Lightweight Stretch Twill High-Waist Pencil Skirt

rsacs302g
42 Reviews
100% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by mai


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

February 4, 2014
Even though I marked this skirt at 'true size', I bought an XS and found that as its name implies, it is quite stretchy. So, if you're between sizes, I'd go for the smaller one. Overall I really like this skirt, although it picks up A LOT of bits really easily, but with the colour (black) and the fabric, that can't really be helped.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by mai


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

February 4, 2014
Even though I marked this skirt at 'true size', I bought an XS and found that as its name implies, it is quite stretchy. So, if you're between sizes, I'd go for the smaller one. Overall I really like this skirt, although it picks up A LOT of bits really easily, but with the colour (black) and the fabric, that can't really be helped.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by mai


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 118 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

February 4, 2014
Even though I marked this skirt at 'true size', I bought an XS and found that as its name implies, it is quite stretchy. So, if you're between sizes, I'd go for the smaller one. Overall I really like this skirt, although it picks up A LOT of bits really easily, but with the colour (black) and the fabric, that can't really be helped.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Margaret


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 137 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Okay, just a bit pinchy!
January 8, 2014
I bought these (stupidly after Christmas, have yet to lose the turkey pounds...) I haven't put a lot of weight on, I'm still a size 10, but the medium just felt a little bit pinchy. After a couple of minutes the denim stretched, but the end of the skirt is narrow, it's almost hard to walk in!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by lucy


Height: 4' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

more colors please!
February 24, 2012
love this skirt. It's definitely stretchier than the denim one, but i bought XS and haven't found that the stretch overextends and stopps hugging in the same way that the denim skirt does after a day's wear. wish it came in more colors.. particularly navy (fingers crossed!)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anonymous


Age: 24
Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

seriously?!
November 22, 2011
I just got this in the mail and it's crap. The stitching was crooked, the material was... velvety? Odd, because I've owned this skirt several times (two black ones and one white one, over the past few years!) and it always felt like denim-ish... This one was an odd size too, slightly bigger than the M's I usually fit into snugly. It gaps in the back, I'm hoping to shrink it. Anyway, I'm too lazy to send it back, but I'm very surprised and disappointed. I'm not sure why the one I got was so weird. Because I loved this in the past, I'll give it three stars. Blech!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


Reply by
lucy
February 24, 2012

re: your earlier skirts - are you sure you weren't thinking of the bull denim version of this skirt?


by Anonymous


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 25, 2011
I have this in Creme & Black, both a sz Small. I'm a sz 2/26 (I have a curvy rear & thighs & a tiny waist). The Creme one definitely runs smaller than the Black one & I definitely could have sized up to a Medium in the Creme, because it's a bit too tight in the ass (and it does not stretch out). Creme sz small waist measurement across(with front & back waistbands aligned) is 13" & hip across (taken at the base of the zipper) is 16.2". Black sz small waist across is 13.5" & hip across is 17".

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Harley


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 22, 2011
I'm normal a US 4-6. I bought a size small and in the store it fit quite snug, however this skirt does stretch A LOT! Even after 1-2 wears. It's now quite lose on me. Even though it might fit quite tight when trying it on for the first time i suggest buying your true size and not a size up. You could probably even go a size down. The material is super super stretchy, if you want it to keep fitting snug buy it smaller or true to size! I'm only giving it 3 ratings because even though it looks fabulous at first, after it stretches it doesn't fit that great. I also suggest buying the bull denim version of this! It's less stretchy! (btw usually shrinks back to normal after wash)

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Morgane


Fits? --
Recommend? --

June 3, 2011
This skirt is fabulous, I got it in black and it hugs all the right places, that's how every pencil skirt should be! I don't get why people complain about it being small, I'm usually wearing M-L in AA sizes depending on wether it's unisex or not, and this skirt, in L is perfect. It is stetchy, i thinks it covers many sizes. I rated 4 stars because the part that covers the zipper doesn't really stay in place at the top, like you can see on some of the pictures, however that's a really minor problem.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ivy


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 8, 2011
Great skirt! 5/5 Can you pleae make this in corduroy.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tara


Fits? --
Recommend? --

April 5, 2011
Wish I had listened to the reviewers... I'm 5'8" and usually wear a size 6. I ordered the large though a medium in skirts usually works for me as I have smaller hips and butt, but this skirt was TINY, even in it's large size. I guess if I had a smaller waist it could've worked, but I've never tried anything on that fit me so poorly. This one's going back.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anonymous


Fits? --
Recommend? --

December 24, 2010
I bought this a while back in Creme. I love it! I wear it all the time. You can dress it up or down. I'm 5'4, 135 pounds, and I bought the Large because the Medium in the store was sort of snug, but they do stretch when you wear them. Regreting buying the Large, but still love it.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by aalover


Fits? --
Recommend? --

November 25, 2010
i went to try it on in the store today and the fit is very nice! I'm 5'6 and weight 125, my measurements are 33-26-37 so i have quite large hips compared to the rest of my body and a smaller waist. i tried on the small and it was quite snug around the hips but there was a gap in the back, so i tried on the XS and it fit perfectly on the waist but tighter on the hips. i have a pair of shorts from AA with the same exact fabric blend (98% cotton 2% elastane) and it does stretch out alittle (not too much) but as you move it gives and becomes quite comfy. However, after you wash it it goes right back to how it was before. If you are anxious about what size to get i suggest sizing up, however keep in mind that it does stretch and give. this product would be great in a blue.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by stephanie


Fits? --
Recommend? --

September 2, 2010
I think the Creme model is wearing the lightweight sheer rib raglan pullover, i have the same one it's pretty nice but it is sheer, thin material! and this skirt is adorable, but i think i'll have to try it on in stores to make sure it doesnt make me look shorter than i already am (5'2")!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Megan


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 26, 2010
Does anyone know what sweater the model of the creme skirt is wearing?

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alison


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 14, 2010
I absolutely love this skirt! I have it in black and I wear it all the time. I would size up if you don't like looking like your squeezed into a sausage casing. Does stretch a bit after a few wears, but it fits like a glove again after you wash it. Bought it in creme but returning it because its completely see through... not work appropriate.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Stacy


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 13, 2010
Just ordered this skirt online in a size L and it is so small. I am 5'11" and weigh 160 lbs and normally wear a medium or 8/10 in most stores. This skirt is so little I can barely get it over my hips, and can't zip it. I am not tiny by any means but this large fits like a small. Most of the reviews are from people who are really tiny and now I know why. I love love love american apparel but this skirt is not for the average size woman. oh well, moving on.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Lobke


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 22, 2010
I have this one in black and I loooooove it! I wear it constantly and it really looks great. I'm about 1m60 and I weigh 52kgs and I got the M, perfect size. I was just looking for other colors but it seams you can't order it now... :-(

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Madeline


Fits? --
Recommend? --

June 10, 2010
I just got the skirt in deep pink in the mail today and I love it! I am about 5'7, weigh almost 120 lbs and usually I wear extra small/small skirts(depending on the store) so I ordered a small. Although it is skin tight around my hips, I feel if I ordered a medium it would be way to large in the waist for me. This is my first AA purchase and I am very pleased. I might even buy this in black if it doesn't sell out before my next pay check :)

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jacqueline


Fits? --
Recommend? --

May 25, 2010
I'm 170cm / 50kg (5'7" / 110lb) and ordered S in Jet Black. I love this skirt, great length and shape. However, I ordered a size up as everyone had suggested, but I found it to be slightly loose fitting on me (especially around the waist) - still wearable, but I would've ordered size XS if I had known.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


42  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3