Stripe Print Nylon Tricot High-Waist Swim Brief

rnt65ps
20 Reviews
86% of reviewers recommend this product
Ratings Breakdown
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Fit Guide
Small
True Size
Big

by Myra


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 128 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Happy Buyer
June 16, 2014
I absolutely love this swimsuit. I got the Barcelona stripes bottoms and matching bandeau top. I was worried the size large would be small, but it fit perfectly shaping out all my curves in a positive way. With this swimsuit my summer now feels complete.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Rachel


Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 119 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Bring back the Barcelona Stripe!
May 26, 2014
I love love love the Barcelona Stripe high waisted bottoms they are so complimentary and I wish they were still in stock! My old pair have worn out and I have been looking for a new pair like crazy...

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Giselle


Height: 5' 3"
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Pretty cute!
August 11, 2013
I tried it in store and it looks so good! I'm 5'3, thick and it covers my stretch marks and pouch. It also goes above my bellybutton. The leg holes are a little wide. (Which isn't a bother for me), so if you're concerned about showing too much leg or on your sides, then this isn't for you! Shows a little butt cheek, but it's appropriate. ;) I LOVE this. So excited to wear it out! Oh and if you're thick like me, GO AND GET THIS. Don't be afraid to buy it, chubby/thick girls deserve to be sexy too! ♥

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tasma


Height: 5' 8"
Fits? Small
Recommend? No

July 11, 2013
When i bought these i was super excited cos i had been looking for a cute high waisted swimmer for ages. I bought the aqua and white striped pair, and then when they arrived i was so disappointed because 1: they weren't lined at all, so if they were worn in the water they'd go totally see through. The top wasn't lined either, it was just a loop of fabric basically with no support or padding. 2: they were slightly small to fit, and felt pretty tight. I'm actually going to try and sew lining in by myself, so hopefully that works because other than that they'd would have been super cute swimmers.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jocelyn


Fits? True Size
Recommend? No

SEE THROUGH WITH WATER
May 28, 2013
The creme aquamarine should not be under the "swim suit" section. Completely see through (top and bottom) in the water. Please line them American Apparel.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Crystal


Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 114 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Cute but not for me :(
May 1, 2013
I wear size 6-7 so I bought medium it fit well however didn't look right because I have a small torso. The model is tall and slender looks cute on her .. . but me not so much.. I'm short and have more meat Too bad I spent the $$ & can't return it.... now I'm stuck still shopping for a swimsuit.

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by k


Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 155 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

bummer
February 17, 2013
I'm a size US 10 in pants, 38-30-39 with a long torso and the L was far from flattering. it hit almost 2 inches below my belly button, and the top band was too tight while the leg holes were way too big. I like the idea of these bottoms, and the colors, but the fit absolutely did not work for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Grace


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Hmmm.
August 20, 2012
I feel silly now for writing two reviews but I wrote the first one before realizing a few things. One: The pair I received in the mail has some faint dirt stains on the front. Don't remember ordering that, and Two:I read other reviews that the bathing suit pieces with white on them end up being see-through which I found out that this is in fact, true. My suggestion is getting it in a solid colour like the red/navy or barcelona stripe because those people seem to be happy with it. I also found that it runs rather small, I went a size up for the bottoms (M).

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Grace


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 115 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

Hmmm.
August 20, 2012
I feel silly now for writing two reviews but I wrote the first one before realizing a few things. One: The pair I received in the mail has some faint dirt stains on the front. Don't remember ordering that, and Two:I read other reviews that the bathing suit pieces with white on them end up being see-through which I found out that this is in fact, true. My suggestion is getting it in a solid colour like the red/navy or barcelona stripe because those people seem to be happy with it. I also found that it runs rather small, I went a size up for the bottoms (M).

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Tiff


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 114 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

A great purchase
August 7, 2012
Ordered a medium and they fit perfectly. I waited too late in the summer to order these in the color I wanted so I settled on the Barcelona Stripes. They fit just as I would imagine and would want them too. I am so in love with this style. Thank god for AA.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by chrissy


Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

cute but disappointed
July 8, 2012
i bought this for a trip to the camp , on sale so that was a plus , but when i wet the top , on accident the top wasnt lined . thats sucks because i was planning on swimming in it but i guess i cant , but the bottoms , in the barcelona stripe are soooooooo cute , and flatter you curves right . im curvy with no butt and it makes everything look nice and cute . i happy about the bottoms but he fact that the top isnt lined , is a bummer .

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by sarah


Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 170 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

June 18, 2012
I have been looking for a high-waist swim bikini bottom; one that didn't look like it belonged to someone in their 50's, for a very long time. I was so excited to try this one! this bottom is almost perfect. it isn't see through (medium grey with lime stripes). I am 5'10'' and the bottom hit me right above my belly button, I would not recommend this for any one taller than 5'10''. I was a little worried that it would be to small for me, being that the largest pant size a large will fit is a size 10 (my size), but it is very true to size......it dose "ride" a little in the back...but it's not a big problem.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


Reply by
Amber
February 19, 2013

What size did you order? And if you ordered a large ...did the large fit tightly


by kalen


Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 150 lbs
Fits? Small
Recommend? Yes

cute
May 17, 2012
I picked this one up in Barcelona stripe for my beginning-of-summer trip. I owned the high-waisted bottom in Black for a couple years and the fabric blew out! Maybe it's just because I always spend more time swimming than laying out, but still a disappointment. I was happy to see that these briefs are lined now, hopefully they'll last longer. One of the main reasons I purchased this stripe colorway is that it was actually higher-waisted than the solid colored ones. I am pretty tall and when a high-waisted bottom hits a couple inches below my navel, it's not flattering. Also I am not a super large lady. I wear size 8 or M in dresses, and at AA I wear a S in tees and a M in leggings. In this bathing suit, I bought L for the top and the bottom. Smaller sizes reeeeeeeeeally didn't look good on me. This one's pretty great though.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Shay


Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 108 lbs
Fits? True Size
Recommend? Yes

Surprisingly Cute
March 16, 2012
I was nervous to try this on because I have such a small frame but a big butt. To my surprise, it fit super cute. My sister who is my size but with no but looked terrible in it, so this is def made for those who love their curves. I got the red navy stripe briefs and a solid navy bandeau and got so many compliments (and it wasn't see-thru like the other reviews)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


Reply by
Kyndall
April 26, 2012

Hi! I'm also 5' 2" and weight 115. What size did you get? I don't know if i should get a small or medium.


by Cailey


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 13, 2011
I absolutely loved this suit (I bought it in white/aqua) when I tried it on! But, unfortunately, it's completely see-through when wet. It is absolutely adorable, but I can't wear it if I intend on getting in the water. If it were lined, it would be absolutely perfect.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Jill


Fits? --
Recommend? --

August 4, 2011
these bottoms are so freaking adorable! I bought the barcelona stripe and I absolutely love them, I paired them with a red bandue that ended up being see through when I went in the water, but the bottoms were not so I'll just pair with them with a black or white top that I already had from j.crew. the stripes are super flattering and the sizing is really true (I'm a 28 and the medium were perfect). thank you american apparel for these amazing high waisted briefs!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Amelia


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 19, 2011
Creme Aquarian Stripe. Completely see-through! Totally disappointing - it's a swimsuit that you can't swim in! Thanks American Apparel. Why can't this just be lined, it would be rad.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by clementine


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 16, 2011
I just purchased the barcelona striped briefs. They are super sexy and flattering. More so then the others because of the vertical lines. They don't broaden the hips like the others but make your waist look smaller. I'm pairing it with a black top. I love it!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Anna


Fits? --
Recommend? --

July 11, 2011
I got the Red navy stripe bottoms and they aren't see-through. They are more like the solid colour bottoms. LOVE THEM!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No



by Kat


Fits? --
Recommend? --

January 31, 2011
Cute and flattering but see through when wet! How dumb. This should be lined; it just feels cheap.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Did you? Yes | No


20  Total Reviews 20 per page 1