RSAPN300

Pleated Skirt

Based on 18 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

2
6
3
Small
True Size
Big

18 Reviews


by Alex
September 11, 2014

Height: 5' 7"

Cute, But Small

This skirt is very very cute and very wearable, I have it in black and it's nice quality, soft, and goes with pretty much anything. My only problem is that it doesn't fit too well, the zipper gets stuck about halfway up, I got this skirt in a size larger than I normally wear in AA (M/L) and it was still a bit to small. I got this skirt on sale for $27 though so I guess it's not a huge loss, I can still wear it with a shirt/sweater that covers the zipper! Other than the sizing, I'm very pleased. Looks exactly like it does on the website.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mary
July 12, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 118 lbs

Gorgeous skirt, didn't fit!

Loved this skirt on the website, couldn't wait to put it on! The color was gorgeous, the material's soft, but alas, it did not fit! I'm usually an S in American Apparel but I couldn't even zip up this skirt in size S! Back it goes. :(

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jen
October 23, 2013

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 170 lbs

WIN

This skirt is fantastic. I have it in the royal blue, and it's definitely a statement piece in my wardrobe while being classic enough that I know I'll have it for a long time. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that the zipper sticks at the top, where the fabric doubles at the waistband, and won't do up that last inch. I just buckle an oversized belt over it, and it's not a problem, but it would be nice if I didn't HAVE to.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nix
October 7, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 118 lbs

Best SKirt

I have this skirt in black, navy blue and mint green. I wear them all the time, the black one for work. I got them all in XS and fit perfectly. Flattering for every body shape and go with everything. Really comfortable too.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kendra
September 5, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 126 lbs

Sizing is kinda off...

I got a size small and it was loose around my waist which is 27 inches. The skirt is cute i guess. Its just the sizing thats a set back...I recommend going down 1 size when purchasing.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Junniper
August 16, 2013

Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 143 lbs

Wildly inconsistent sizing!

I have a few of these skirts that I brought on sale. Let me tell you they are discounted for a reason. In the three medium skirts I got, one fit perfectly 1 was so large it would not stay up on my waist and one made it hard to breathe. I wish we could upload photos so you could see the comically different sized skirts all labeled as medium. The too large one was also very poorly constructed around the waistband, it widens as it goes up and curves out instead of in (if you can picture that one!) so the top actually sticks out instead of lying flat to your skin. Additionally even the one that fit perfectly has already started to open seams around the zipper. I've only had it for a month, wore it maybe 3 times? I really wanted this skirt to work, it has the right fabric and is very pretty when the sizing is right, but it's really not worth the money as is.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Amanda
July 29, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 125 lbs

Great quality and material

This skirt is huge! lol. It's a really nice feel, better than I expected but I got it in a small and it fit like a large. It was huge and I'm not a thin girl. I want it but I'm scared to get it in a xs because it may still be too big!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by ladybug
January 6, 2013

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 120 lbs

Great skirt, goes with anything

I love this skirt, but my usual size small was too big in this style - it left a little extra space all around my waist. I kept the size small anyway, but next time, I'll definitely get an XSmall. FYI, my waist measures 26". The sizing is the same, from what I can tell, in the chiffon version.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Emma
December 17, 2012

Height: 5' 8"

I love this skirt! I wear it all the time for work and play! It fits beautifully and goes with so much. My only issue is washing- how have people washed theirs already? The label is so tiny I can hardly see, but I'm sure it says not to machine wash. I'm worried the pleats will fall out if I gently hand wash and hang it up. Suggestions?

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Amanda
April 24, 2012

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 125 lbs

Great!

I have the merlot and it fits and drapes beautifully and looks very tasteful. My only complaint is that the unlined poly fabric gets static cling very easily. I would recommend a slip or something underneath.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by S
January 29, 2012

Height: 5' 5"

I love accordion pleats with an unnatural ferocity, and this skirt certainly delivers on that front. I was surprised by the fabric—it was shinier than I expected, and, though it is by no means unpleasant to the touch, it does feel very synthetic. It would look better on me if it were about two inches shorter, but as is, it's still elegant and very wearable.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Brooke
August 14, 2011

Please make more x-small Sand!!! I want this so badly!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sara
July 23, 2011

I absolutely love this skirt, however the zipper is kind of bothersome....

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
June 20, 2011

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by JL
June 2, 2011

Love the pleating and classy for all occasions.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anon
April 26, 2011

I love this skirt it's so cute! I have been looking for a skirt like this for such a long time. It's gorgeous!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Tasha
April 26, 2011

Love this skirt, it's amazing! Fits and flows well. More colours please AA

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Samantha
April 19, 2011

Wow! This skirt is such s classic. It's so feminine and sexy. The narrow pleats flow with your every step. Very sexy and flattering in a classy way. I bought the sand colored skirt two weeks ago. The skirt looks so much better when you're wearing it. Well I'm very happy with it. Now I'm hoping to buy another one in burgundy. Last Saturday night I wore the skirt with a white cinch belt and matching shoes, with a hot pink top. I got a lot of attention from guys the whole night. Over the past six months I had been looking for an accordion skirt like this with narrow pleats but too many of them were either very expensive or of cheap quality. It would be great if this skirt came in other colors. Thanks again American Apparel

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

Reply by
sydne
March 22, 2012

this sounds like a really good review of this item... why would you give it only one star?

18  Total Reviews 20 per page 1