RSA0310V

Velvet Full Woven Skirt

Based on 40 Ratings

95%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

0
17
3
Small
True Size
Big

40 Reviews


by Sarah
November 27, 2013

Height: 5' 11"
Weight: 155 lbs

Big and Bulky

I am usually a medium when it comes to skirts, between a medium and a large when it comes to pants, therefore I ordered M/L, big mistake. The skirt was bulky in the back and frankly quite loose. Great intent, poor design, the fabric is great! If you're going to buy this and you're between sizes... SIZE DOWN! Side note: I went to return this item to the store in Palo Alto, Ca for store credit. They explained I could only return it for store exchange, gave me a horrid attitude, and suggested that their return policy is "silly and doesn't make sense," well they were correct on that one. As it turns out, anything bought online can be returned to store for exchange or store credit! Personally, I will avoid that store as much as possible and continue to buy & return online. It's sad when your quota for the day is so minuscule that you cannot accept a return item for fear of having a sub-par income day. Eeep.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kayla
October 12, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 100 lbs

The skirt looks a lot better on the model than it does on me:/ I am a little disappointed, although it's still a cute skirt.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Danielle
October 6, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 104 lbs

Oh my goodness it's perfect

I usually never write reviews but this is seriously this is my new favorite skirt. I was iffy on buying it in burgundy, because in store they didn't have green, but it goes with so many things. I love it so much that I'm buying the matching scrunchie. It fits true to size, I bought a small and it fits very comfortably and isn't as short as it looks on the model. I'm a cheapskate and usually only buy sale items here, but it's well worth the price, probably more.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Meg
February 4, 2013

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 112 lbs

Not Keen

The skirt doesn't look half as nice in person as it does on the site. I don't know whether it's because i'm short but I thought it just looked very frumpy and unflattering, the sizing also seemed to be big.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashleigh
January 21, 2013

Height: 5' 4"

New favourite skirt

This skirt is beautiful. I was a bit sceptical of ordering at first because I've never ordered from American Apparel before and didn't know whether to order the XS or the S. I played it safe and bought the S, and although I probably could have fit in the XS, the S is very comfortable, with room to tuck jumpers etc in. The zip is a little bit annoying, but it wouldn't stop me from buying the skirt again. I have velvet skirts from other companies where the material is really thin, but the velvet material that AA use is super thick and luxurious and surprisingly keeps me warm. Great buy, bought it in navy and green and would definitely recommend.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Idalis
January 16, 2013

Height: 5' 7"

Lovely

Like the Chambray Full Woven Skirt, this is still in the same condition as it was when I first got it. I was afraid to even sit on it at first since it's velvet, but the material is super durable. I ordered the black in a M/L. I feel as if I could have gotten a small because the skirt is a bit loose around my waist but I would say it fits well overall.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kristen
December 3, 2012

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 109 lbs

She Wore Blue Velvet...

This skirt is luscious. I ordered a small in Navy, and I love how luxe it is, while still being subtle. It's a versatile piece that can be worn with a sweater, oxfords, and opaque tights, or dressed up a bit with a button down, sheer black stockings, and sky-high ankle boots. The color is rich, and the velvet, while not as thick as I would have liked, is still very soft, with a nice drape. Like others have said, it is not obscenely short, making it suitable for daytime wear. If you can get a hold of one--go for it! They had to ship mine from a store in NY, and I live a few hours away from LA--AA's home base!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by M.T
June 18, 2012

do it in MEDIUM!!

I normally wear AA skirt in Medium(M). So I bought the velvet woven skirt in M/L but the skirt is not fit! its too big for my waist! I think because of elastic band~ I do recommend you to do this skirt in M size!! It'd be perfect. I love the fabulous velvet and color. I bought in Burgundy and green <3

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lucy
June 11, 2012

It's beautiful!

Just received the burgundy in M/L and it's fantastic! The colour is divine and goes with so many things in my wardrobe, was worried about the zip being a bit stiff after reading other reviews but it's perfectly fine. I'm a UK 10/12 and the M/L fits perfectly, it's by no means tight and would definitely fit a size 14. I thought it would be really short but it's a perfect length and I'm just so pleased with this garment- I can imagine myself wearing it a lot all year round!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Finally!
June 3, 2012

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs

So glad the burgundy has finally restocked!!! Such a gorgeous color and I can't wait to start wearing it with every outfit.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

Reply by
Ava Adore
December 15, 2012

we seem to have the same measurements and I'm still unsure what size to get , what size did you get? that would help a lot, thank you :)


by Milk T
May 24, 2012

Thank you!!!

Thank you AmApparel for the burgundy M/L! worth to wait!!! <3 Im dying for this skirt and i checked the site everyday!!!! Happy to got it :D :D :D

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Milk T.
May 15, 2012

Burgundy M size please!!!!!!!!!!

To AA! I've been searching for this so long and i planed to order it today but what?!? Burgundy M size is out of stock!! T_________T Please make it again. im waiting!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by lucy
March 21, 2012

more colours!!

aa please do this skirt in the wine colour and also the purple reign ☺😄 it would look fabbbbbb !!! pleeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaseeee xxxxx

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Alexia
March 14, 2012

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 125 lbs

so so cute

I bought this skirt in the Burgundy in a S and it fits perfectly! my only issue (a long with everyone else) is that the zipper gets stuck at the top seam.. and I also find the elastic waist at the back a little awkward, but apart from that I love it! now off to buy the green..

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by JL
February 2, 2012

FOXY!

A foxy skirt made for foxy legs. NICE!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Aurora
January 18, 2012

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 125 lbs

LOVE!

This skirt is amazing and compliments every outfit! I love it so much that after buying the burgundy, i went back and bought the green as well! Fits great, the only issue I have (along with everyone else it seems) is the zipper which really is a pain.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

Reply by
Jessy
February 21, 2013

Hiya, we seem to have the same measurements do you think you could tell me what size you got as I'm unsure what to pick?


by Maggie
January 11, 2012

Height: 5' 8"

I love this skirt :) I love the way it flows when I walk and get so many compliments on it. Only downsides would be the zipper messed up and is pretty much impossible to move all the way up now after a few times wearing, and my waist gets kinda sore from the waistband pushing into me after a long day of wearing it. Other than that its amazing :) bought in burgundy size M/L i'm 5'8 and it fits really nicely.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
December 19, 2011

Wish the entire waistband was elastic, only about a third of it is so it bunches up more there than the rest of the skirt. Would be more comfortable too, sometimes the zipper digs into my side.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
December 3, 2011

Perfect for Winter

The texture, look, and feel is amazing for the colder months. The colour is very rich and I like it a lot. I'll probably buy another one but like another reviewer stated, the zipper is a bit hard to maneuver. I'm contemplating whether or not to buy the burgundy or green next but AA you NEED more colours for this skirt! Violet or Raspberry would actually fit very well.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
October 23, 2011

Age: 25
Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 136 lbs

A staple that you can dress up or down!

I don't usually buy things from AA but this skirt was a great purchase! I was on a mission to buy a simple black mini skirt but I just couldn't find it anywhere. I was originally eyeing on the chiffon pleated mini skirts but maaaann those were see-through (even with tights on). This velvet one has a great length (short but not inappropriately short), it's got a zipper on the side, half elastic waistband, and soft fabric (it feels like touching the stage curtains, hahaha..). I got it in a size M/L because I wanted a longer length (tried the S/M, too short for my liking). Anyway, buy this skirt, you'll love it :)

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

40  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2