RNT48

The Malibu Swimsuit

Based on 48 Ratings

100%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

1
16
0
Small
True Size
Big

48 Reviews


by Tamara
July 2, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 140 lbs

Love the color

Overall I like the suit. Front is lined, rear is not. No shelf bra or padding which is OK with me despite a 36 C/D natural chest. It rides on top of my hips like the speedo's I wore years ago swimming competitively, but lacks the chris-cross back support of competitive suits...again, fine with me these days. As others pointed out, it is a little sheer when soaking wet, but only briefly in my case. Once the water drains the sheerness is subtle/not completely obvious. This may alarm some women, but my days of competing in swimming and polo in suits with little or no lining allows me to feel relatively modest in this suit. Stay fit, groom yourself well and you will be fine in this suit.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Tamara
July 2, 2014

Height: 5' 8"
Weight: 140 lbs

Love the color

Overall I like the suit. Front is lined, rear is not. No shelf bra or padding which is OK with me despite a 36 C/D natural chest. It rides on top of my hips like the speedo's I wore years ago swimming competitively, but lacks the chris-cross back support of competitive suits...again, fine with me these days. As others pointed out, it is a little sheer when soaking wet, but only briefly in my case. Once the water drains the sheerness is subtle/not completely obvious. This may alarm some women, but my days of competing in swimming and polo in suits with little or no lining allows me to feel relatively modest in this suit. Stay fit, groom yourself well and you will be fine in this suit.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Ashley
May 15, 2014

Height: 5' 0"
Weight: 96 lbs

sizing?

I'm tiiiiny. 5'0" and 96 lbs. but with a little curve. Will a S fit me?

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Bambi
May 11, 2014

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 104 lbs

Fun Girl

Overall this one piece is a classic. I got it in the peach and its extremely see-through, but its final sale so I might just add cups or material in it. I was too late to get the poppy color but the peach is also a fun color however I feel the poppy color wouldn't show my nipples

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Emma
May 6, 2014

fabulous. cut looks awesome on my hips and the low back is beautiful. I got mine in neon coral and the color looks great on my really pale skin. I'm 5'2 and 125 and the medium fits me perfect. my only complaint is that nipples do sort of show through when it's cold, so if that's a concern for you personally I wouldn't recommend it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by alanna
March 11, 2014

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 135 lbs

awesome!

This was an excellent purchase. Bought a medium, because I have a big bum, fits almost perfectly! 34b chest, shows a lot in the back but considering the cut of the suit, it's a perfect sexy and simple one piece. cobalt blue. will probably buy again if more colors come out!!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Court
March 5, 2014

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 105 lbs

Comfortable

I wish they offered this in an xsmall, but aside fro that I love it. Very comfortable.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by jeniffer
February 26, 2014

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 102 lbs

I LOVE IT!! i been looking for one like this for years. they are always way too expensive for me. im talking more than $100. but this is incredible. but they don't have XS :( im very petite, so yeah i need XS. i almost cried. AA really needs to do it. they have it in the stripes ones, but its too much color for me. i like it plain. :(

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Andrea
November 14, 2013

Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 130 lbs

Love this suit!

I love this suit so much. It's very sexy, yet still modest enough. I'm a mom and want to cover my tummy but still look good, and this suit is the best one-piece I've found! I love it so much I just ordered another color. I'm 5'4,130 lbs and the medium fits me perfect. I'll probably buy more!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Emilly
September 27, 2013

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 56 lbs

May want to size up if you're a taller girl

I tried this on instore; usually I'm a size small. It fit right everywhere except the chest, it barely fit over my boobs which made them appear much flatter. You may want to size up if youre tall

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Chloe
August 18, 2013

Height: 5' 1"
Weight: 119 lbs

Great, Fits like a glove

This is a great swimsuit. I go the one in shiny peach. I was hesitant to order online just because swimwear cannot be returned but it fit great! I am 119 lbs., 5'1, and curvy. The only thing with this swimsuit is your nipples show through. My breasts are a 38b, so reusable waterproof breast petals for your nipples are a must, and when it's wet of course it's very show-through. I would highly recommend this swimsuit to a friend or anyone. Once again I am very impressed with American Apparel.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by hana
August 3, 2013

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 119 lbs

amazing!

I'm 119lbs and 5ft 6 and a small fits me perfectly! the high rise leg and low back creates such a sexy look, i have many colours and always wear them with shorts. really good quality material definitely worth the money girls!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by victor
March 22, 2013

Height: 6' 5"
Weight: 177 lbs

must have!!

hi girls and guys, me and my girlfriend are both, gym and dance instructors and like to dress a bit provocatively when we do our sessions at the beach or indoors. even beeing tall the l is fab, we both wear a l and it fits us both perfectly, she is 6 ft and 126 lb. yes it shows a bit bootie, but otherwise just buy a granny model;-) nothing you dont want to pop out does, it gets a bit see thru when it gets wet but again, we both love it, have fuchsia, yellow, black and navy as well as the striped version and the flower version

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jewels
December 30, 2012

Height: 5' 2"
Weight: 125 lbs

<3

I purchased the Poppy Malibu Swimsuit. I absolutely love the Malibu Swimsuit. Normally I dislike one piece swimwear because it is unflattering & makes me look like an old woman, but the Malibu swimsuit proved me wrong. At first I was searching online for a one piece swimsuit for rib coverage of my tattoo to prevent sun-bleaching & all of the ones I looked at were incredibly boring. Then I stumbled upon this beauty. Based on the pictures I was nervous about the back exposing too much of my butt, but after trying it on I was very pleased. True, it shows a very little bit of booty, but that is what makes this swimsuit so sexy. I adore the high cut, I am a short girl & it gives the illusion I have long legs. The Poppy Color is beautiful & eye-catching. I guess the only downside is that it makes me look incredibly flat chested (typically i wear under wire 2 piece swimwear), but it's nothing new since I am an A cup anyway. No Biggie i'm used to it! I absolutely love love love it.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by kmcady
June 13, 2012

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 113 lbs

help me with a size?

hey, im a small girl, 5' 3" 25 inch waist and small butt, but i have 34 D's....what size should i get? i want the high cutt along the legs and wouldnt mind some chest showing, but i dont want it to constantly ride up my bum. Should i get a small or medium?

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Melissa
February 22, 2012

Height: 5' 7"
Weight: 112 lbs

Would this fit me and is it safe for swimming?

I was gonna wear it at the pool gym... In some photos it looks REALLY cut away, in others it just looks cute. My measurements are 34:26:35 and my torso (from shoulder to crotch) is about 29" Also, does it give you a camel toe?? Can you easily swim in it or is it just for show? :) xxxx

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lois
February 9, 2012

Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 128 lbs

Sexy swimsuit in poppy red!

I got the poppy red one in a size L because I have a long torso and it's a really sexy vibrant red. It looks just like a Baywatch suit except that it obviously doesn't have the Baywatch logo. It's double lined and thick which means that it's not see through at all and the material is firm so it makes you look smooth and toned. It's as high cut as in the picture but it doesn't give you cameltoe, just make sure you wax/shave before wearing it in public ;) In terms of the size specifically, the length is good on my long torso..I'm a US size 4-6 and my bra size is like 32C. It does make you a little flat chested and the bigger boobs you have the better for this suit, especially if you get large! That's the only complaint I have, when I look at myself in the mirror sideways with it on, there's like a gap under my arms. But i love the suit overall so I'm actually going to go to a tailor and get them to alter the sizes so it fits perfectly. The butt part looks good. What I will say though is that if you aren't quite toned or naturally firm, try it on in store because you can't return swimwear to AA after ordering it online. If you have bigger thighs or cellulite, a string bikini is going to be much more flattering. This will look absolutely HOT on anyone with long slim legs! Just something to keep in mind!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
September 29, 2011

Age: 32
Height: 5' 6"
Weight: 155 lbs

Many compliments on the beach!

I bought this in the black and nude lace. it is SO sext..looks like lenjerie your not supposed to be in public in! I am 5'6"-ish and am 155 lbs. I am fit and toned with a curvy size 8. I do however have big boobs...like 36 DDD enhanced. It doesnt have the support for a heavy natural breast I would guess but it isnt really for running like Pam down the beach either. There is NOT much lining but as I said mine is printed. I would liked to have bought a plain color, but my nipples were obvious and with my size I'd like to leave those hidden at least. The butt did ride up and I had a some public uncomfortable-ness being that I usually wear a more conservative suit with family. I kept pulling it out and MY suits lining started to roll out and give me an even bigger complex. My husband (after many confirms)said it looked great and to STOP pulling it out and let it do what it is supposed to do. My printed lace did fade but I was in chlorine a lot. I logged onto AA to buy more of the same suit/s I loved mine so much.....but I will ALWAYS buy a print. BTW-this is the ONLY item I have ever bought at AA specifically bc I saw this suit in an advertizement. I have been looking forever for something sexy but not so Mommy! Sorry for the book....:) Happy Shopping

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Cassandra
August 7, 2011

Got this in coral. It is absolutely NOT see-thru when wet, don't know about the Fl. Yellow though...

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Marisa
August 5, 2011

Tried this on in-store, and noticed some differences between colors! Red, Navy and Peach were all double-lined, very thick and sturdy (think racing suit if you've ever done swimteam), the fluro-yellow, coral and black were only lined in the front half, and were thinner material all over. Although the all-over lining felt more durable, it gave me kind of a diaper butt (my bottom is small!) so I bought coral (GORGEOUS) even though the material is thin, I'll just be careful not to scoot around on my butt fraying the material, it will get sheer (NOT see-thru) in back but just cut that tags out and it looks great. LOVE THIS

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

48  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3