Velvet Full Woven Skirt

rsa0310v
41 Reviews
96% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Sarah


Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 155 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

Big and Bulky
November 27, 2013
I am usually a medium when it comes to skirts, between a medium and a large when it comes to pants, therefore I ordered M/L, big mistake. The skirt was bulky in the back and frankly quite loose. Great intent, poor design, the fabric is great! If you're going to buy this and you're between sizes... SIZE DOWN! Side note: I went to return this item to the store in Palo Alto, Ca for store credit. They explained I could only return it for store exchange, gave me a horrid attitude, and suggested that their return policy is "silly and doesn't make sense," well they were correct on that one. As it turns out, anything bought online can be returned to store for exchange or store credit! Personally, I will avoid that store as much as possible and continue to buy & return online. It's sad when your quota for the day is so minuscule that you cannot accept a return item for fear of having a sub-par income day. Eeep.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kayla


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 100 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

October 12, 2013
The skirt looks a lot better on the model than it does on me:/ I am a little disappointed, although it's still a cute skirt.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Danielle


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 104 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Oh my goodness it's perfect
October 6, 2013
I usually never write reviews but this is seriously this is my new favorite skirt. I was iffy on buying it in burgundy, because in store they didn't have green, but it goes with so many things. I love it so much that I'm buying the matching scrunchie. It fits true to size, I bought a small and it fits very comfortably and isn't as short as it looks on the model. I'm a cheapskate and usually only buy sale items here, but it's well worth the price, probably more.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Maddie


Height: 5' 9"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Great skirt, buuut...
May 10, 2013
I love the look and feel of this skirt, great quality and durable! Bought in a M/L as I am fairly tall and it is a great length, not too short. However, the waist band hurts after a few hours of wearing and the zip is a massive pain. I love the skirt though.. If you are worried about it being too tight on your waist buy the new elastic stretch band version!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Meg


Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 112 lbs
Fits? Big
Recommend? No

Not Keen
February 4, 2013
The skirt doesn't look half as nice in person as it does on the site. I don't know whether it's because i'm short but I thought it just looked very frumpy and unflattering, the sizing also seemed to be big.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Ashleigh


Height: 5' 4"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

New favourite skirt
January 21, 2013
This skirt is beautiful. I was a bit sceptical of ordering at first because I've never ordered from American Apparel before and didn't know whether to order the XS or the S. I played it safe and bought the S, and although I probably could have fit in the XS, the S is very comfortable, with room to tuck jumpers etc in. The zip is a little bit annoying, but it wouldn't stop me from buying the skirt again. I have velvet skirts from other companies where the material is really thin, but the velvet material that AA use is super thick and luxurious and surprisingly keeps me warm. Great buy, bought it in navy and green and would definitely recommend.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Idalis


Height: 5' 7"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Lovely
January 16, 2013
Like the Chambray Full Woven Skirt, this is still in the same condition as it was when I first got it. I was afraid to even sit on it at first since it's velvet, but the material is super durable. I ordered the black in a M/L. I feel as if I could have gotten a small because the skirt is a bit loose around my waist but I would say it fits well overall.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kristen


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 109 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

She Wore Blue Velvet...
December 3, 2012
This skirt is luscious. I ordered a small in Navy, and I love how luxe it is, while still being subtle. It's a versatile piece that can be worn with a sweater, oxfords, and opaque tights, or dressed up a bit with a button down, sheer black stockings, and sky-high ankle boots. The color is rich, and the velvet, while not as thick as I would have liked, is still very soft, with a nice drape. Like others have said, it is not obscenely short, making it suitable for daytime wear. If you can get a hold of one--go for it! They had to ship mine from a store in NY, and I live a few hours away from LA--AA's home base!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by M.T


Fits? Big
Recommend? Yes

do it in MEDIUM!!
June 18, 2012
I normally wear AA skirt in Medium(M). So I bought the velvet woven skirt in M/L but the skirt is not fit! its too big for my waist! I think because of elastic band~ I do recommend you to do this skirt in M size!! It'd be perfect. I love the fabulous velvet and color. I bought in Burgundy and green <3

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Lucy


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

It's beautiful!
June 11, 2012
Just received the burgundy in M/L and it's fantastic! The colour is divine and goes with so many things in my wardrobe, was worried about the zip being a bit stiff after reading other reviews but it's perfectly fine. I'm a UK 10/12 and the M/L fits perfectly, it's by no means tight and would definitely fit a size 14. I thought it would be really short but it's a perfect length and I'm just so pleased with this garment- I can imagine myself wearing it a lot all year round!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Finally!


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

June 3, 2012
So glad the burgundy has finally restocked!!! Such a gorgeous color and I can't wait to start wearing it with every outfit.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


Reply by
Ava Adore
December 15, 2012

we seem to have the same measurements and I'm still unsure what size to get , what size did you get? that would help a lot, thank you :)


by Milk T


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Thank you!!!
May 24, 2012
Thank you AmApparel for the burgundy M/L! worth to wait!!! <3 Im dying for this skirt and i checked the site everyday!!!! Happy to got it :D :D :D

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Milk T.


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Burgundy M size please!!!!!!!!!!
May 15, 2012
To AA! I've been searching for this so long and i planed to order it today but what?!? Burgundy M size is out of stock!! T_________T Please make it again. im waiting!!

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by lucy


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

more colours!!
March 21, 2012
aa please do this skirt in the wine colour and also the purple reign ☺😄 it would look fabbbbbb !!! pleeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaseeee xxxxx

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Alexia


Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

so so cute
March 14, 2012
I bought this skirt in the Burgundy in a S and it fits perfectly! my only issue (a long with everyone else) is that the zipper gets stuck at the top seam.. and I also find the elastic waist at the back a little awkward, but apart from that I love it! now off to buy the green..

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by JL


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

FOXY!
February 2, 2012
A foxy skirt made for foxy legs. NICE!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Aurora


Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 125 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

LOVE!
January 18, 2012
This skirt is amazing and compliments every outfit! I love it so much that after buying the burgundy, i went back and bought the green as well! Fits great, the only issue I have (along with everyone else it seems) is the zipper which really is a pain.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


Reply by
Jessy
February 21, 2013

Hiya, we seem to have the same measurements do you think you could tell me what size you got as I'm unsure what to pick?


by Maggie


Height: 5' 8"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

January 11, 2012
I love this skirt :) I love the way it flows when I walk and get so many compliments on it. Only downsides would be the zipper messed up and is pretty much impossible to move all the way up now after a few times wearing, and my waist gets kinda sore from the waistband pushing into me after a long day of wearing it. Other than that its amazing :) bought in burgundy size M/L i'm 5'8 and it fits really nicely.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anonymous


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

December 19, 2011
Wish the entire waistband was elastic, only about a third of it is so it bunches up more there than the rest of the skirt. Would be more comfortable too, sometimes the zipper digs into my side.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anonymous


Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Perfect for Winter
December 3, 2011
The texture, look, and feel is amazing for the colder months. The colour is very rich and I like it a lot. I'll probably buy another one but like another reviewer stated, the zipper is a bit hard to maneuver. I'm contemplating whether or not to buy the burgundy or green next but AA you NEED more colours for this skirt! Violet or Raspberry would actually fit very well.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


41  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3