RSADM308

Petite High-Waist Jean

Based on 62 Ratings

99%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

30
30
2
Small
True Size
Big

62 Reviews


by Paula
September 11, 2014

Height: 4' 11"

Surprisingly Small

Literally no store fits me since im tiny and skinny but I bought these in size 23 and OMG they were amazing except for the fact that they were squishing my intestines BUT other than that they were nice and really snug around the waist :)))

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by bailee
September 7, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 105 lbs

tiny waist!!

First off, I'm a very loyal AA customer, I love this store and I'm constantly ordering things! I don't have an AA near me so I always order online, I'm extremely petite and I fit the denim high waist cuff shorts in a 24 almost perfectly, so I decided to get these jeans in a 24, but the waist was so tiny I couldn't even lift the jeans over my thighs! So i'll be sending these back for a 25 and i'm praying they'll fit. Other than that the jeans were made amazingly.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Alexis
August 20, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 122 lbs

I usually wouldn't order a petite size, but after reading some reviews that the regular high-waist jeans were a little long, I took a chance and ordered the petite. I went up a size and ordered a size 28, when my waist is a 27 and my hips are a 37 (I was surprised these fit past my hips). But these jeans fit perfectly, but I agree with the other reviewers that the from the knee down, they fit more of like a straight leg rather than a super skinny jean. As for the length on my legs because I usually don't wear petite sizes, the jeans hit right above the ankle, which isn't a problem for because I was going to cuff these jeans anyway. Overall, I think that they are a pair of really well made jeans and I think they'd look cute with American Apparel's wooden heel sandals, platforms, or really anything. I'm excited to style these jeans!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Iris
August 6, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 95 lbs

baggy from the knee down

I read that these jeans do not have any stretch, so I measured my hips/waist SITTING DOWN before buying online. I ordered a 25. They fit perfectly snug at my waist/hips, but the bottoms of the legs are hugely baggy. I do not have tiny-skinny legs (even though I'm a tiny girl) and my calves are often too big for tall boots and the like. Which means these are DEFINITELY NOT SKINNY JEANS. They even seem more baggy than 'boot cut'... if I wear them uncuffed with ankle boots, I immediately look like a farmer.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Caroline
July 24, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 120 lbs

It differentiates

Black - A bit too big on the waist and it felt a bit itchy (the material felt uncomfortable) so I returned it. Medium wash - My favorite one! Definitely true to size and when you wash it, it doesn't shrink as much. The material is thick as well. Light wash - When I first felt the material, it was much thinner compared to the medium wash. It already fits me perfectly but I am afraid that if I wash it, then it will become too small/tight. I suggest buying the light washed jeans in a size larger. I love these petite high waisted pants overall, I think that it would look great on anyone no matter what size they are.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Liz
July 19, 2014

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 112 lbs

Teeny tiny!

I am so glad that AA makes this style pant in petite for shorter people like me! I adore these pants, but my gosh they fit SMALL on me. I've got a 25" waist and bony, childbearing hips (33"), and bigger thighs. Got these in a 28 which is the best fit I could get, but they are still quite tight in the hips and thigh. I love that the denim is so high quality and so substantial, and I love that I can dress these pants more 90s-esque or more modern depending on my mood :)

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ellie
July 13, 2014

Height: 5' 4"

Question

My waist size varies from w24.4 to w256, and I have these jeans in the regular, waist 26 length 32 version but they're far too long for me so i have to roll them up, and they get quite loose after a couple of hours. I am tempted to buy these petite versions since i have very short legs (28" inseam) but I'm unsure of my sizing - should i buy the waist 26, as i did with the regular length, should i buy the waist 25 to avoid too much loosening or should i buy bigger as suggested by other reviewers? I'm trying to take into account the length too, thank you!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sasha
May 22, 2014

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 95 lbs

Amazing!!!!

I love these jeans so much! The length is perfect for shorter girls. I am normally a 24 in the shorts version of these, or an xxs-xs easy jean size, and in other jeans I'm generally a 25. The size 25 was perfect for me!. Order a size up from your American Apparel size, regardless of your size in other jeans. Super cute with heels, boots, or flats, perfect every day jeans, make your butt look good while still looking fashionable and cute. Love these so much, hope to buy in more colors!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by hhh
April 9, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 122 lbs

just got them!

I have yet to truly rate how they are, how they look once broken in, etc. I've been losing weight for a while now so I'm not too sure of my sizing, but from other jeans I've tried, I'm a size 8-9 AUS apparently. I'm also pretty short, 158cm in height and I still have to kind of roll these up at least once for them to hit me at an alright length. I was originally planning to get the 26, but reading the instructions, I got a size up. I'm glad I did... these are quite snug around my stomach area, and my thighs. I actually have quite the typical pear shape, so my butt, and thighs are quite large. So it doesn't go down like a straight cut as I kinda hoped... It kind of looks like skinny jeans that don't quite fit (around the calf area). I'm not planning to return these only because I know once broken in, they'll start to look fab. My sister said they look real good already (like the AA models) but to ME, I feel like something is a little off? Not sure. But hopefully after them being broken in they'll start to look good :)

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Elizabeth
February 13, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 105 lbs

Best jeans ever!

I love these jeans and they fit really well. I'm super short though, so I still have to cuff them, but the waist hits me perfectly above the bellybutton. I'm somewhere between a 24 and a 25 in the easy jean, so I bought these in a 25. The first time I wore them I couldn't sit down, but you just have to break them in. I've worth them five times now, without washing, and they're getting pretty comfortable. Don't be discouraged if they don't really fit the first time. They just need some wear. Plus they're super durable and will last forever. They're my new favorite! I'm definitely buying more!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by ezraa
February 4, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 120 lbs

great Jean

it is real great jeans, if you find your size. first a bought 29 but it was too small I couldn't even put it on, after that I exchange it with 30 and it fits perfectly. I am so glad to have it.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anna
January 5, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 123 lbs

Petite?

Maybe I have a different idea on what petite is because I looked at this in stores and they looked so small that it would fit an 8 year old. I was excited the petites finally came to store so I wanted to buy these because I am short and the length on these is perfect; hemming the regular size of these jeans would cut the tapered look. I tried putting these on in the fitting room and 1) the ankle width was just too tight and 2) it didn't go pass a little bit before my knee. Not only that, but I don't know why there are two different shades of blue both called the same Dark Indigo Wash. That's rather misleading.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Julie
December 18, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 130 lbs

Just didn't work out.

I thought i would write this review for us ladies who are 5"3 and weight more than 115 pounds! I was very disappointed these jeans did not work out. I ordered these in size 29 thinking that would be enough, but everything was just too small. I had to shimmy into these jeans, over my hips (i didnt think i had any) Then it was very difficult to button them up. I tried to go around the house in them since some reviews said they needed to be worn, but it was just too tight. Maybe if i got the size 30 it would have fit better, but they just looked weird too. They looked like mom jeans. The butt areas was too small and pressed my butt flat. It was disappointing because the pant length and ankle width were perfect. I debated ordering these in size 30, but a week after i received these I found some high waisted jeans at Goodwill that fit better and only cost me 5 dollars.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Cecilia
December 13, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 105 lbs

Depending on ur luck

I ordered them in store, coz it's a pain in the ass to deal with the exchange on line. I'm a 24-25in the regular once depending on the job they done. Coz it's well known that each pair fits differently, so first I ordered a 24 and a25, week later they came in ridiculous, the waist in both pairs is smaller than my palm. Then they ordered the second time 3pairs ,25,26, and 27. The second time, the 25fits bigger than the 26, and the 27 is huge like guys pants. So I finally grabbed this one pair of 25 out of 5pairs that I have ordered. Fits well.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sarah
December 10, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 120 lbs

LOVE

I am a mom, so I hate low waist jeans...these jeans are what I have been looking for since my last favorite pair of Calvin Kleins from my sophomore year in hs (1990) wore out. They do everything you hope leggings will do, but cannot. They feel firm and substantial over my stomach and butt, taper perfectly right down to my ankle, and do not sag and bag by the end of the day like all the denim now with spandex in it. I am so happy I went for them--the size 29 is perfect, my waist measures just under 29".

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eve
December 5, 2013

Height: 5' 2"

v nice

i ordered these online in the 'stone wash black' in a size 28, and they seem to fit nicely, defiantly could not be able to size down any smaller though, although they do stretch a bit after awhile for a relaxed feel but still fitted. overall i would recommend

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by k
November 30, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 89 lbs

nice

if you want them to look nicely highwaisted, wear a belt.... without a belt they sit at about underneath your bellybutton. i love these jeans, i got my normal size, 24. the ankles are awkwardly baggy (probably because my legs are so skinny) but it's nothing a little cuffing can't fix. they look great with dr. martens :-)

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by S
November 26, 2013

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 105 lbs

Get your regular size!!! These have no stretch because you are s

These are made the way denim used to be made, before they started putting spandex in it. They're thick, rigid, heavy, and stiff because they are good quality (14 oz) denim. They will be uncomfortable for a bit. When you break them in they will both loosen and soften. Get your normal size, seriously. I am 5ft 105lbs and i wear a 25. When I first got them I thought I might suffocate, but they are an entirely different pair of jeans now (I've had them for a year). If you have the patience to deal with the discomfort for a bit, buy these jeans because you will be so happy with the worn in feel after a while. They conform to your body and they have this great custom/ familiar fit and feel that you can't get from jeans today with all that spandex. If you size up, it just won't have the same effect. These days, we want to be immediately comfy, which is all good and well--I have lots of spandex-y jeans. But remember that denim was originally made to last--to sustain wear and tear--and these definitely will. Not to mention, if you get your regular size, they will fit your waist properly, even after you have broken them in. Which is the goal with high waisted anything, isn't it--to see that sexy waist? They also make your butt look great. K, rant over.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sarah
November 25, 2013

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 105 lbs

Great, durable

these are extra cute. They're not the most comfortable when sitting down--but not uncomfortable. They pretty tight & stiff, but they loosen throughout the day (even though they have no stretch--they're like the denim cuff shorts in that way, but tighter in the bum area). I feel like that stiffness is sort of just the cost of durability/ quality denim. Trust me, these will last you many many years to come. I wear the 25 and they're a bit of a squeeze, but they look great once they're on and any smaller would feel too bulky.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by crystal
October 26, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 105 lbs

Buy in store!

Do not listen to the reviews telling you to order two sizes up! Although these jeans are non-stretch they loosen up throughout the day and get baggy!! I listened to the reviews and got 2 sizes up (size 26) and their big on me and get baggy throughout the day.I might take these to the tailor to get it taken in. Please go to the store and try them on if you can! Great quality jeans, but sizing is tricky.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

62  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4