Medium Wash High-Waist Jean Cuff Short

rsadm303m
64 Reviews
92% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by lisa


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 106 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

every girl needs these!!
October 23, 2014
I've been wanting a perfect pair of shorts for a while now and i finally got around to buying these and i got a size 24, which is perfect on my waist but a bit tight on my thighs.. nothing too bad though if i would've gotten a 25 they would have been too big on my waist considering the fact it left a tiny gap in the back of my waist but you don't need a belt i'm just praying they don't shrink

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tiffany


Fits? --
Recommend? --

October 10, 2014
I bought these in a size 24 despite them being a bit snug around the waist because when i tried on the size 25 they fit quite awkwardly and were very unflattering on the behind. I am usually a size 24/ 0 in bottoms but when i wore these out for the first time they were very tight and when i sat down i had to unbutton them due to the waist being so tight. Another problem i encountered was that it was extremely difficult to button the front of the shorts maybe because of the shorts being made of very thick stiff fabric. Despite that the fit is very nice and flattering and definitely worth the price, hopefully they will stretch out after a few washes and wears.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Signe


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

September 4, 2014
I have them in a size 26. They look good as long as you are standing, but because there is no elasticity they are quite uncomfy sitting down and you get this pouch in the front, since the waistband is still cutting into you. Also - my bum is quite round, but still, there is to much fabric in the bum area. And, another consideration: they are quite short, so you would wear them in summer, but its really hot wearing all that denim fabric around your waist. That said: the quality and color is nice!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by s


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 90 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? No

Big
August 6, 2014
I regret disregarding the reviews on these shorts saying they are a weird fit. I went with the size I normally get in AA denim shorts, which is a 24, even though my natural waist size is 23. I have 23' waist, and 32' hips so the smallest sizes from AA always seem to fit me the best, but with the previous two pairs of AA shorts I have ordered a size 24 and they have fit perfectly (snug in all the right places). These shorts in size 24 are huge around the thighs and butt, and not perfectly tight around the waist either. They seem to go longer down my thighs compared to my other shorts as well. Not horrible but not very flattering, and I'm not sure if I want to try to size down or to not even bother.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Michelle


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

July 26, 2014
Okay this is one of my first purchases from AA. These are basically a necessity for any girl to have in their wardrobe. They are so cute and pair up great with any crop top. But there are a few downsides..I got a size 25 They fit perfectly on my thighs but around waist, i have like about 2 inches of extra room. I can tell if I size down it'll be too tight on my thighs. Nothing a belt can't fix. It's a bit awkward when I sit down around my thighs. Regardless I would still recommend these to anyone looking for a basic high waist short

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anna


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 121 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Love these but sizes are strange
June 16, 2014
I finally bought these and I love them. Unfortunately, I had to exchange them in store after ordering one online and it was a bit too tight on the waist. I normally wear size 27 in jeans for AA, but these shorts and the pencil jeans, I had to size up. First size 27 I ordered was a bit too tight on the waist, also a bit tight on the thighs and the inseam was so short it was showing my buttcheeks. I know this loosens up and breaks in, but even when it does, it will bother your crotch when you sit down. I know this from experience with high waist denim. I am 27 waist and 38 hips and had to try on 2 different size 27 in store until I found one that fits properly. Definitely try these on in store or exchange for a size that is comfortable for you. Otherwise, this is a great item and I love it. If you really love these, don't bother trying to find a cheap alternative elsewhere. Spend more here and get these because you will love them!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Danielle


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 148 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Interesting fit, wrong size
June 13, 2014
First of all, I decided to order these offline due to my need for summer shorts (and cute shorts to go over tights for when it's colder). I was SO excited when I ordered them and couldn't wait for them to arrive. When I first put them on I thought they seemed a tad big for the size I got (I ordered a 30, even though I'm usually a 29 or 30 in pants). I noticed a little bit later that I was actually sent a size 31 pair, but with the wrong tags. I decided to keep them because I had already worn them a few times, but even so, they do feel really comfortable, and I can actually sit in these (I'm assuming any size smaller I wouldn't be able to sit). The only thing I don't like about these due to the bigger size is that it makes my stomach area look a bit more puffy from the side view, but besides that, I love how they feel and fit.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anna


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 119 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Inseam Too Short
June 9, 2014
I normally wear size 27 in all pants in AA and these fit about right (a little snug). My main issue with these is that the inseam is really short. I know someone who wears a 31 in these and they fit her perfectly and her inseam is enough not to make her butt stick out. The inseam for the size 27 ones I got were so short, my butt cheeks were slowly falling out by the cuffs. These are made very well and will last a long time, but I have to see if I can find another size 27 and see if the inseam is a bit longer. I suggest to try these on in store if you can because they all fit differently. I highly recommend them though.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by aaron


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 108 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

idgi
May 22, 2014
these shorts are really cute but im like in between sizes with them like the 25 fits my waist but not my thighs and the 24 fits my thighs but too tight on my waist, anyways i bought them in a 24 and as i was putting them on(for the 5th time) the zipper busted when i was pulling them over my hips :(

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Blousey


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

best purchase ever
April 16, 2014
so happy I bought these shorts. they are a necessary basic & my go to item when I'm struggling with an outfit. they are true to size & not too bootylicious. would recommend to anyone looking for a great, basic pair of shorts

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Dannica


Height: 5' 2"
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

not for petites
April 14, 2014
unless you are looking for a baggy fit, i would not really recommend these style of shorts for 5'3 and under girls. They are uncomfortable around the crotch area as the are to big and don't do much for flattery on your behind. Yes the shorts are very well made and comfortable around the waist i just wouldn't go and splash out on these again due to the sizing difficulties with petites.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ashley


Height: 5' 10"
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Great Shorts, But Try Before You Buy
April 12, 2014
After buying the stone wash high waist denim shorts I knew that I wanted to get them in this medium wash. But when I tried on the same size (31) in store, they definitely felt a lot more snug than my stone wash ones. The sales assistant said that a lot of people had the same complaint. I bought them in the same size anyway, knowing that they would stretch out anyway and I'm glad I did because they fit really nicely after you wear them and walk around a bit and everything. But if you're even a little bit hesitant about the fit, try them on first because you might feel better sizing up instead.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by tash


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Perfect shorts perfect fit
April 3, 2014
I hover between a size AUS 8 and 10 and am 5'3 (but have a smaller waist than my hips and thighs). I ordered the size 27 online without trying them on first and they were perfect! The waist sits perfectly and the leg openings have room to spare even though they are the largest bit of my body. You do have to kind of jump around a bit to get them over the butt area but once they're up they sit and fit perfectly. Great quality, would recommend to anyone

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Mecca


Height: 6' 0"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great High-Waisted Shorts
April 2, 2014
They're very short on me, but flattering. I got the 31 because I have a big butt and it's bigger around the waist, so it rides up some. Not too uncomfortable or annoying, though.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tayla


Height: 5' 7"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Amazing
February 24, 2014
I was honestly pretty skeptical about ordering from american apparel especially since I don't have that much money money.. but let me tell you these shorts are well worth the price, they fit perfectly. The leave space for being comfortable while being fashionable . The perfect summer shorts!

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Emma


Fits? --
Recommend? --

January 25, 2014
I've wanted these for a while now and I'm going to buy them but I'm not sure if I should get a 26 or 27 :( I'm 5'5" and weigh like 115/116 but I usually get a 28 or 5 or 6 in low rise jeans and 3/4 and 26 in high rise but I'm afraid 26 here will be to tight but I have 27's from forever 21 that are big at the waist please help

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by freya


Weight: 119 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

perfect
December 16, 2013
after having my eye on these shorts for ages i finally decided to buy them and they are so worth the $$$$$$$ they fit really well and are really good quality. I am a very happy customer! they do NOT show as much booty as in the photos, but still really great and very flattering fit as they are super high waisted and fit so nicely I got a size 27 and it fits me very well just look at the measurements before ordering I'm really happy i got these because they will go with so many different crop tops and perfect for summer :) :) THANK YOU AMERICAN APPAREL

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by loveee


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

great shorts but run small
August 22, 2013
i got these shorts the other day. im usually a size 25 or 26, but the 27s fit great for me. Super cute and well made, wanna get some prints!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kayli


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 135 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Best high waisted shorts out there
August 18, 2013
I bought these shorts at the American Apparel in New York over a year ago and still wear them faithfully. They'll last a lifetime and are made with quality denim. These shorts are probably AA's most popular item.

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by anna


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 93 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

great buy!
August 18, 2013
i've had my eye on these for the longest time and have wondered if they're worth the money! it's an absolute yes if you're wondering the same thing! they are very well made and are high quality denim. i just got them and their a bit stiff but they'll soften up and hopefully shrink a little in the wash, as cotton does that. they are already laundered to reduce the shrinkage, if that helps any, but i am really small so i will probably hope they shrink a smidge in the wash. the color is really nice, and i hope AA makes one in between this medium wash and the dark wash as an in between. great buy that will last for years!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


64  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4