Tie Back Dress

rsacp365
35 Reviews
95% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Elisabet


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Stunning, but runs small
November 19, 2015
First of all, this dress is amazing. Like totally, totally amazing. I've got it in three colours (light blue, white/blue stripes and white) and it's the type of dress that just elevates your life. It fits like a dream and it is just the epitome of youthfulness. However, it runs small. Am usually a size XS (110 lbs, 5'3, 32A) but went for a small in this case. Small fits lovely though, and I'm completely and utterly in LOVE with this dress. Thanks AA!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alexandra Babich


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 116 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Super small...
September 22, 2015
I got a size S and I couldn't get it on without tearing the part that holds the dress together above the zipper. I'm not sure why they didn't make the zipper go all the way up. I'll have to sew a button on that part. The dress is super tight in the chest and I have small boobs man... 30D... I am losing weight and want to get to 106 lb so I really hope it will fit better then. Because if not I will be mad!! >_<

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by DanceGirl21


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 100 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great summer dress
September 1, 2015
I got this in white and am quite pleased with its quality. It's a tiny bit see-through, so don't wear overly colorful or black lingerie. The strings are a bit messy to get on and take off, but once it's on it's gorgeous. The fabric is 100% cotton, so it's really breathable for hot days. However, this has no stretch, so get your normal size or even one up if you want a looser fit. For reference I found the S to fit comfortably with a bit of give (nothing the strings can't fix) and my measurements are 33-25-35.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jess


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great
July 17, 2015
I don't know why people are saying this runs small - I'd say it runs pretty TTS, maybe even a bit large in the bust, actually. There is some adjustability in the back, which is nice, since the fabric doesn't have much stretch. I ended up with the small. I tried on a medium (my normal AA size) and a small, and both fit, though the small fit much better in the bust and was shorter and less poofy in the skirt. The one downside to this dress is that it's a little hard to wriggle out of, but what is fashion without suffering? My measurements are 34-26-40.

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Leilani


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

March 5, 2015
Bring back this dress in rayon!!

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anne


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 95 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Adorable dress!
December 5, 2014
I had the hardest time figuring out if I needed an XS or S for this dress. Luckily, I got the S. I am petite (5'2, 95lbs) with 32a bra size so I usually go for the smallest size. However, this size is great because of the tie-back. Because you can tighten the back, this dress can hug your body while still allowing you to breathe. I'm not sure how the XS would fit, but it might have been just a little more tight than what I would have wanted. With the S, I get the same look but I can customize how tight I want the dress to be. Great length too...it hits middle of my thighs! If you're debating, I would get the bigger size and just tighten it with the back.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Liz


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

The Perfect Dress
December 5, 2014
Had to go a size bigger than usual, but size is JUST A NUMBER. I love this dress. Every time I wear it out, I get compliments. One lady saw me on the street and stopped me to tell me I looked like a princess...haha. The perfect summer dress!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Becks


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 105 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great Staple Dress
August 15, 2014
I have to disagree with previous reviews and state that I think this dress fits true to size. I originally picked up a small thinking that I could just tighten the back, but I found that the fabric ended up bunching. I should have gone with an XS. Regardless, it's still a fantastic dress...very well made.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Nat


Height: 5' 6"
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

too small
June 21, 2014
Dress runs super small, thought that the tie back might help it be looser and fit correctly but sadly I was wrong :-( wish they made this in larger sizes!!!! or a least in a stretchy material

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tina


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

May 29, 2014
I bought this dress in pinpoint blue, size M. The fabric is light and mildly textured. I'm a 32B/C, waist 27/28 inches, with an athletic body type and the M fits perfectly; I can wear this dress without a bra or pasties because it's tight/adjustable enough and there are several layers of fabric in the bodice. One of my favorite AA purchases right here.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jill


Height: 4' 11"
Weight: 92 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Super tight on my chest
May 29, 2014
I really like the way the dress looks, but it is so unbelievably tight on my upper body and chest. I am short so I couldn't go past a size small in order to make it comfortable without it being too long. If you have a smaller upper body I would recommend this, but not for larger-chested girls :(

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Caroline Egan


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

in LOVE
May 28, 2014
This dress is amazing!! I purchased a Medium white one and it fits pretty well. The top of it is a bit tight but wear it without a bra and adjust the back and it fits perfect! The bottom section of it is a wee bit see through but nothing to worry about with beige underwear/spanks underneath them. This dress is worth every penny spent

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anne


Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Lovely but hard to get in
May 5, 2014
I fell in love with this dress online and finally had a change to go to an AA store. I had never been in one so I am not sure what size I have but I found that a medium fits me perfectly. It's a bit hard to get on and had to ask my boyfriend to tie me up but it looks so amazing! I got the one in white and it's a bit see through at the lower part but not around the boobies so it's save to wear without a bra. Really in love with this dress and can't wait for summer!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Elicia


Height: 5' 7"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

essential and flawless
April 28, 2014
I am in the process of having this dress shipped to me, and I am super excited because I already own this dress in blue but it is SO FLATTERING and SO COMFORTABLE that I had to go ahead and order it in black for more frequent wear. I also totally recommend this dress if you are on the market to attract men, women, aliens... this dress is perfect.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Irina


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 130 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Seductive
April 23, 2014
As one of my first purchases from AA online, I was very pleased with this dress. The material is sturdy and is heavy enough so that smaller chested girls (I'm a 34B) can get away without wearing a bra. The M fit perfectly for me, and the laces in the back help adjust sizing as needed. The dress is short, but not ridiculously so, and I was looking for a dress with a lace-up style back just like this one - its flirty, cute, and good for an expected breezy NorCal summer!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by sam


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 91 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

:)
March 27, 2014
a hassle to put on because of all the strings, but once its on, its super cute and casual

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ashleigh B


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Love this dress!
February 21, 2014
This was the first thing I had ever gotten from American Apparel and when I first received this I became a loyal customer. I love this dress so much I am 110 lbs, 5'6 and this dress fits me perfectly in the xs. Honestly all of AA clothes make me look like a model :) this is no exception, very beautiful piece.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Maria


Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Size UP
February 13, 2014
This is one of my favorite dresses I've ever gotten at AA- unfortunately it took size L and one of the sales associates basically training me on how to get in and out of it for the actual purchase to happen. I don't get why this happens with AA sometimes but every once in a while a really great item will just be sized completely wrong. Anyway- I still would recommend it to anyone, even through all the sizing nonsense!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kayla B.


Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Adorable but small
December 13, 2013
Ok so a few us can face the facts the AA runs small. I Love their clothing and taste however for a taller girl who is slim but not at all skinny it is hard to fit. I tried on a large , it was tight but not do-able. I managed to zip it up and it was incredibly flattering and flirty. I LOVE IT! I wish I didn't feel as though I had to be careful not to burst out of it, however I couldn't resist. Try it on!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by ArianaG


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 120 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Music Video Dress!
October 7, 2013
This is an awesome dress, used it for two of my Music videos! the White one for Almost is never Enough, the black one for The Way. Love this dress!

21 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


35  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2