RSA4301

Baby Rib Tube Bubble Dress

Based on 194 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

0
1
0
Small
True Size
Big

194 Reviews


by Courtnee
June 13, 2013

Not Shown Here To Any Advantage

AA seems to know their products well and style their pieces in a pretty slick way, but this dress looks awful here and I almost didn't buy it for that reason. I'm glad I trusted the reviews. This is actually a chic pencil skirt and a cute mini dress or tunic. The two major problems on the model are 1) that the dress needs a belt and 2) that this needs to be worn with the small band at the top and the larger one at the bottom. I don't have to elaborate on point one as it's so obvious. Walking in this piece as a skirt turned "upside down" is so much easier and wearing it as a dress "upside down" prevents flashing your breasts at bystanders. I own this piece in olive and I've worn as a skirt with the tan AA pointelle knit tank and a cognac belt. I've also worn it as a tunic with the same belt and leggings. The first outfit surprised me; I didn't expect it to look so chic because it was so simple and easy to wear. The second outfit was super easy and comfy, but I still looked well put together. This is actually a great piece due to it's versatility and super low cost. I'm glad I bought it.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by gg
August 16, 2011

found this dress on a sample sale site and got it in 5 colors. couldn't find it on the american apparel website, so i had thought i had found a discontinued item -- glad it's back on the site now! i'm 5'1" 109 lb 32C. i probably should've gotten a small, but not all the colors i wanted were available in a small (and i figured it would shrink), so i got a medium. the bottom band does stretch out by the end of the day, but it shrinks right back after a spin in the dryer. i love this dress for the versatility. i wore it traveling recently -- it was hot when i left new jersey so i wore it as a dress, wore it as a tunic with leggings and a sweater when i got cold on the plane, and then took off the leggings and sweater right before the plane landed since it was like 100 degrees when we arrived in florence. the other 5 dresses were rolled compactly in my bag ready for the rest of our trip!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Michelle
June 5, 2011

I own this in 6 colors because I love it so much! I'm 5'10", so wearing it as a dress isn't happening (although I do wear it with leggings). My favorite way to wear this is belted with tight jeans & heels, or just real loose with shorts for daytime. It's just a great staple!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by LENA
April 16, 2011

Love this dress! Got it in small. Its a little loose. XS would be awesome!!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eva
May 12, 2010

love the bubble dress. cute with a belt + layered on top of a tank with some tights! need to get another color!!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Leah
April 25, 2010

I have the same stats as the previous reviewer, 5' 105lbs. I got this in a small and agree that an xs would have fit much better if it was available. For those of you complaining that the bottom of the dress stretches out too quickly I have a solution. I took in the bottom band using safety pins so it was extra tight, and it stretched out the perfect amount at the end of the day. My only other complaint is that the elastic on top is a bit tight and smashed my 32D boobs.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Cheryl
February 14, 2010

i am pretty petite, 5' and about 100 pounds, and i got this in a small, although if there was an xs it would have been better. i love this dress, but it tends to get a little loose on the bottom when you wear it. it looks great when you just washed it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kat
September 24, 2009

Just wanted to add that I wore this as a high-waisted skirt the next day for work. I wanted to tuck in my top, but even though it's a slim, spandexy top, it showed through the skirt oddly, so I had to wear it out. Must get a body suit for that purpose I guess.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kat
September 20, 2009

I just got this in olive from my local store. I'm 5'6", 125 pounds, 34/27/37 and the M was the way to go although the small also fit. I wore this around all day today. It's super comfortable and definitely long enough for me to wear as a dress, although I don't have a long torso. It hits me a little lower than mid-thigh. The bottom has stretched out a bit, but that's just how these dresses go. If it had more elastic, it wouldn't be very comfortable. Looking forward to wearing this over jeans as the weather gets cooler. I do wish there was a similar style with thick straps that I could wear to work. And more colors of course!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Alison
August 11, 2009

Got this in white....super comfortable. (You could easily sleep in this, and would double well as a towel). Not really digging the shape...but as a pool-cover up it works great!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mia
July 25, 2009

I'm really small, only 163cm, but I still think that this tube is too short for a dress. Still it's really comfy so I will probably buy it anyway :3 and wear it as a skirt instead. Btw, AA - make more styles in mauve plz!! (Esp. mauve cardigans!!)

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jen T.
July 22, 2009

This dress is fantastic! I bought it over a year ago in Olive, in a Medium. I'm 5'4", about 120 lbs, with 34Bs and a bit of a butt. This works great as a dress, usually with a pair of tights under it and a belt at the waist. I've also worn it as a high-waisted dress, which took me a bit to get used to but now I think it's cute (I also wear a belt then). My only complaint with it is that the bottom tends to stretch out when I wear it as a dress after an hour or two, which would be fixed if AA put some elastic in it. Girls, if you have a long torso, you should definitely try this on before you buy it! My torso is really long for my height, and I'm a little bit concerned about wearing this a dress with nothing under it. I would definitely recommend this dress, though!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kweenie
July 8, 2009

I love this dress (I'm wearing it now) its comfy and I got a large that didn't really shrink too much but by the end of the day it stretches out for me, but simple wash & dry & its fine. And my chest area doesn't feel tight at all. I can wear it for almost anything too

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by kittykate
July 1, 2009

i got this dress in the mail and when i first took this dress out of the package and held it up it looked completely shapeless. it's really not, especially with a belt! i'm very petite but i do have a big butt and the small fits perfectly. i was very pleased when i tried it on and it actually was long enough to wear as a dress! it's so comfortable and it's very flattering. the only negative thing is, the mauve is pretty much flesh colored so i would probably choose a different color next time.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by cassie
June 21, 2009

i have big boobs (36C) and this tends to slide upwards and just doesnt fit well around the bust area :<

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Taffster
June 12, 2009

I'm 5'4", 36A bust, & got this in a meddd in asphalt. First, lemme say that the material is delisciously comfy. No questions asked. I was pleasantly suprised that the medd was tight enough on me not to fall down too too much. It's a little bit long to be worn over pants that aren't, perhaps, mad tight / skinny. Leggings or tights would be a better bet. But, if you're looking for something more modest as a bare-legged dress, this is great, since it hit an inch or two above the knee. Plus, you can fold the band(s) over to shorten the length without it looking too obvious. This dress is suprisingly versatile, too. It can be worn as a dress, obviously, && in all seasons. It works especially well belted; I personally wouldn't wear it any other way. You can also fold it in half to make the PERFECT, super-simple miniskirt (it doesn't go all bubble-skirty like I thought it would folded over.), which is totally delightful & super sassy. It's a nice pencil skirt, too. Ultimately, I really love it. I can't comment on the shrinkage yet, 'cause I haven't washed & dried it yet, but I'm hoping that it does indeed shrink a bit so that the length is a little shorter and it looks a little more flattering in the tummy area, which for now looks a little shapeless without a belt. Fab.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sara
May 21, 2009

I'm 5'1, 105-110lbs, 32B and the size S fits perfectly. I really didn't think this bubble style would be flattering, but in an odd way, it is...it's not too baggy but just loose enough...it's super comfy, works just as well as a pencil skirt as it does a dress, and the white color I bought isn't too see-through (though if you're wearing a bright colored anything underneath, expect a little of that color to show). I took off one star because after one wash and spin through the dryer, while it did not shrink significantly for me(then again, I only ever dry things on medium-low heat), the waist/top band kinda lost shape and got a little loose...I hide that problem by wearing it with a belt when I wear it as a skirt.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by patricia
May 11, 2009

this dress is really cute! i got it in raspberry over a year ago and still wear it all the time. i sized down to avoid the potato bag effect so that might be the trick... also it looks better on girls with boobs and/or an ass than on the flat aa models so dont let the pictures turn you off go try it on in a store!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jordan
April 30, 2009

I got this dress in purple and I really like it. I wear it more like a top though. Wouldn't mind buying it in asphalt or slate either.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Christine
April 8, 2009

we need more colours - like royal blue!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

194  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10