RSACT402

Winter Jacket

Based on 46 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

2
4
0
Small
True Size
Big

46 Reviews


by Joseph
December 14, 2013

Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 180 lbs

Warm enough for Chicago winters

Caveat: After using a Groupon at the downtown LA store where this specific piece was crazy marked down, I essentially only paid about $35 for the jacket This winter I got on a jacket kick. I was determined to buy something fashionable and just a bit out of the ordinary. Despite the warmth and quality, I didn't want a black North Face jacket like so many people on Chicago trains wear every day, and for roughly the same reason I didn't want a peacoat or car coat. I wanted something a bit more grown-up than a high-tech snowboard jacket, but I needed something warm enough to handle sub-zero Chicago winters. I looked at the AmerApar winter jacket a bunch and read reviews, but I wasn't convinced. I got it for the ridiculously low price described above when I was visiting LA. I used to work at American Apparel and got everything for half off back then, so it pains me to pay full price for stuff. Despite the fact that this jacket lists for half the price of comparable stuff I was looking at, $160ish just seemed super steep for any American Apparel anything. I'm glad I bought it. It was definitely warm enough for the 0 deg fahrenheit day we had this week, granted I had a sherpa-lined hoodie on underneath it. The pockets aren't lined. That's kind of a bummer if you aren't wearing gloves. Also: the zipper sucks. This might be why the jacket was radically discounted at the factory store, but other jackets I tried on at full price AA stores had equally sucky zippers. You have to really make sure to force the male side of the zipper through both female sleeves of the zipper pull, and even after careful forcing it still takes 5-6 tries. Wish it was YKK. Usually I just button up the jacket, and unless there's crazy wind, it's still warm enough.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Craig
August 10, 2013

Height: 5' 11"

£140 coat: Odd sizing, terrible zip and 2 buttons left…

After having my eye on it for a while but not having a good enough reason to buy it (until my coat got stolen) I tried a few sizes on and ended up buying the Medium as the arms on the smaller sizes were so short. This is a bit ridiculous because I own a couple of AA Chambray shirts in XS which fit perfectly. The first thing I noticed after buying the coat was how fiddly the zip is, which was really frustrating to use when you wanted to get the coat on in a hurry. The other thing I noticed quite soon after was the odd positioning of the pockets which are on the sides of the coat and I feel should be more forward. Within a few weeks a button popped off and after a year only two remain. Double, triple, quadruple stitch those, please AA!! That said it keeps you warm which is great but is the least I expect form a winter coat. Typically for American Apparel, I think this coat looks great, is overpriced and is prone to falling apart.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Tom
May 9, 2013

Great

This is the best AA product I own. However it fits small as I have an XS/XXS but am usually a medium. Well made and durable for the winter. Warmer than it looks.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Marcus
November 8, 2012

Crap.

Very thick and would be great against the cold IF the goddam zipper didn't break so easily; mine broke after first use. For so much money you'd think they'd look at making something functional. Furious. To those who have yet to buy a Winter coat, look elsewhere.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Charlie
October 14, 2012

An excellent-looking jacket and it kept me very warm through the English winter, definitely recommended by me. However, be prepared to re-attach the buttons and struggle with the very awkward zip. I also found that after getting rained on, the fleece lining became matted and dyed slightly blue - from either from my sweater or the jacket itself - where the pockets are.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Justin
March 15, 2012

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 155 lbs

Great Jacket!

The jacket's style, fit, and colour (Khaki), are all very appealing. It's functionality is top-notch and keeps the wearer well "insulated" up to (as far as I know) 35 degrees Fahrenheit. Supporting American industry just got comfortable.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Alex M
February 2, 2011

I am 6 feet tall, and weigh 175-180 lbs. I got a S/M size, it fits me well; however, I am a lanky+ectomorphic person. Plus I got the coat at a thrift store for $40 in trade for old clothes, so how could I complain????

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tony
January 22, 2011

Coat looks great, but it's not really warm for Midwest winters (Ohio). The zipper broke six months after I purchased it which is outrageous considering it's price. If you want a jacket that looks good I would suggest it, however it's not very warm and is constructed poorly.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Zippy-O
January 15, 2011

I just came from a AA store where I tried on the RSACT402 Winter Jacket (Its January 2011). Did not purchase because no size worked for me. I am 58 and 155 lbs. Coat marked M was too tight all around. Coat marked L was far too big. Too bad. I really liked the look, esp. the lieutenant color. I also found the lining left white & grey fur on my black fleece vest, and I had trouble with a zipper. I would have overlooked these flaws and bought the coat, if there were only a size that fit me.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jonathan Charles
December 13, 2010

First, very few products get a five-star rating from me. Four stars is not bad at all. I've had this coat for probably a couple of weeks now. I materials are sold - inside and out - and most definitely keep you warm, which is especially helpful considering the shed-load of snow that hit me a week ago. Also, you can adjust the coat to fit your build. Mine was loose and first, but I quickly tightened it and it looks great now. I'm 6'1, and chose medium which fits perfectly. I was worried about the sizes at first as it was one of my first purchase from AA, but I love it. Definitely recommend this coat!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sam
December 8, 2010

This is an good jacket. It is very warm but i live in Los Angeles where it doesn't too cold(40 degrees at its worst). it is very well made. It does leave lent on your clothes for the first few times. The buttons on the Midnight Navy are not a solid color but are the same color as the buttons on the "Lieutenant" color. Another thing is that the color of the jacket is very dark, almost black. The fit of the jacket may be a problem if your short (I am 6 3 and 145 lb.)The sleeves are long (i bought the large size). Most other jackets out there don't make sleeves long enough for me but these fit great. The sleeves for me are a little to wide but i am very skinny. the torso is good because it has draw strings so it is wide at first but can be adjusted to fit well. Overall this is a great jacket and i used a coupon code which save me 41 dollars. A great buy

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Brandon
November 26, 2010

Unless you have a long torso and wide arms you will need to get this tailored a bit. I got the sleeves narrowed which is nice, but still need to get it shortened a bit, by an inch or so.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nate
October 8, 2010

This jacket is warm, looks great and is really well constructed. As other reviews have said, the S/M size is a little big in the length and sleeves, and i would imagine that the XXS/XS would be too small. Anyways, still a great coat for the winter. Also I should mention that I got the black jacket and it has beige buttons, not black like in the pictures shown online.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

Reply by
bobcats14
August 22, 2012

The black jacket does have beige buttons on the online picture


by sb
September 28, 2010

Im 5,7 and pretty thin. So, should i choose S/M or XXS/XS?

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sam
September 1, 2010

Looks very nice, and the garment is fantastic. But after a few weeks only, some of the buttons came off and now, about half a year later the zipper is broken. Very annoying and a big booh! for AA's build quality once again.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Matt
June 1, 2010

Awesome looking jacket. Mine came faulty, so had to return, but AA make that really easy. Annoying though that the fur leaves white stuff all over the shirt Im wearing underneath. AA should def be making more environmentally sustainable clothes to match their socially sustainable image, by ditching synthetic materials.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jacob
May 28, 2010

I've wanted this jacket for a long time, it seemed too expensive. However, i decided to buy it with the promo discount. After ordering a s/m and much worrying about size (especially the reviews saying the sleeves are too long), it finally came and the sleeves are perfect, and the quality is excellent, much better than I remembered seeing in store. 5'11" 150, s/m is perfect

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Justin
May 4, 2010

Just an update on this jacket I received on April 25. If you're looking for something like this for winter i recommend it. I just got back from the tailor and had the sleaves shortened and narrowed. Now it's officially perfect. Just get the size that you think fits best (too big is probably better than too small) and then if it isn't fitting right just take it to the tailor and get it shortened.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Zachary
April 25, 2010

Ordered this jacket in Navy XSS/XS on a Wednesday, and it was delivered here in New Zealand on the following Monday which is pretty freakin' amazing! Having read the other reviews for this jacket regarding the dodgy sizing, I took a gamble on buying this jacket. I'm optimistically about 5"5 and weigh 70kg. The jacket has a length of 80cm (one cm more and it would be a dress). The other people here must have arms like Mike Tyson because i'm not a skinny guy and the sleeves are borderline too big. I was pleasantly surpised with the quality of the jacket. You do get the quality you pay for! And it is very comfy. I just wish there was a drawstring right at the bottom. Overall i'm surprised to be happy with the jacket!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Philip
January 10, 2010

The jacket looks awesome and very warm. But the sizing is weird. I'm 5'6" 150lbs and the s/m was too big, the sleeves were too long and it was a too baggy. The fit in the chest/waist was perfect in the XXS/XS the sleeves were way too tight. Why AA would not make a size between the XXS/XS and S/M makes no sense to me...

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

46  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3