RSA8306

Cotton Spandex Jersey Long Sleeve Turtleneck

Based on 14 Ratings

93%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

9
5
0
Small
True Size
Big

14 Reviews


by Katie Cook
July 15, 2014

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 175 lbs

An Exact Fit

I am normally a 12 and wear xl in most american apparel items. I was nervous by reading the reviews that tell you to size up one, even two sizes. When I got it in the mail it fit snug, for sure, but it wasn't as short as a crop top as some other reviews suggest. It naturally fell where your pants would probably begin. If you don't want it skin tight, than size up, but I personally like the look of it; the fit looks the same as it does on the model.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Emmy
June 22, 2014

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 160 lbs

My bra size is 36D, and this shirt definitely proved that. I ordered an XL in Navy, and it fit me pretty snug. It wasn't air constricting - but if I raised my arms, it'd show my tummy. Besides that, this shirt is now a new favorite of mine! It looks adorable with high-waisted shorts/skirts/pants.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tess
January 9, 2014

i really just want the truffle in a sz xl

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Amber
December 26, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 103 lbs

soooo smaaaall

I'm usually an xs in things, but this I had to size up to medium, and next I think I'm gonna try large. I started with xs, it was like spandex, way way too tight and short like a crop. Then I went up to small, a little better but still uncomfortably taught to my skin like I'm wearing a shirt made of rubber bands. Next medium, and it's okay. But I still have to tug on it all day at work to keep it from rising up too high. I like things tight, most of my clothes are pretty form fitting - I'm not uncomfortable in tightly fitting, body hugging things. But this one's way too much. That said, it's a nice shirt. Get it in your normal size, and it makes a nice crop top. Get it two or three sizes larger if you want a normal turtle neck and/or want to wear it to work.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Maria
November 26, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 110 lbs

Help??

Does this top shrink after the first wash? Does it stretch out instead? I got a S, and didn't dry it after the wash and it actually stretch out... Yet it was so perfect before! ): If I dry it properly next time, does anyone think it will come back to its original shape?

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jill
November 14, 2013

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 154 lbs

Bought the Black in a Large because the reviews said to size up, probably going to size up again to the XL next time. Neck hole doesn't have much give to get your head through (must have looked like a difficult birth) and the torso part comes up a bit short but I wear mine with super high-waisted jeans anyway so it's not too much of a problem. Other than that, great material, great look, 100% gonna buy another.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Juniper
November 11, 2013

Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 150 lbs

Nice shirt but a bit short

Just wanted to reiterate what other reviewers have said, order a size up! I'm normally a solid medium, but the large here fit quite snug. The biggest problem is that this is shirt is SHORT. Be prepared to wear with very high waisted bottoms unless you want your belly peeking out every time you pick something up.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by emily
October 28, 2013

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 130 lbs

tiiiiny

other reviewers were right -- this is way small. i'm a S/XS in AA pants & skirts, 32c, and in other brands i'll order a small or medium for shirts & blouses. usually i only choose medium if it's a real tight shirt bc i prefer a looser cut. in this turtleneck, i could not wear anything smaller than a L. the neck is pretty tight & high, and the shirt fits but fits very slim. i bought it in black to wear w black skirts to work, but i think in a lighter color it wouldn't be appropriate bc you'd be able to see how small it is. not kidding on this one -- order up 2 sizes.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Juniper
August 23, 2013

Weight: 143 lbs

Nice Shirt

This shirt is very cute! The color, fit and consistency of the fabric are pretty much as pictured which is always nice. The only (small) problem is the shirt is pretty short, so you will want to size up. I'm taking a star off for price, but other than that it is a wonderful shirt, very comfy and it looks great.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kelli
December 16, 2012

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 118 lbs

Order a size (or two) up!

I wear a size small to medium in normal clothing (118 lbs, 5'6" - small frame with curves), medium in AA clothing, and a large in this specific shirt. Two factors made it necessary for me to size up, one being the length - this shirt is short!, and second was how snug it is in the chest. Taking note of the fit and need to size up, I love how the size large looks on me...and I've NEVER said that before! Will order more in different colors. It's super cozy and easy to dress up.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Isabella Wilklow
November 3, 2012

This is such a nice turtleneck, BUT I am usually a small or medium and I could barely fit the large on. Other than that it is really warm and comfortable.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jennifer
September 12, 2012

Height: 5' 7"

Fabulous!

Just received this top in nude, Its been my first ever purchase from american apparel. i read the other reviews that said size up, im a 36F chest & have long arms normally im a 12-14UK but i bought the XL as a size up & if it doesnt fit ill send it back for a large. However i tried it on as soon as it came and it fits perfectly on the arms & its gorgeous thick soft material thats warm and tight fitting, i can tell this will last a long time, its very sexy but sophisticated, covers all your top half yet shows a little bit of waist, waiting on my black one & going to purchase the white one!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
October 26, 2011

Age: 24

Size up!

I really love this turtleeck, but you definitely have to size up. I normally wear and XS or S in AA shirts, but I had to get the large in this and it is perfect! I want all the colors!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
October 18, 2011

Age: 22
Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 135 lbs

short!

what a shame. this thing is just too short!! everything else about the fit is perfect (i ordered a small), but it doesnt even cover your belly button. If you want something that fits normally, just get the dress version.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? No

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

14  Total Reviews 20 per page 1