RSAKWSDC

Knit Sweater Crew Neck Dress

Based on 59 Ratings

86%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

2
5
0
Small
True Size
Big

59 Reviews


by Joy
May 27, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 114 lbs

classy and sexy

I got this sweater dress on sale, and it was a great purchase. It's perfect for fall weather and cooler temperatures, like mid-40s and 50s. It is form fitting, so getting the right size is essential. I'm a 34b, 26 waist, and 36 hips, and a medium fit me perfectly. The dress is unique and versatile. It looks great with black tights and brown/black flats and booties. If you're taller, like above 5'4", I'm guessing taller boots would look great too. The camel color is really rich. I'm tan skinned, so it went with my complexion. This dress is a must!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ivette
May 5, 2014

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 135 lbs

Perfect for Fall/Winter

I bought the dress in the safari brown in a size small and it fit perfectly. The fabric is super soft and luxurious feeling, however it is heavy fabric so this dress is definitely for winter or fall. The brown color is also a little off, its more of a light brown that kinda has a yellowish gold undertone. This dress is made to hug your body tightly. It is a tight dress. If your order a size up it will not fit as it looks on the model in the photo.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Elizabeth
May 20, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 126 lbs

Lovely but get a size up from normal!

I got the safari brown dress in size S. It's such a lovely colour and even though my boyfriend eloquently described it as a 'porn star dress' it's actually very simple and chic. Because it's so skin tight you might feel more comfortable getting the size up from normal. I've found that it does fit like a dress, but then I'm not very tall!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by cat
February 4, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 112 lbs

Nice fit but cheap material.

I have two of these one gray and black. I like to wear it over skinny jeans or leggings. The material on this dress is very cheap. After only wearing a few times both dresses have pilling on them. I have had better quality at target. If they make this again in better material i would buy again. I'm 5'3, 112 and bought a size m.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Toska
October 22, 2012

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 127 lbs

Go a size up!

This dress is very cute and casual, exactly what I was looking for. I usually wear size S but I bought this dress in Large because it was very tight. Even though I got it in Large it doesn't look big on me at all. It fits me perfectly well! I am a tall girl but the length is perfect for me, it is not that short as other reviews say (probably because I bought this dress in Large). I would recommend to go at least a size up, so it won't be very tight and sheer. It looks awesome with leggings and blue scarf. The material is soft but thin. Overall, it is a good purchase.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mila
April 28, 2012

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 116 lbs

Love it

I bought mine in the store and tried on several sizes. This dress is designed to be a tight fit. I wanted mine to be fitted, but not skin tight. I'm 5'4", 116 (b cup) and a medium was perfect. With leggings it's a super cute, ultra comfy outfit. With bare legs it's pretty sexy (so I get more wear out of it w/leggings and tend not to wear if it's too hot for leggings). Length wise it's fine-- mini skirt short. I just bough it in more colors because it's really cute AND comfy.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
November 8, 2011

Age: 21
Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 151 lbs

Awesome!

I love this dress! Yes, it is short and tight but that was the look I was going for. If you want to show off your legs, this is the perfect dress and you will get a lot of attention in it. Also, if you have any insecurities about you tummy area then don't purchase this dress as it shows every part of you! I wouldn't suggest buying this one online. Go try it on!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anne
February 23, 2011

at 5'2" and about 98 pounds, a small is a perfect length and fit. the extra small would work too, but I prefer a slightly looser look than intended. I would give this four stars, but the material is pretty thin, and I had to exchange a few before I found one without wonky, pointy shoulders.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by May
February 11, 2011

LOVE this dress! I'm 5 feet even and it's actually a dress on me! I bought it in black and it's awesome. Just be careful with flash photography because in the photo your bra will show. I wore a black tank underneath, though, and this fixed the problem (: I'm going to have to buy this in grey now too!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sarah
January 31, 2011

I'm really disappointed with AA on this one. I'm 5'4" and 155 lbs and ordered the L. Not only was it too short on me, but way too tight as well. I considered keeping it for a nice simple long sleeve crewneck but at $65 I couldn't justify keeping it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashish
January 11, 2011

Like all the other tall girls out there (holla) mentioned, this is NOT a dress. I'm 5'8 and have a big butt for a skinny white girl and it was not flattering in the slightest. But I will say when I was trying it on in the store a employee on the shorter side was rockin' it, and it looked fabulous on her. So 1 star for me, and 5 stars to the short chick working at AA.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Greta
January 6, 2011

What? How on earth is this long enough to be a dress? Maybe on a girl five feet tall, but this barely covered my butt. Five eight, pretty skinny. This was just poorly designed. Also, a shoulder seam was loose within a week. Buyer beware. NOT worth nearly 70 bucks AT ALL.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sunshine
December 26, 2010

Just recieved this dress yesterday as a Christmas gift and I love it, I only wish that the material was slightly thicker but its not a huge issue that I am having. The length of it is just right for me (5'2). Can't wait until something comes up for me to dress to impress with this sweater dress

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by angie
December 12, 2010

okay. first off, this dress is amazing when it comes to you sewn correctly. i have the creme/black stripe that i bought in store and it's great but i ordered the grey and kind of forgot about it and when i finally went to wear it, the shoulders were sewn HORRIBLY. totally lumpy and pointed out. i'm pretty infuriated considering this is a 65$ dress and it's too late for me to return it. cutest dress, but american apparel, you need to sew your stuff a lot better if you expect people to spend this much money on it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Leigh
November 24, 2010

classic beauty!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by kathleen
November 19, 2010

I tried this on in the store. I have been looking for a simple black sweater dress that wasn't terribly baggy. I am 5'11'' and this dress needs about 3 inches in order for it to be a dress on me. I'm bummed because otherwise it is pretty much just what I want. I tried a M and L. The medium fits me better but is just not right. The L could maybe work in the bottom but then the top was all weird and the armpits were sort of saggy. (I'm a 36C, size 6). If you are short and not terribly curvy this could be really cute, but you will need a slip. This wouldn't work as a tunic because it is too tight and it would bunch weird at the jeans/leggings area. I really wish it were longer. I am so sick of super short dresses!! Seriously, no one wants to see proof that you are in fact a female.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
November 3, 2010

This is so soft and comfy and fits perfectly. I am 5'10, 140 lbs and I bought a large so it would fit as a dress. It definitely does, hits right below my bum and perfect with leggings! Buy it!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by failureific
October 16, 2010

I'm 5 feet tall even, and this is a dress. And it is awesome.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Natasha
September 14, 2010

I really love this dress, I have it in black. It fits perfectly, doesn't make me look chunky like some jumpers/sweaters can. I'm 5ft 3, 112lbs, and got a small. It's a perfect fit, like I said. I have a weird shape, 36-24-39 (big bum but still wide hips) so a very hard figure to buy knitwear for with out looking beefy or fat. This sucks in at the right places, and slinks over others. Love it, I may buy another in the same colour, as in winter I will layer with this most days.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eden
August 30, 2010

I like this dress as good comfy fall/winter wear. Pretty cute. It is very short though and rides up as you walk. I bought it in an xs and I am 5'2 105 30DD 34-27-35. Thinking of exchanging it for a small. I have a very small frame, but found it still very short and tight, but it could be that I am bigger on top. I found that the solid colors run slightly smaller than the striped.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

59  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3