RSAEBT

Wide Elastic Clasp Belt

Based on 41 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

1
1
1
Small
True Size
Big

41 Reviews


by Maura
January 11, 2013

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 127 lbs

adorable but has stretched with ~10 wears, clasp will not stayed

It's an adorable belt. I got the raspberry/nickel in M/L in Dec 2009. I wear a 4 or 6, but I chose the M/L because I didn't want to feel like I was being suffocated by a too-small belt. It fit well, stayed closed, and held up for 2 years and ~10 wears. However, since late 2011 it has been unwearable due to its having stretched out (it has stretched +1.25 inches, which could be from use or age) and the clasp's failure to stay closed if I sit or move much. If the belt is the right size, it doesn't pop off. However, getting this belt in the perfect size is a challenge with only two sizes. AA should fix the clasp and have it snap in some way to stay closed. I've been trying to replace this belt, but it is really annoying that the M/L belts in the store are stretched out and AA will not allow returns or exchanges on ones bought online. I may look for something else or have to buy another one of these knowing it won't hold up long.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by haley
October 17, 2012

Weight: 125 lbs

Pretty good belt, but it's small

I got this in metallic pink (by the way, it's more light purple than pink, but still a great color), but since there's only an option for XS/S or M/L, it's a pretty small. I normally am a small or medium in high-waisted belts so I got the XS/S. I imagine the M/L would've been too large though.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Teresa
April 20, 2012

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 150 lbs

I have an hourglass figure (38-28-42) and so many dresses are loose in the waist on me when they fit everywhere else. This belt is the perfect solution. After reading some reviews, I went against my instincts and bought the XS/S and it fits great. I was a little worried about the clasp from the reviews, but it seems sturdy and secure to me, haven't had a problem yet. I got the slate/black and it goes with just about everything. I never considered belts like this my style, but it is so flattering on my body type that I really do love it.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by valerie
February 28, 2011

I got this in slate/ black and I love the color. It's not too dull - almost more like periwinkle. I generally wear a size 6 and a medium in AA, so I got this belt in M/L. I was hoping it would fit tightly around my true waist but it's too big. Looks nice a bit lower, but I wish I'd gotten the XS/S.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jess
January 25, 2011

I bought two of these on sale, and they look great, but the quality of the clasp is so poor that I have to give this a low rating. They constantly pop open when I sit or turn. These are otherwise great belts, AA. Please improve the clasp! In the meantime I will stick to the zippered ones.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kai
January 12, 2011

One of my best purchases ever. SO versatile, can be worn with dresses, skirts and even just over long shirts. It's great for casual or dressy wear. And for those who say it doesn't clasp (at first I couldn't figure it out) It DOES CLASP, and quite well. However, if you clasp it backwards, it comes undone and looks awkward, so make sure when you clasp it that it lies flat. This belt is amazing, well made, and worth EVERY dollar

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by fledgling
October 2, 2010

This belt is hot! I bought it in blueberry & I love it! Please make this in more colors!!!!!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Daphne
September 23, 2010

I order this belt on Monday and got it in the mail on Wednesday (with free shipping)! Nevertheless I love it so far, but I'm kind of disappointed because I thought the colors were reversible :(

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jonathan
June 19, 2010

So I got this in an American Apparel store, and I'd say that it was such a great buy. It's so versatile. I wear it with skirts with tank tops tucked in, and with basic dresses.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jeremy
May 11, 2010

IDEA FOR CLASP: So yeah, the clasp keeps unlocking and is extremely annoying BUT I have solved that problem. Use a hair band, black. Even the thin ones work. What to do: Loop hair band on the belt then clasp your belt like normal. Scoot the hair band over so that it goes around the clasp and sits in the middle of the clasp and voila! No more unlocking clasp!! Done this numerous times and the band isn't noticeable either! I'll post a pic of what it looks like!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Joel
April 6, 2010

this belt really pisses me off! it unclasps ALL the time :/ youd think for 20 bucks it would @ least me stable! buttttt, it is super cute:) u just have to stand still all night.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anthony
February 26, 2010

Love it. I have a curvy body (5'7", 140lbs, DD) and a short waist w/long legs. my waist is not teeny, but this belt in m/l balances things out. it's wide, so there's no muffin-top action going on, and it comfortably cinches things in and gives me more of an hourglass. Like most AA things I own, this is versatile enough to wear to the office (looks so good with my high waisted skirts), but also out at night. The blueberry/nickel one is HOT, and I'm currently debating between the eggplant and the sunshine!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Brandon
February 24, 2010

I love these belts but I must say, there is no actual locking devise to hold the clasp in place. Although This one isn't stretched around me, it pops open from time to time, like if I'm moving around alot at work etc. but it seems to be happening less the more I wear it. And I wish AA had it in white!! Please make white!! But I love it! I have two and I wear them daily!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tyler
December 23, 2009

this belt is absolutely fantastic!!! it fits fine clasp doesn't become loose at all. clasp stays in place. this belt is a must have. and you cant beat that price. clasp clearly has to lay flat against your body and it will stay in place. and it does just that for me. i lovvvvvve this belt and have no regrets either. i definitely recommend this people!!!!!!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mark
December 3, 2009

A stylish accessory but the metal chipped the first time I wore the belt. And I was only trying it on as part of an outfit. The clasp also slips out very easily when you sit down.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Marc
October 31, 2009

It's cute, but the colour on the metal chipped after the first time I wore it. The clasp also comes undone easily if you sit.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tiz
September 25, 2009

best belt ever. it works w/ almost anything! i got a xs, and it fits perfectlyyyy.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Cobina Stryker
September 17, 2009

I love these belts. I would LOVE a few in Bright neon green, a sunflower golden yellow, and a bright teal color if possible. You need more colors! The belt will fit, if it is not stretched out too far. I have had no problems with the buckle. LOVELY!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by K.
August 28, 2009

Needs a better clasp - other than that, flawless in its simplicity. How fantastic would this look in black mesh? Or it could be solid elastic bands along the top and bottom with a mesh part running along the middle (with a black clasp). You could see the color of whatever you were wearing underneath coming through the mesh panel. What do you think, AA? Is it possible?

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Miss C.
August 23, 2009

AmerAppar is one of those stores where I always feel like I get suckered into buying products that are good in theory and not so good in practice...like this belt (among other things). The issues: I feel like the elastic could have been better quality considering that I paid $16+tax for this plain belt (it felt stretched out already compared to elastic belts I've purchase at other stores). Also, as someone else mentioned, the clasp is very poorly designed because there is no internal hook to lock it in place. So if your belt is slightly tight (usually the look you're going for for this kind of belt) sometimes if you graze one side of the clasp or belt accidentally, the clasp comes apart and your belt BUSTS OPEN embarrassingly like you just ate too much or something! Seriously, I constantly have to be on the lookout when I wear this belt, lol! That said, AA offers a lot more colors/color combos if you're looking for a perfect match for your other AA outfits, I guess. Maybe this belt does work nicely for some people, but just not for me. Sigh.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

41  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3