Ponte Sleeveless Skater Dress

rsapo302
82 Reviews
90% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Cara


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 98 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Not Designed for Smaller Frames
September 14, 2016
This is quite a lovely dress--good material, flattering length, great colors--but it's much too big in torso and bust for women with petite frames. My measurements are 32-23-33, with an 18" underbust. I wear an xs in all of the other AA dresses I own (and I own a lot), and they all fit perfectly. TLDR: Lovely dress, but very petite girls should skip it

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Audrey


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? No

Interesting, potential, but not quite there
August 26, 2016
I bought the watermelon shade on sale, thought it could be a perfect Florida color for this winter. I'm 34x28x36, 130lbs and 5'4", found the top pretty baggy and wouldn't fit well even if I were a D+ (I'm a C). Waist fit rode up the hips, but that top part just could not be saved. I tried to pull it down and tuck it away and conceal it with a scarf belt. Then it was good, but I don't want to have to do this every time. I'm returning it, hesitantly. Watermelon is a great color though.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Sigrid


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

SHORT
May 12, 2016
Alright, so first of all, I adore the idea of this dress. It's fantastic, really but the thing is I'be only worn it once because of the length. I am 170cm and I usually am somewhere inbetween S and M but since I don't really have that much of a chest I have this in S which is fine judging by the top half. Thing is though, that the dress ends above my butt (and I have no problem with really short skirts). Like if I put my hand and feel along the seem, it doesn't even cover my butt cheeks. So yeah. Sadness.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Luana


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 102 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Wish I could get all colors!
May 11, 2016
This dress is so pretty, perfect for a formal event or just casual with sandles. The straps for me were just a bit long but being quite short that's nothing new :) After I took the straps in a bit it fits perfectly, hugs the torso and then flares out. Very soft fabric and super super comfortable. Getting another in a different color obviously!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kelly Slatton


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

April 21, 2016
I ordered this online for a wedding coming up in a few days, just received it in the mail and its perfect except for the chest/straps being too big on me. I ordered a small since that's usually what I wear from AA and I guess my boobs are just too small in proportion to the rest of my bod haha. If you're like me I recommend ordering an XS/size down.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Leslie


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Love it, but...
April 15, 2016
I really love this dress. I purchased a size small for my birthday and it fit perfectly. I received tons of compliments. It's definitely a head turner. Unfortunately, I was only able to wear it once. After I washed it, it shrank like crazy! It barely covers my behind now. But I love it so much I almost want to buy it again! Just make sure you air dry it.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tracy


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Lovely!
December 25, 2015
I was skeptical if I would like this one, but I'm pleasantly surprised. I ended up getting the black color in an XS, and that was totally the right size for me. My bra size is a 32C and I'm normally a 25/26 in AA shorts/pants for reference. The sideboob wasn't as intense as I thought it'd be, but if you have a bigger chest than me, I'd recommend sizing up unless you're going for the ultimate cleavage look. Also if you're any bigger than a 26 waist I'd size up to a S as well, since it cinches in at the waist a little bit. I'd definitely recommend a sticky bra + fabric tape for this one to make sure everything stays in place (slash there's a low back so you couldn't wear a normal bra with this one anyway).

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Brooke


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Holy Grail Dress!!
November 25, 2015
This is seriously my holy grail dress!! You will not regret this purchase! I feel so confident whenever I wear it. I am a 25/26 waist and 32D and got a size xs in this dress. It fits PERFECT, as I do not need to wear a bra and the stretchy material gives a nice lift. That being said, I usually size down with AA dresses as they stretch and are perfect length for my height. I almost went with the small, but I wanted more support for my boobs. Very stretchy, nice thickness, high quality fabric/stitching! The style is everything I've wanted in a classy, sexy dress and is the most comfortable out of any I own. Totally worth the money, in my opinion. I get so much wear out of it. It has gone through quite a few washes and still maintains its shape, color, and stretch! Very wearable for literally ANY occasion throughout the year and can be dressed up or down. Looks great with a knit cardigan or jacket!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by C


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Shrinkssssss
November 17, 2015
This item shrinks! It happened with mine and a friends dress as well, be careful.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by SHRUNK


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 145 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

BEWARE. WILL SHRINK.
November 11, 2015
I remember when I was trying on in the store. I felt so beautiful and sexy. I always thought American Apparel was just one of those stores for skinny girls, but curves flatter this dress best. I got a S because the top part of the medium was too loose, and too much side boob was showing. The S was a little shorter than I would have liked, especially in the back, but, overall, it looked amazing. I wore it one time, and then I washed in on cold and hung it up to dry. Today I went to put in on and immediately noticed everything was all off. The front and the back were a few inches shorter, and the sides were longer. As is, it is not wearable. I have never had this happen to ANYTHING I have owned before. I am going to try to fix it, but I am not getting my hopes up. If I am able to fix it, I will update this review.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jenni


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Very sexy
October 26, 2015
I love this dress - definitely lots of attention when I go braless :) I'm 115 lbs and 32D and there's lots to see at the side. Not for shy girls

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Bryce


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Only buy if you plan to wear it once :(
October 11, 2015
So I bought this dress (XS, in lapis) and absolutely fell in love with it! It's so sexy, yet the front of the dress and skater skirt deems it appropriate for most occasions. The lapis color is so gorgeous. HOWEVER, you can imagine my disappointment when I washed it and it shrunk tremendously. I cannot wear the dress anymore. It doesn't cover my butt at all. I love the style so much I would like to buy it again (so annoying that I have to) but I would have to size up because I know it will shrink and I'm not sure how the small will fit. If you only plan on wearing the dress once it's perfect, however, I'm extremely disappointed with my purchase.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by sam


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

so cute!
October 5, 2015
I love love love this dress so much! Its really cute and i'll probably buy it in a other color soon, I can't get enough of it. I just wear a bandeau with it :) i always get compliments when i wer, so its a good purchase

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Gosia Joanna


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 99 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Love
September 6, 2015
Honestly one of my favourite dresses, even though it's not as short as I would like it to be, it comes about half way down my thigh, but it has a very flattering fit and perfect for parties, I wouldn't recommend this if you're not comfortable with not wearing a bra x

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by sam


Height: 6' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

best skirt ever!
August 28, 2015
i wore it some days ago and really more than ten people told m i looked very cute! I always wear it with a white bandeau,, because it dont like to show my back, but ell, thats everybodys choice. but if you are not sure, if you should buy it or not, buy it!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Cecilia Madrigal


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 145 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Favorite Dress in my Closet at the moment
December 3, 2014
I bought this dress online and let me tell you I was a bit skeptical because of its weird cutout, but I bought it and I love it! I didn't want my whole back showing and side boob popping out so I also purchased a sheer black lace bandeau and it looks amazing on. I would buy this dress in ever color! Bought a size M.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Maryanne


Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 140 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Favourite dress!
October 15, 2014
Was very happy with this purchase! Fit was 99% perfect except for the back being shorter on me than the front, which often seems to be a problem because of my more 'prominent behind'. I'm 5'10' and 36 25 36 and the small fit great. For wearing this at slightly more modest occasions a bit of fashion tape to stick the sides down to avoid too much side boob worked well. I have a 32E chest and this dress looked good with or without the side boob. :) Would definitely recommend. Sexy and classy at the same time!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by max


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

im SOOOO sad
September 5, 2014
my sister bought this dress and i tried it on and i fell in love with it, so i went and got myself one in grey. I don't like spending too much money on clothes, especially a dress as simple as this one, but it fit SO beautifully and i knew i would get a lot of wear out of it the chest is a bit large as stated in other reviews but i wore this dress with a black bandeau and it looked great. So i wore it once, to work. came home and washed it, and i never wash or dry my clothes in heat, just the warm setting. THIS DRESS SHRANK AT LEAST 50% im so upset because i know i can't return a washed item. i loved it. it was a size small, perfect length perfect fit. now i just put it on and its like a top. the straps are all warped and the sides of the cheats area are warped too. definitely didn't expect this from american apparel!! i know their stuff shrinks usually but this is just insane. sad part is, i loved it so much ill probably buy it again.

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Dev


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

LOVE THIS
August 31, 2014
I bought this dress in the black color, size small, a few weeks ago and I love it so much! I have size 34B chest and it falls perfectly! I love the sexy side boob it gives! I am going to be attending a wedding soon and I am going to wear this dress, but I may wear the sleeveless crop top in black underneath it so its less scandalous. That crop top blends in perfectly with this dress and you can't even tell you are wearing a shirt with it! Overall, I'm obsessed with this dress and definitely recommend it!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Sheryl Levitt


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Head Turner
August 6, 2014
I bought this in red literally an hour before I left town for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. I was looking for a dress that was simple, yet unique and this dress delivered. I received compliments all night long. The fabric is comfortable, flattering and good quality. I suggest getting your normal size since this dress has just the right amount of stretch to it. If you have a really small chest though, you may want to size down!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


82  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5