RSALT400W

Unisex Lightweight Taffeta Emergency Jacket

Based on 26 Ratings

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

0
0
0
Small
True Size
Big

26 Reviews


by Emily
December 18, 2008

I had to return this a few days after I bought it because I had no idea how flimsy it was. I didn't know material could get that thin. It didn't feel nice to wear either. I got the red and it was see through as well.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by John
October 18, 2008

These are great jackets, but it is oo bad that they don't have size XXL, so guys with the broad shoulders have a little more room.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Hannah
October 7, 2008

I have the purple one. It IS waterproof. I love it, it's lightweight, and you can pull it all in a little pouch and keep it...anywhere! It has no side pockets, which is it's only flaw. It does have a zipper-breast-pocket though.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jonathan
August 21, 2008

I love the way this jacket looks in the photos. The purple haze looks amazing. Im looking to see if anyone has this and if they could tell me what its like. Im looking for a nice smooth silky plasticy feeling nylon thats shiny and ultra sexy. From the photos it looks to be that but some reviews are making me rethink that.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Euphie
July 6, 2008

I'm all hots for the white one. It looks like a cool fit for summer... but the comments on quality makes this hesitant to buy. Does it even include pockets? I'm currently choosing between this jacket, and the yellow Nylon Taffeta A-Way jacket

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by SARA
June 7, 2008

the black one - i like it, very nice for festivals. if it's waterproof i'd rate it four stars. loveit, looks cool AND is practical. You've to see the potential in clothes. when you see converse's you can't just go all: "oh, well, they're just a pair of gumsole-material shoes, yuk.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by VICTORIA
April 5, 2008

the deep purple is actually kinda neat looking; a little 80's hair-metal-fan. but the black,white, and esp. purple haze are just gross looking. evergreen isn't that bad either. i think AA totally tried to make something unique and you gotta have the balls to wear it. i respect them for it!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by lauren
March 20, 2008

if i could rate this with negative stars i would. it looks like a nasty trashbag only thinner.. and looks super super cheap. yuck.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by may
March 17, 2008

i love aa and this IDEA is great, but the product doesn't look like it's going anywhere. it pretty much looks like a trashbag on a body. actually, i think the trashbag would do a better job than this jacket because a trashbag is waterproof and it could serve as a hood as well. on top of that, trashbags are waaaaay cheaper. sorry aa, but frankly this is a thumbs down. please amp it up a bit.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sarah Clark
February 15, 2008

I also agree that paying $50 dollars for an emergency jacket that ISN'T waterproof is a little out there. Come on now.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by littlemissfun
February 2, 2008

This is unattractive and useless. Here are some things that would need to be changed for me to consider buying this: -make waterproof -add hood -make fit flattering -do something about the wrinkliness -reduce price (the white is an exact replica of the garbage bags I use, only flimsyer - $58 to add a zipper?) As it stands the jacket just proves there are some concepts that shouldnt be revisited.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Dawn
January 31, 2008

this jacket is deffinately not worth $52. i love american apparel but this jacket just is just horrible. i could make this with a plastic trash bag and a needle and thread.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by woww
January 29, 2008

Basically, it looks like a colored plastic bag.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kim
January 24, 2008

Very cheap and overpriced. I don't think so

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Edith
January 21, 2008

it was only a matter of time before AA attempted to steal and remake classics like Members Only. hideously done, poorly conceived, and extremely cheap.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by megan
January 20, 2008

seriously thinking about getting this but i need more pix!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sammy
January 19, 2008

pictures of the other colors please..

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by SayNoToPlasticBags!!
January 18, 2008

The elastic cuff is really small! I have a 7" diameter wrist and wear a watch about .75" thick and it won't pass through the opening!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Liza
January 18, 2008

Although this jacket is pretty poorly made, i really like the idea of it. The sheen is sweet. The colors are horrible, though...evergreen? really? Personally I would buy it in red, yellow, or bright blue. Also, how awesome would it be if American Apparel made an 80s see-through jacket...I guess that's off topic, though!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sam grow your hair out
January 17, 2008

trashbagesque.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

26  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2