RSACP365

Tie Back Dress

Based on 27 Ratings

93%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

8
19
0
Small
True Size
Big

27 Reviews


by Becks
August 15, 2014

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 105 lbs

Great Staple Dress

I have to disagree with previous reviews and state that I think this dress fits true to size. I originally picked up a small thinking that I could just tighten the back, but I found that the fabric ended up bunching. I should have gone with an XS. Regardless, it's still a fantastic dress...very well made.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nat
June 21, 2014

Height: 5' 6"

too small

Dress runs super small, thought that the tie back might help it be looser and fit correctly but sadly I was wrong :-( wish they made this in larger sizes!!!! or a least in a stretchy material

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Tina
May 29, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs

I bought this dress in pinpoint blue, size M. The fabric is light and mildly textured. I'm a 32B/C, waist 27/28 inches, with an athletic body type and the M fits perfectly; I can wear this dress without a bra or pasties because it's tight/adjustable enough and there are several layers of fabric in the bodice. One of my favorite AA purchases right here.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jill
May 29, 2014

Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 92 lbs

Super tight on my chest

I really like the way the dress looks, but it is so unbelievably tight on my upper body and chest. I am short so I couldn't go past a size small in order to make it comfortable without it being too long. If you have a smaller upper body I would recommend this, but not for larger-chested girls :(

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Caroline Egan
May 28, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs

in LOVE

This dress is amazing!! I purchased a Medium white one and it fits pretty well. The top of it is a bit tight but wear it without a bra and adjust the back and it fits perfect! The bottom section of it is a wee bit see through but nothing to worry about with beige underwear/spanks underneath them. This dress is worth every penny spent

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anne
May 5, 2014

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 125 lbs

Lovely but hard to get in

I fell in love with this dress online and finally had a change to go to an AA store. I had never been in one so I am not sure what size I have but I found that a medium fits me perfectly. It's a bit hard to get on and had to ask my boyfriend to tie me up but it looks so amazing! I got the one in white and it's a bit see through at the lower part but not around the boobies so it's save to wear without a bra. Really in love with this dress and can't wait for summer!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Elicia
April 28, 2014

Height: 5' 7"

essential and flawless

I am in the process of having this dress shipped to me, and I am super excited because I already own this dress in blue but it is SO FLATTERING and SO COMFORTABLE that I had to go ahead and order it in black for more frequent wear. I also totally recommend this dress if you are on the market to attract men, women, aliens... this dress is perfect.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Irina
April 23, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs

Seductive

As one of my first purchases from AA online, I was very pleased with this dress. The material is sturdy and is heavy enough so that smaller chested girls (I'm a 34B) can get away without wearing a bra. The M fit perfectly for me, and the laces in the back help adjust sizing as needed. The dress is short, but not ridiculously so, and I was looking for a dress with a lace-up style back just like this one - its flirty, cute, and good for an expected breezy NorCal summer!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sam
March 27, 2014

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 91 lbs

:)

a hassle to put on because of all the strings, but once its on, its super cute and casual

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashleigh B
February 21, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 110 lbs

Love this dress!

This was the first thing I had ever gotten from American Apparel and when I first received this I became a loyal customer. I love this dress so much I am 110 lbs, 5'6 and this dress fits me perfectly in the xs. Honestly all of AA clothes make me look like a model :) this is no exception, very beautiful piece.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Maria
February 13, 2014

Size UP

This is one of my favorite dresses I've ever gotten at AA- unfortunately it took size L and one of the sales associates basically training me on how to get in and out of it for the actual purchase to happen. I don't get why this happens with AA sometimes but every once in a while a really great item will just be sized completely wrong. Anyway- I still would recommend it to anyone, even through all the sizing nonsense!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kayla B.
December 13, 2013

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 150 lbs

Adorable but small

Ok so a few us can face the facts the AA runs small. I Love their clothing and taste however for a taller girl who is slim but not at all skinny it is hard to fit. I tried on a large , it was tight but not do-able. I managed to zip it up and it was incredibly flattering and flirty. I LOVE IT! I wish I didn't feel as though I had to be careful not to burst out of it, however I couldn't resist. Try it on!!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by ArianaG
October 7, 2013

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 120 lbs

Music Video Dress!

This is an awesome dress, used it for two of my Music videos! the White one for Almost is never Enough, the black one for The Way. Love this dress!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

16 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lauren M
August 24, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 120 lbs

So beautiful, just can't get my head in.

I first saw this online and fell in love instantly but was unsure on the sizes. I took a trip to the store to give the size small a try on as most of my measurements match up perfectly with those provided but soon after I got into the change room I realized that I could hardly squeeze the dress over my head. Determined to get it on I walked out of the change room half naked and asked one of the lovely ladies working in the store to attempt to help me. After unlacing the whole dress I finally managed to get in on and it fit like a glove! My bust is a 32B and waist measures 25 inches and found that I was able to fill out the dress just fine. Tightening up the lace in the back really does make all the difference. Would totally recommend this dress, just have someone around to help you get it on !

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lyrebird
August 10, 2013

Height: 5' 7"

I just received this dress in the mail today. It wasn't exactly what I was expecting, but I do still like it. Like other reviews have stated, this dress is hard to get on and off. The neckline is much lower than I thought it would be, and the chest area is actually a bit loose on me. The material is quite nice and I love the style, but the fit of the dress is sort of strange.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Katie
August 7, 2013

AWESOME

Great dress,i just wish it came it black! That would be PERFECT!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Elizabeth
July 26, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 100 lbs

I love this dress but it is quite hard to get in to.I ordered a small since I am fairly skinny,but I have a sort of big waist and that was the problem.The zipper does not go all the way up so that did not really help the problem,but the good part is that the straps are adjustable.It is good material and worth the price but it is better to try it on in store.I am still content with the dress and it feels good when it is already put on,the only difficult part is trying to get into it.Also,this dress tends to work better without a bra!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Olivia
July 23, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 130 lbs

Good in theory

So I had hoped that this dress would fit me since this style is becoming popular. Unfortunately it didn't seem to work for me. First of all, this dress is such a hassle to get in to. It has a zipper on the side, but it doesn't go all the way to the top so you have to loosen the back ties a lot in order to get in to it. I'm a 34DD so I feel like I might have had more trouble than the average person with getting this dress on. Since the zipper doesn't go all the way up, there is a tight part at the top of the dress even when the zipper is down, which made it very difficult for me to get my boobs in. I was actually afraid that I was going to have to be cut out of this dress once I had it on. Even without a bra it still wasn't that great. It would have been like trying to wear an unsupportive demi bra out in public.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? No

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by michelle
July 13, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 111 lbs

gorgeous

I got this in white, size small (i'm usually an AU8) and it fits great. it is just a little loose on the bust (i'm 32b) but the adjustable lacing means this isn't a big deal, it's well constructed and thick enough to wear without a bra. the shape of the bodice is quite flattering too, it's my new favorite summer dress!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tiffany
July 7, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 115 lbs

the perfect summer dress.

I had been eyeing this dress since AA first released it. I was so excited once I finally received it. I ordered a small and it really fits like a glove. It isn't too loose nor too tight. I can comfortably go braless in this as well (32A), which is a major factor for me. It's easily become my favorite dress in my closet. Don't hesitate if you're thinking of buying it. I'm already contemplating on getting one of the striped versions.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

27  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2