Denim Shirt

rsadm400
16 Reviews
88% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by cecemcqueen


Height: 5' 4"
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

BEST AA Product Ever
September 9, 2015
Way yonder back, AA used to be my staple wardrobe provider. Since then, I've eased back a bit, but I bought this light wash denim shirt six months ago and it honestly might be my favorite article of clothing. That's a BIG statement, so I'll elaborate! I own a lot of denim shirts, because my staple outfit is basically an open button down thrown over a dress with some ankle boots/heeled sandals. I maintain that the AA button down is the best fit for this look because it is a long, straight, narrow cut. For example, I wouldn't wear this shirt buttoned with jeans because I like to size up so it's much too long to wear as a blouse. But over a dress this shirt gives SUCH a great silhouette; I love that the cuffs have two buttons, so when you roll up the sleeves you can actually control how tight they are. It hardly shrinks at all, which is AMAZING, and the color holds beautifully. Knowing this, imagine how devastated I was when I lost my shirt. I went to my local AA (two blocks away) and apparently the shirt isn't available in stores anymore?! That really bummed me out, and I would encourage AA to bring them back or at least put them on sale if they plan on phasing it out (hopefully not though). I hate buying stuff online and paying shipping, but I probably would have snatched up two more of this shirt already if they were still in stores. Finally, I think most of the sizing complaints are due to a failure to understand that unisex clothing = men's sizing. If you're a female and you want an oversized fit, order one size lower than you normally do in women's, and if you want a normal denim shirt fit, order TWO sizes lower. I love this shirt so much I'll probably break down and order another one anyway, but boy am I disappointed!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by William


Height: 6' 0"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? No

Bad Quality
October 11, 2014
Probably the worst purchase i've ever made from American Apparel. I bought the faded olive green color, and while i like the cut and feel of the fabric, it literally is a fragile as a paper towel. three of the buttons have fallen off and it's ripped in two different places and i've only worn it about four times. I don't know if i just got unlucky or if they're all this poorly made, but it's unacceptable.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Devin


Height: 6' 2"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

WORST PURCHASE!!
May 7, 2013
I am a big fan of AA, but this was my worst purchase in a long while. The shirt looks great but the cut is horrible, i should have read the reviews first.

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kirivat


Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great shirt perfect to combine.
April 20, 2012
My order was a backorder but within two weeks i recieved it. The material is very nice. With the right treatment this shirt will last for a very long time without losing the colour. Because it's denim fabric this shirt will adjust to your body and make it a unique and one of a kind shirt. I order a XXS-size normally i have a size S. So i went almost two sizes down. I advise to take atleast one size or two sizes down depending on how you want to wear it. Notice that this shirt will still be quit baggy on the side. Never the last it's a great shirt to expand your wardrobe.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by alex


Height: 6' 2"
Weight: 160 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

great fabric
March 31, 2012
I got the light wash indigo and I'm happy I did. I thought about getting a darker one, but it turns out this one is *slightly* darker than pictured. fabric is really soft. yes, I can see how it might run a bit big on some, but it's nothing that can't be fixed. pretty happy.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by jay


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 135 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Great material, but WAY too baggy
March 16, 2012
Love the fabric and colors of this shirt, but the cut is just way too baggy. I bought a size small and I felt like I was "the kid in me" from those old mini wheats commercials. If this was a slim cut shirt, I'd buy a half dozen of them, but this cut is just unwearable.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Justin


Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 155 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Good Shirt
March 15, 2012
A well made denim shirt made in the USA, hard to find these days.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jc


Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 180 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Insider Information? Not quite.
February 13, 2012
I work for the company. I have two of the denim button-ups - the light wash & the washed-out lieutenant. All of the shirts do run big so size down if you know your sizes in other AA button-ups. They do not shrink at all so don't worry about that! My only critique with this shirt is its lack of lapel buttons for the collar. It would make this shirt look fantastic and give it a more classic feel. Also - The Washed-Out Lieutenant shirt's fabric seem to has gotten thinner than the original ones that were made that were more heavy duty. I tend to like this but I don't know if everyone would so be informed. I know this because I had to defect mine because the side of the shirt (the middle seem that connects both sides) ripped. Apparently this happens occasionally with this style of shirt - it has happened to another coworker of mine as well. Hope this helped someone.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Philipp


Fits? --
Recommend? --

June 5, 2011
sorry for the 3 stars but this shirt doesn't make me happy. yesterday i was in the hamburg germany store and tried it on again. i am about 150lbs and 6ft tall so not skinny but slim and normal size. i wanted the light wash because i like the color. size s was way too bulky in the areas near to my ribs and the sleeves were a little long but the collar was great. xs was a better fit but the collar was way to small to button it up to the top. the quality of the shirt was good and it would be durable i think but the cut of the shirt is really not the best. so i ended up not buying it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by matt


Fits? --
Recommend? --

May 29, 2011
I don't get it. i just ordered an XS and i'm 5'8, on the slender side. Yet the shirt feels like it was made for someone much wider than myself. otherwise the shirt is fantastic

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Rhodes


Fits? --
Recommend? --

May 13, 2011
The shirt is pretty big, I usual wear size S in AA button ups and bought this in an XS. It looks great and feels so soft, great for late spring/early summer! I highly suggest the Dark Wash Indigo.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ray


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 25, 2011
@jimbo I have one in dark wash and it hasn't shrunk at all, so feel free to buy your normal size. Also really excited for the deep wash.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jimbo


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 19, 2011
Any word on shrinkage? I want all three, these shirts look amazing.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Liam


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 17, 2011
The only problem is the size. Even an XS is way too baggy and long, order a size down.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by bob tilton


Fits? --
Recommend? --

February 25, 2011
great shirt. soft and well made. quite roomy though..., i'm usually an XS and it's quite baggy (but since it's denim it kinda works). if you're unsure - size down.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tribeca


Fits? --
Recommend? --

November 9, 2010
Great! like usual. I'd definitely like this for pants. Its hard to find light denim slim pants, its actually impossible.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


16  Total Reviews 20 per page 1