RNT53

Nylon Tricot Scoop Back Tank Pencil Dress

Based on 142 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

0
9
4
Small
True Size
Big

142 Reviews


by char
January 20, 2014

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs

Please please PLEASEEE bring back this dress in Purple size Smal

I love this dress so much, i bought the black version in store, and little did i know they had a beautiful purple colour!! The black one i bought was absolutely gorgeous on, its flattering for a large chest (32D) . I am fairly short, and petite, but i do have a large butt. normally dresses like this ride up on me, but this dress stays put pretty well. Another amazing purchase ! But yeah, please restock the purple !!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Rae
September 2, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 185 lbs

Size Down

Purchased this a size down (M) with the recommendations of the reviewers. I have large boobs (D-DD) and the medium is tight enough were I don't need to wear a bra. Comfortable and flattering for hourglass figures. I have black, and I really want to Nude color!

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by chan
June 24, 2013

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 145 lbs

Can't wait!

Just ordered this online in Purple in a size SMALL. Im so excited because not only do i have the most spectacular pair of shoes to wear with it, I also caught it on sale at $32 AND free shipping. So yeah, I'm super stoked! Anywho, I will let you know how it fit once I receive it by mail. Weigh 145-150lbs, 5'2, 34D, 29, 35 ORDEREDSize small. Yes i want it to be fitted´┐Żbased off other reviewers comments also.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jennifer P.
May 30, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 140 lbs

BOMB dress!

The pictures of this dress doesn't do it any kind of justice. I have been shopping at American Apparel quite a bit over the past two years since I discovered it. I never consider trying on this dress cause I'm very curvy and usually need a bra! I wish I had tried it on sooner! It's super sex and slims you. If you are stuck between two sizes, I would recommend going down so the the straps aren't too big and it doesn't gap in the lower back. It's pretty stretchy so it shouldn't be a problem. Also, this dress is pretty much impossible to wear a bra with! With a darker color and going down a size, I don't feel like I really need one! Yippie!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Rees
February 14, 2013

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 125 lbs

AA MAKE MORE COLOURS OF THIS AMAZING DRESS PLEASE!!

This is my favourite AA piece. It's a make everyone jealous winner. AA RESTOCK IT IN GREEN PLEASE!!!! Girls you need this dress in your life, now.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

Reply by
chan
March 30, 2013

what size did you get? whats your measurements?


by Ashlynn
October 15, 2012

Height: 5' 10"
Weight: 130 lbs

SIZE QUESTION!! I am 5'10/130lbs/34B..what size should I order?? I have a long torso and long legs so dresses tend to be either too short or too big on me. if anyone could give me some advice..

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Asia
July 18, 2012

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 150 lbs

COLD!

So I just purchased this dress today in red and it is absolutely amazing! I'm slender on top with zero boobs but I'm bigger on the bottom with a nice butt. The dress does an excellent job of excentuating it ;) I've had yet to wear it out but next week I do plan on wearing it for a concert where my ex boyfriend will be in attendance, this certainly will be the best revenge dress ever! Beautifully made and wonderful color selection. Ladies, if you really want to be the center of attention this is the dress to buy! Trust me, it will not disappoint! My one and only complaint is that the straps run a little big and they can tend to fall down, other than that I give this dress an A+ so go buy it! NOW!

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by C.L.
June 18, 2012

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 160 lbs

Love

I have it in the black in small. Got the small by accident but i generally recommend bigger chested women (I am 36C) to size down. So I am normally a medium and small fit me perfectly. This way the dress won't be too loose in the boob section so they will hold the girls firmly in place without a bra. My only complaint is that it kept riding up all night and I was just way to drunk to keep pulling it down. But thats what you get generally when you wear anything bodycon.

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lily
June 15, 2012

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 140 lbs

AMAZING!

I have been lusting after this dress for so long and finally decided to order it.... I am SO happy I did! It just arrived in the mail and it is SOOO SEXY and form-fitting in all the best ways possible! I am 5'9" and about 140 lbs and I got a large, it fits me great. It's a little bit loose in the shoulder area but nothing that can't be fixed by pulling the dress down a bit. I can't wait to wear it out! It's a show-stopper for sure!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Julie
June 5, 2012

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 106 lbs

SEXY DRESS!

This dress is super sexy and hugs all the right places. I have it in French Rose, a beautiful light creamy pink. The color looks exactly like how it does in the picture. The only thing is I can't wear a bra with this dress. My nipples don't show through though and no one says anything about it. I've worn a tied chiffon blouse with the dress one time when I wanted to wear a bra and it looked really cute. I get a lot of compliments on this one.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jacklyn
December 27, 2011

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 100 lbs

WOW! Great Dress! I LOVE IT!

I received this dress as a surprise Xmas present from my sister & she told me that it was something I would not expect at all...Lo & behold, she was right on the money!!! I got the Black in size S, since my frame is tiny/petite & I have to say, it fit me just like it was made for me. I seriously can't get enough of it. It's so comfortable, but at the same time, it's a bit tight on the bottom, just like some people have said before, but still, looks great no matter what. And as far as the back of the dress...WOW! Phenomenal is all I can say about that one. Also, as a few other people have said before me, this dress is very much like the one Tatiana Yvonne(Thumbtzen) from Michael Jackson's short film "The Way You Make Me Feel" wore, as well as a few of the girls on his tours wore for that particular song as well... I seriously can't wait to start officially wearing it once it hits with warm weather...

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
November 23, 2011

Age: 26
Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 98 lbs

What's up with the sizes?

Ok, I got this in the Shiny Black- that was my mistake. I didn't know Shiny Black meant fake leather looking. I figured it was going to be shiny like the Cobalt one looks. The Black one in the picture looked like cotton, which is why I didn't go for it. By looking at the pictures, I couldn't tell which one was the regular black and which was shiny black. Anyways. I'm petite and completely proportionate. So how can a D cup and an A cup both fit into a size small (going off other comments). So I got this in a small because it's the smallest size, and boy was it tight going up! since it's fake leathery, my small body actually stretched the bum part (did I mention I am a 00 and even a size 12 in kids?!)and there are faded white marks on it (like stretch marks!!). And the opening is mega tight that I'm basically lock kneed. The top/ arm hole is completely loose! the only way I can keep this dress on is if I'm walking around with my hands up, or by arching my back and sticking my chest out. Not realistic!! This dress was meant for a barbie doll by measurements! I think the Shiny might just have a different fitting. I'm hoping the other colors work better because it is a really good looking dress. It sux that I am stuck with the Shiny (never got to return it :(((() as I can never wear it. All that said, I still want the Cobalt! I hope it fits better :-/

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? Yes

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
November 6, 2011

Age: 22
Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 105 lbs

Super sexy!

This is my *favorite* dress from AA and I own a lot of them (multiple colors), so that's saying a lot! Please make this in bright red!! It'd be AMAZING.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Rumaire
August 21, 2011

Hey everyone! I definitely like this dress just unsure what size to purchase. I'm a 164 pounds 38C and maybe a tad bit butt not much. Was wondering should I get an M or L for best fit. I know a small will suck me up!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Elena
July 31, 2011

@Marcelle-- this dress is super tight and very sexy. Definitely a show stopper, it is rather short.. don't know if appropriate for homecoming but who cares!? :) I am an M 36-24-36 i normally go up to an L in american apparel but on this case the back on the L was sagging and a little big although it fit me perfectly everywhere else. I'd go for an S. This dress makes me love american apparel even more... only 4 stars because i think 42 pound is just a little too over budget for this dress.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Marcelle
July 31, 2011

I love this dress and I wanna get it for my last Homecoming dance! I'm 5'5" and 130 lbs (hourglass figure). I'm generally a small, but sizing up to a medium in American Apparel clothes is always suggested. Is this dress in particular true to size? I dunno if I should get small or medium ): Also, is the length appropriate for school dance?

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by beck
July 23, 2011

when will sizes be available in fluorescent red. more colours AA...

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by tolu
July 22, 2011

I love this dress, im 5'10 about 180lbs... Now im a thick girl, with a big butt and this dress shows everything and fits like a glove so if you are not comfortable with your body DO NOT BUY. I caught everyones attention when I wore this dress, I bought it in Cobalt (which I advice for thick girls) Im deff goin to get this in black

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by erica
July 5, 2011

SERPENT GREEN! please bring it back, this will be my third dress in this style! :)

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Miyami
June 27, 2011

@Samantha - your def a small. Im 5 7' 140lbs 34D and small fits me fine. Anywho....just ordered my third dress in color peach. I already have blue and pink and they are super sexy! I LOVE this dress....Kardashian curves in it for sure. Lots of compliments.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

142  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8