RSADM303M

Medium Wash High-Waist Jean Cuff Short

Based on 61 Ratings

92%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

15
43
3
Small
True Size
Big

61 Reviews


by Signe
September 4, 2014

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 130 lbs

I have them in a size 26. They look good as long as you are standing, but because there is no elasticity they are quite uncomfy sitting down and you get this pouch in the front, since the waistband is still cutting into you. Also - my bum is quite round, but still, there is to much fabric in the bum area. And, another consideration: they are quite short, so you would wear them in summer, but its really hot wearing all that denim fabric around your waist. That said: the quality and color is nice!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by s
August 6, 2014

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 90 lbs

Big

I regret disregarding the reviews on these shorts saying they are a weird fit. I went with the size I normally get in AA denim shorts, which is a 24, even though my natural waist size is 23. I have 23' waist, and 32' hips so the smallest sizes from AA always seem to fit me the best, but with the previous two pairs of AA shorts I have ordered a size 24 and they have fit perfectly (snug in all the right places). These shorts in size 24 are huge around the thighs and butt, and not perfectly tight around the waist either. They seem to go longer down my thighs compared to my other shorts as well. Not horrible but not very flattering, and I'm not sure if I want to try to size down or to not even bother.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Michelle
July 26, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs

Okay this is one of my first purchases from AA. These are basically a necessity for any girl to have in their wardrobe. They are so cute and pair up great with any crop top. But there are a few downsides..I got a size 25 They fit perfectly on my thighs but around waist, i have like about 2 inches of extra room. I can tell if I size down it'll be too tight on my thighs. Nothing a belt can't fix. It's a bit awkward when I sit down around my thighs. Regardless I would still recommend these to anyone looking for a basic high waist short

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anna
June 16, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 121 lbs

Love these but sizes are strange

I finally bought these and I love them. Unfortunately, I had to exchange them in store after ordering one online and it was a bit too tight on the waist. I normally wear size 27 in jeans for AA, but these shorts and the pencil jeans, I had to size up. First size 27 I ordered was a bit too tight on the waist, also a bit tight on the thighs and the inseam was so short it was showing my buttcheeks. I know this loosens up and breaks in, but even when it does, it will bother your crotch when you sit down. I know this from experience with high waist denim. I am 27 waist and 38 hips and had to try on 2 different size 27 in store until I found one that fits properly. Definitely try these on in store or exchange for a size that is comfortable for you. Otherwise, this is a great item and I love it. If you really love these, don't bother trying to find a cheap alternative elsewhere. Spend more here and get these because you will love them!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Danielle
June 13, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 148 lbs

Interesting fit, wrong size

First of all, I decided to order these offline due to my need for summer shorts (and cute shorts to go over tights for when it's colder). I was SO excited when I ordered them and couldn't wait for them to arrive. When I first put them on I thought they seemed a tad big for the size I got (I ordered a 30, even though I'm usually a 29 or 30 in pants). I noticed a little bit later that I was actually sent a size 31 pair, but with the wrong tags. I decided to keep them because I had already worn them a few times, but even so, they do feel really comfortable, and I can actually sit in these (I'm assuming any size smaller I wouldn't be able to sit). The only thing I don't like about these due to the bigger size is that it makes my stomach area look a bit more puffy from the side view, but besides that, I love how they feel and fit.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anna
June 9, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 119 lbs

Inseam Too Short

I normally wear size 27 in all pants in AA and these fit about right (a little snug). My main issue with these is that the inseam is really short. I know someone who wears a 31 in these and they fit her perfectly and her inseam is enough not to make her butt stick out. The inseam for the size 27 ones I got were so short, my butt cheeks were slowly falling out by the cuffs. These are made very well and will last a long time, but I have to see if I can find another size 27 and see if the inseam is a bit longer. I suggest to try these on in store if you can because they all fit differently. I highly recommend them though.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by aaron
May 22, 2014

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 108 lbs

idgi

these shorts are really cute but im like in between sizes with them like the 25 fits my waist but not my thighs and the 24 fits my thighs but too tight on my waist, anyways i bought them in a 24 and as i was putting them on(for the 5th time) the zipper busted when i was pulling them over my hips :(

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? No

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Blousey
April 16, 2014

best purchase ever

so happy I bought these shorts. they are a necessary basic & my go to item when I'm struggling with an outfit. they are true to size & not too bootylicious. would recommend to anyone looking for a great, basic pair of shorts

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Dannica
April 14, 2014

Height: 5' 2"

not for petites

unless you are looking for a baggy fit, i would not really recommend these style of shorts for 5'3 and under girls. They are uncomfortable around the crotch area as the are to big and don't do much for flattery on your behind. Yes the shorts are very well made and comfortable around the waist i just wouldn't go and splash out on these again due to the sizing difficulties with petites.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashley
April 12, 2014

Height: 5' 10"

Great Shorts, But Try Before You Buy

After buying the stone wash high waist denim shorts I knew that I wanted to get them in this medium wash. But when I tried on the same size (31) in store, they definitely felt a lot more snug than my stone wash ones. The sales assistant said that a lot of people had the same complaint. I bought them in the same size anyway, knowing that they would stretch out anyway and I'm glad I did because they fit really nicely after you wear them and walk around a bit and everything. But if you're even a little bit hesitant about the fit, try them on first because you might feel better sizing up instead.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tash
April 3, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 115 lbs

Perfect shorts perfect fit

I hover between a size AUS 8 and 10 and am 5'3 (but have a smaller waist than my hips and thighs). I ordered the size 27 online without trying them on first and they were perfect! The waist sits perfectly and the leg openings have room to spare even though they are the largest bit of my body. You do have to kind of jump around a bit to get them over the butt area but once they're up they sit and fit perfectly. Great quality, would recommend to anyone

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mecca
April 2, 2014

Height: 6' 0"

Great High-Waisted Shorts

They're very short on me, but flattering. I got the 31 because I have a big butt and it's bigger around the waist, so it rides up some. Not too uncomfortable or annoying, though.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Tayla
February 24, 2014

Height: 5' 7"

Amazing

I was honestly pretty skeptical about ordering from american apparel especially since I don't have that much money money.. but let me tell you these shorts are well worth the price, they fit perfectly. The leave space for being comfortable while being fashionable . The perfect summer shorts!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by freya
December 16, 2013

Weight: 119 lbs

perfect

after having my eye on these shorts for ages i finally decided to buy them and they are so worth the $$$$$$$ they fit really well and are really good quality. I am a very happy customer! they do NOT show as much booty as in the photos, but still really great and very flattering fit as they are super high waisted and fit so nicely I got a size 27 and it fits me very well just look at the measurements before ordering I'm really happy i got these because they will go with so many different crop tops and perfect for summer :) :) THANK YOU AMERICAN APPAREL

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by loveee
August 22, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 118 lbs

great shorts but run small

i got these shorts the other day. im usually a size 25 or 26, but the 27s fit great for me. Super cute and well made, wanna get some prints!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kayli
August 18, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 135 lbs

Best high waisted shorts out there

I bought these shorts at the American Apparel in New York over a year ago and still wear them faithfully. They'll last a lifetime and are made with quality denim. These shorts are probably AA's most popular item.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by anna
August 18, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 93 lbs

great buy!

i've had my eye on these for the longest time and have wondered if they're worth the money! it's an absolute yes if you're wondering the same thing! they are very well made and are high quality denim. i just got them and their a bit stiff but they'll soften up and hopefully shrink a little in the wash, as cotton does that. they are already laundered to reduce the shrinkage, if that helps any, but i am really small so i will probably hope they shrink a smidge in the wash. the color is really nice, and i hope AA makes one in between this medium wash and the dark wash as an in between. great buy that will last for years!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kristen Masada
August 10, 2013

Height: 5' 3"

I first purchased these shorts in a size 25 about a year or two ago��when AA had just started selling them in this wash. Though they did run small (it was kind of uncomfortable to sit down in them), the quality and fit were brilliant. They soon became my favorite shorts of all time and I was wearing them almost constantly during the warmer months. Eventually, I grew out of a size 25 and decided to purchase a 27. I expected these shorts to be of the same quality, but unfortunately they weren't even close. Firstly, I noticed that AA uses a much cheaper, thinner construction for these shorts now��similar to that of the medium-wash denim circle skirt (actually, it might even be the same fabric). Also, the shorts aren't angled as nicely at the bottom in the way that they used to be, so they're not nearly as flattering and they look a bit like grandma shorts. The zipper has improved though and the sizes don't run as small as they once did, but overall I feel like AA is skimping on quality now. This makes me so sad since these shorts were one of the reasons why I loved the AA brand so much.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by kristen
August 2, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 150 lbs

Great Shorts!

Awesome shorts! Classic, too bad they run a bit small. Size 31 fits just a bit snug! Usually wear size 31 in forever 21 or size 10 jeans. Loved these shorts, just wish they were a bit more stretchy :(

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Erika
August 2, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 120 lbs

I love these!

These shorts are worth ever penny! I recommend you try these on first if you never shopped at AA. I'm a size 28 and they fit perfect, tight at first but loosen up after a while. They go great with any type of top. They don't show much cheek as in the photos, they might rise up if you sit down. As for everything they say in their description it's true! I will be going back for more colors.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

61  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4