Boyfriend Short

rsadm306
15 Reviews
90% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by jess


Fits? --
Recommend? --

February 4, 2016
BRING BACK THE BOYFRIEND SHORT!!!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by bellynoelly


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 112 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

The only shorts I wear!
June 27, 2014
I am VERY picky about jean shorts, and these are the best! Thick, great quality denim. My measurements are 34-25-38 with strong butt and thighs. Size 24/25 fit at the waist, but was tight around my thighs. So I went back and got one pair in 26 and another in 27. Size 26 is snug but still comfortable, and Size 27 definitely has that loose, boyfriend look on me. I love them both for different outfits/occasions. I'd love to get every color!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Audrey


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 145 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

nice
June 12, 2014
i bought these last summer at the AA flea market and they were so good, i have a short torso so it came right at/above my belly button and you can roll them up which they look cuter rolled up and look super super short but make your butt look big. i got the 30 and it fit great, cant wear it anymore cause i gained like 15 pounds but its alright lol

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Olivia


Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 127 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Its a Love/Hate Relationship
May 12, 2014
I bought these shorts over a year ago, and purchased a size 26, and they ended up being too big. I went down ONE size and I could barley put them on, they were way to small! I went to 3 different American Apparel stores trying to find the right size, and I could not seem to find a pair that fit me. A year later, I decided to go on the hunt again. Same thing happened, I couldn't find my size. (The only reason I put "true to size" is because I didn't know whether to put them as "too big" or "too small") After almost giving up, I found them! I found my size! And all I can say is that I love them! If I could wear them everyday I would! They are the perfect everyday shorts, and you can pair them with virtually everything! If you are thinking about purchasing them online, I would recommend going to your nearest American Apparel location and trying them on. If there is none close to where you live, well good luck!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Leslie


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 145 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Will these stretch?
March 19, 2014
Hello everyone, I love these shorts. I wear a size 6 usually and bought a 29. Im curvy and have a big butt and these shorts are modestly designed for that. I really wanted them to be a little loose and relaxed. Has anyone on here worn them around and noticed if they loosened a little? I'm wondering on if I should get a bigger size?

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Noel


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 117 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Great Quality
September 9, 2013
My measurements are 34-27-38, and the size 24 fits well. There is a bit of a gap around the waist, but they are fitted around the butt. They are not high-waisted, they hit below the bellybutton. I was hoping they would be looser around my legs, but since I strength train my thighs and butt, I am pretty voluptuous down there and the leg bindings are a little tight. What I REALLY love about these is the quality-these aren't made out of that flimsy, stretchy denim you see in every other women's jeans/shorts brands...this is a thick tough denim that is still quite comfy. I also got the denim jacket they have, and it is made of that same material. You can't get this kind of quality in other women's departments.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by marissa


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

???
July 16, 2013
when i first received these shorts in black i thought i was sent the wrong thing. they fit just like my other boyfriend shorts and have the same button-fly though. first of all they are solid black, not a denim black like what is pictured. the stitching is gold. the cuffs not only aren't sewn like other reviewers mentioned, but they weren't even ironed like it seems like my other boyfriend shorts were upon arrival (i own every color). they weren't even folded over. they arrived with frayed ends looking cut-offs. the frayed ends make the cuffs bow out if you try to fold them over and wear them as pictured (not that they could ever look as pictured as no color on any part of the shorts i received matches anything pictured). i recommend the other colors highly and they fit well, so i guess i'll go with 3 stars

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Lacey


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 140 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

I'm in love!
May 10, 2013
I bought these shorts b/c they seemed a little longer than the shorts I could find in town (I don't like my butt hanging out). I'm around 140lbs/5'4 and bought a 28. They ride up, but I love the fit - a tad loose and soft denim. I'm very curvy in my legs with a big booty (just being honest!) and a small waist, so the back top doesn't hug like I would like them to. These ride up easily, but never to the point where my butt cheeks show and I flash the person behind me. I agree with the other ladies - the folded part is NOT sewn. I think I'll have my Grandma take care of that ;-) This is an essential summer piece for my closet!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Katy


Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

disappointed :/
January 26, 2013
C'mon people, this is ridiculous. These look exactly like they are made from old, pre-worn jeans from your dad, boyfriend, whomever. Nothing special. The cuffs are only folded (possibly ironed), not sewn. No idea how they will turn out after a few washings. They're true to size in the waist, but there are weird bumps in the front and in the back. It's OK but there is nothing sophisticated or versatile about this look. Pro Tip: Get an old jeans from the thrift store and cut it short. No need for spending $$$ on faux D.I.Y. looks.

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by giselle


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 109 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

LOVE
September 1, 2012
I bought 3 pairs of shorts at AA and these are by far my FAVORITE, they have the boyfriend short look, which I love. I have a decent sized butt and most shorts that fit my waist dont cover it well, these do because they are slightly longer in the back or can be anyway...they just look extremely flattering on me, I want the darker wash now! :)

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by zara


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

August 26, 2012
The sizes are so varied that I couldnt give this 5 stars. In the light wash I'm a size 28, but in the medium stone I am a size 25.??? It took me 45 min of trying on these shorts in the store to find ones that fit because the sizes were so off. They fit lovely though. They are mid-rise which I love because I find that the high-waisted shorts make me look like i have a pudgy belly. They are a bit too bootylicious to wear to school but great to wear out. It is a bit expensive for denim shorts since these arent anything special, but a good buy if you have some extra money to spend.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Lynn


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 13, 2011
The shorts are the best! They're perfect in the waist and very lightweight.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by haley


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 12, 2011
These shorts fit AMAZING. Perfect in the waist, not too tight, perfect length and wash (medium stone).

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by X


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 12, 2011
I love me some looser shorts but this style doesn't seem too special. I do not like the look of the cuffs...the high waisted denim shorts already have cuffs and I soon realized that by AA force-cuffing them, I cannot take the stitches out for the cuffs since I noticed the denim has permanent lines. This leads to a lack of versatility and a forced style. Especially since they are called 'boyfriend' shorts, they should have been longer. Even in the photos, the cuffs are somewhat messed up, folded, and uneven, making them look odd (perhaps the inseam just isn't as long as the other denim?). Finally, unlike the high-waist denim shorts, these just aren't unique at all. I just bought a pair of thrift-store pants, made them shorts, and they literally look identical except I left the legs longer. The high waisted denim shorts have a fit that screams AA. These don't.

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alia


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 12, 2011
Just bought these in a 27 I wear a 26/27 in the 4-way zipper pants. The waist gaps a lot but is tight around my but (measurements 34 27 38) and I tried a 26 and they did the same there wasn't really a difference except the 26 squeezed my leg a tad. Mine don't have a zipper closure, but instead a 3 button closure but the buttons are hidden. I really like them but I wish they were high waisted!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


15  Total Reviews 20 per page 1