have to worry about showing my knickers to everyone I see. I got SO excited when I saw the black one in the store, but when I went to grab the m/l off the rack I was SHOCKED. It was giant. Like probably the biggest dress I have ever seen. I held it up to my body and it came down below my knees. I was so confused because I was wearing my leopard one at the time and could not understand how the sizing could be that vastly different. It looked like an entirely different dress all together! I guess what I'm trying to say was that I had planned on buying two more of these dresses because I love the leopard one so much, but now I am super wary of ordering online because I don't want to get that giant thing because of some manufacturing mistake.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

22  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2