Petite High-Waist Jean

rsadm308
75 Reviews
98% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Lavender


Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Pear-shaped girls size up
September 2, 2015
These jeans are really great but if you're pear-shape, you should size up. I've got a 25inch waist but I couldn't pull the 25s over my hips. I got a size 26.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by bailee


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 102 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

perfection as always :)
July 11, 2015
AA has the best denim! I normally am a size 24 in the high waisted cuff shorts, but in these petite jeans I am a size 25 and they fit perfectly!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Aria


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Ahhhhhh! don't discontinue these perfect jeans :(
July 10, 2015
I love these jeans -they're the perfect length on me and the 26 fits like a glove. Most AA jeans are too long on me. I would have bought backup pairs if I realized they were being discontinued :( Please bring them back AA!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Shaye


Height: 4' 2"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Favorite Pair of Jeans.
January 10, 2015
They fit great. Very nice, thick material. Can't wait to get more colors. They hit right at my ankles and don't bunch up like most of my jeans to. Absolutely perfect for the petite girl.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Patricia


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 114 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

AMAZING
December 4, 2014
I've always been a fan of American Apparel. These jeans fit great, I seriously act like these are the only jeans I have. I've had them for at least a year now, and they still fit perfectly. I also got the shorts version to it - same color. I plan to get them all. Keep the 90's alive AA!!! :)

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Char


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Nicely made!
November 20, 2014
These jeans are super cute! They're very vintage looking, like if you were gonna go to the thrift store for the perfect pair of jeans, these would be your ideal pick. However, that happens pretty rarely, so these are a great substitute. If you want skinny, these aren't for you though. My only complaint is that I wish I'd chosen one size larger, because they can fit awkwardly around the crotch and waist area? And they really crease when I sit. I love 'em though. :)

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jasmine


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

November 6, 2014
I have these jeans in the light wash and omg!!!! The love I have for them, they fit comfortable and goes great with my white t-shirts or a simple white crop top.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Mudmee


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 128 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Nice Jeans
October 17, 2014
I got this jeans in size 28 and in light wash indigo. The color looks just right as it's shown in the pictures. Material is good, the waist is pretty slim, but it's a little bit too baggy from the hips to legs. I think it's a good purchase when it's on sale. So I'd recommend to get it with the sale price.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Madi LeBlanc


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 95 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

Eh
October 15, 2014
I got a size 25 in the black after reading the reviews so i decided to go up a size (usually a 24) and they are WAY WAY WAY too small. i cannot sit down comfortable or breathe easily in them. and they were on sale so i cannot exchange.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Paola


Height: 5' 3"
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Perfect for small girls
October 11, 2014
I got them in Medium Stone Wash Indigo color, A M A Z I N G It fits a little small than my regular size

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jess


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 103 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Favourite jeans
October 8, 2014
I love these jeans! I find them to be really flattering to the waistline as they sit so high up. I got them in a size 25 in medium stone wash indigo. I would recommend getting the smallest size you can fit into so that the jeans really cinch in and define the waist otherwise the jeans could look too baggy as they are a looser fit on the legs. I love how they have an 80s vintage feel to them and have gotten a couple of compliments.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anna


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Nearly perfect
October 7, 2014
I bought these in a size 25 & they fit aaamazing!!! They hug in all the right places and make your butt look great! Unfortunately, my zipper broke after less than two months. Every time I sit, the zipper temporarily breaks. It can be fixed quickly, but it is very annoying and embarrassing when this happens in public. Despite this problem, I will be ordering another pair. Hopefully, I just got a defective pair.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Lou Reed


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 96 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Light Wash Indigo
September 21, 2014
My waist is 24, hips are 31. I bought these in Light Wash Indigo, they are a lovely color but they're not a solid color like in the picture. Some areas look lighter than other areas. I bought these jeans in size 24, and on sale. Unfortunately they were final sale or I would have returned them and gone up a size. Size 24 in AA high waisted shorts fit me big so I thought I would fit fine in these, but these jeans run a bit small. I would definitely size up, doesn't stretch and its 100% cotton. I will be buying another pair in another color and size 25. They are very cute though, they flatter the butt area very nicely.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Paula


Height: 4' 11"
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Surprisingly Small
September 11, 2014
Literally no store fits me since im tiny and skinny but I bought these in size 23 and OMG they were amazing except for the fact that they were squishing my intestines BUT other than that they were nice and really snug around the waist :)))

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by bailee


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

tiny waist!!
September 7, 2014
First off, I'm a very loyal AA customer, I love this store and I'm constantly ordering things! I don't have an AA near me so I always order online, I'm extremely petite and I fit the denim high waist cuff shorts in a 24 almost perfectly, so I decided to get these jeans in a 24, but the waist was so tiny I couldn't even lift the jeans over my thighs! So i'll be sending these back for a 25 and i'm praying they'll fit. Other than that the jeans were made amazingly.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alexis


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 122 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

August 20, 2014
I usually wouldn't order a petite size, but after reading some reviews that the regular high-waist jeans were a little long, I took a chance and ordered the petite. I went up a size and ordered a size 28, when my waist is a 27 and my hips are a 37 (I was surprised these fit past my hips). But these jeans fit perfectly, but I agree with the other reviewers that the from the knee down, they fit more of like a straight leg rather than a super skinny jean. As for the length on my legs because I usually don't wear petite sizes, the jeans hit right above the ankle, which isn't a problem for because I was going to cuff these jeans anyway. Overall, I think that they are a pair of really well made jeans and I think they'd look cute with American Apparel's wooden heel sandals, platforms, or really anything. I'm excited to style these jeans!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Iris


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 95 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

baggy from the knee down
August 6, 2014
I read that these jeans do not have any stretch, so I measured my hips/waist SITTING DOWN before buying online. I ordered a 25. They fit perfectly snug at my waist/hips, but the bottoms of the legs are hugely baggy. I do not have tiny-skinny legs (even though I'm a tiny girl) and my calves are often too big for tall boots and the like. Which means these are DEFINITELY NOT SKINNY JEANS. They even seem more baggy than 'boot cut'... if I wear them uncuffed with ankle boots, I immediately look like a farmer.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Caroline


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

It differentiates
July 24, 2014
Black - A bit too big on the waist and it felt a bit itchy (the material felt uncomfortable) so I returned it. Medium wash - My favorite one! Definitely true to size and when you wash it, it doesn't shrink as much. The material is thick as well. Light wash - When I first felt the material, it was much thinner compared to the medium wash. It already fits me perfectly but I am afraid that if I wash it, then it will become too small/tight. I suggest buying the light washed jeans in a size larger. I love these petite high waisted pants overall, I think that it would look great on anyone no matter what size they are.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Liz


Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 112 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Teeny tiny!
July 19, 2014
I am so glad that AA makes this style pant in petite for shorter people like me! I adore these pants, but my gosh they fit SMALL on me. I've got a 25" waist and bony, childbearing hips (33"), and bigger thighs. Got these in a 28 which is the best fit I could get, but they are still quite tight in the hips and thigh. I love that the denim is so high quality and so substantial, and I love that I can dress these pants more 90s-esque or more modern depending on my mood :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ellie


Height: 5' 4"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Question
July 13, 2014
My waist size varies from w24.4 to w256, and I have these jeans in the regular, waist 26 length 32 version but they're far too long for me so i have to roll them up, and they get quite loose after a couple of hours. I am tempted to buy these petite versions since i have very short legs (28" inseam) but I'm unsure of my sizing - should i buy the waist 26, as i did with the regular length, should i buy the waist 25 to avoid too much loosening or should i buy bigger as suggested by other reviewers? I'm trying to take into account the length too, thank you!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


75  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4