6401

Sheer Jersey Short Sleeve Summer T-Shirt

Based on 142 Ratings

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

0
0
0
Small
True Size
Big

142 Reviews


by Ian
August 15, 2011

These shirts are a serious gamble. A few I own are long enough to be dresses, while some are too short. The sleeves on some are really wide and others are tight. When you find one that fits right, it's a very nice shirt. The colors are sharp, and it's comfortable and light. I have green, black, yellow, red, brown, baby blue and silver. I'd advise against the Silver one. After some wear and washes it looks like a filthy white shirt.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Harrison
March 24, 2011

I'm a big fan of this shirt, but not as much as i am of the classic crew. The fabric is light, comfortable, and sheer, but not so much that you need to wear a jacket over it to cover up :P The Summer Shirt fits my body type *6'1" 155 lbs* well, but is noticeably more slim than the classic crew. Personally, I find the extra length this shirt has nice, but this may be less than desirable to others. Overall, i would definitely recommend this shirt for anyone looking for something simple, stylish, and comfortable.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Robert
June 2, 2010

Shirt is true to size if you are a slender body type. Very soft and wears well. I wore it for 3 days this last holiday and it continued looking nice and fresh. Hopefully it will not pill like some of the other shirts I have from AA.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Kevin
May 31, 2010

I'm 6'3 and pretty slender, so I usually can wear a medium. Unfortunately, this shirt seems to run a size smaller than it actually says, so I'm having to send mine back to get a large. I like the material of the shirt though. It's very lightweight, but feels like it could get holes pretty easily.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Andrew
May 17, 2010

I bought one of these because I love the thinner shirts and the slim cuts of AA. I am very picky on the fit of a shirt and the neck really bothered me on this one. I feel it looks sloppy and way to big for me as I really like the neck to fit much tighter. Other than the sloppy look of the neck cut, I liked it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jason
April 6, 2010

I'm 6'3" 170 and have been buying these in L for a few years. They were fitted better a few years ago. The newer fit worse as they are larger and ridiculously long. Like 4-5" too long for me. The fabric has gotten thinner and cheaper feeling as well. Make sure you try these on before u buy 'cuz they all seem to be different, even tho they are labeled the same size.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jon
March 19, 2010

It's a fairly standard t-shirt fit, nice and long (which is great for me). I love the cotton, it's very soft and light and I'm looking forward to wearing these this summer. The cut could be a little better, but I like it more than 90% of brands. However, I advise sizing down from your normal AA size. I'm normally an AA Large, but I wouldn't wear one of these in sizes larger than a medium.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by william
March 12, 2010

I've been purchasing these for a few years now... 4 years ago they were perfect, now they're cut different and rather awkward fitting. What a disappointment... It's a shame that they didn't make two separate versions of it or something instead of changing the shirt completely.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Eric
February 25, 2010

This shirt used to my end all, be all perfect T shirt. I have at least 10 of them. I recently purchased a couple of the new cut and the fit is really unfortunate... much slimmer, much longer (I actually didn't mind the length), wider sleeves with weird gathering around the pits. It's pretty much a different shirt. If you've never had one of these, give it go... but if you've already got a few, be warned, they're very different. I'm extremely sad that what I once considered to be T-shirt perfection has been ruined. Why not just spin off a "slim cut" version and leave the original alone?

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Matt
February 3, 2010

I have a closet full of these, that I have purchased over the years, however, I recently purchased a new batch, and they are super long, way longer than the same items I have already. Sleeves are also a different cut, too loose. I am returning to the store I bought them. I thought I was buying the same, but there is definitely a difference.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Anthony
December 16, 2009

I love these sumer tees, and have at least 15, but my last order was awful. I am medium and always order medium, but all five of the black tees i ordered last time were waaaaay bigger in size than all my previous orders, yet still labelled medium. So I had to return them all. Please AA, sort out the reason why your sizes fluctuate so wildly!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Luke
December 11, 2009

I'm 6'3 and slim and it's VERY difficult to find a tshirt that fits well. This is it. I will buy no other T-shirt for the rest of my days if this one stays around. It's long but not designed for wide folks. PERFECT. Much better fit for me than their normal T, which is still good, but this one is.. as I said - PERFECTOMUNDO.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by stephen
November 11, 2009

I love these shirts they are comfy and fit well on me. They seem to be softer than the 2001, but the stitching around the neck came undone after only a few wears. This has happened with other AA shirts too, some of which I never even got a chance to wear.....I brought them home and noticed that the stitching was coming undone. Very disappointing considering the price.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by soniamdissapoint
September 28, 2009

not one of my favorites, ive bought two shirts now that had seem issues where one sleeve was longer than the other. This shirt is also very long. im 6 foot 170 pounds and there is still too much length with a medium. They need to be more consistent on shirts they sell. you never know what you are getting.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Gab
September 24, 2009

This shirt fits me AMAZINGLY, it's my new favorite shirt. I am 5'9 and like 135 and I really liked the longer the length. The only thing I am afraid of is how much it shrinks because right now it fits perfectly.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by bobken
September 18, 2009

i love this shirt, it'll be too long for some people, but i like them long, it fits really well on the chest and waist. the only flaw i can think of is the sleeves point out a little bit at first but i'm sure with a few washes they'll go down.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Lucky The Rockstar
September 11, 2009

This shirt is TOOOOO long!!!!!!!! What's happened to American Apparel? The 2001 cut was perfect. I still have them all these years later. I gave all my 3 pack summer tees to my wife to sleep in...they are a dress.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Haydn
August 24, 2009

The T of 2009

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by dunker
August 6, 2009

i bought a medium of the heather grey which i found the quality very good, a high quality and thin material t-shirt which fitted me nicely. i then received the same shirt in black which was so small i could barely get it on, it felt like one of my skin tight base layers so i had to return that. so a great t-shirt but the sizing is a bit hit n miss.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Big Al
July 20, 2009

When i first bought a couple of these tees over a year ago, in the fantastic red and kelly green colours they fitted very well and still do. The long slim body was matched by fitted sleeves making for a flattering streamlined athletic silhouette, showing off a lean waist and making a good show of modestly muscular arms. Unfortunately in the last couple of orders the tees, though still with the same long slim cut and soft fabric have baggy/square sleeves. This is such a shame as i loved the way they used to fit. The wide sleeves look daft and out of place with the slim fit of the rest of the shirt. I notice atleast a couple of other posts commenting on this difference in cut from how the 6401 used to be. It was the slim fit of the sleeves that used to make this tee superior to the 2001 (though the long body still makes it win in my opinion - i'm over 6 ft), and also worth paying that bit more than other manufacturers basic tees. Now that the cut has changed and the uk price put up to 16 (i know, you in the us have it so cheap comparatively!), i'm just not sure its worth it any more. I'd pay 20 for the old cut, my favourite tees ever, which is why they're worn out - if only the replacements were as good. in closing the original cut ranks a 6/5 stars while the new cut of the sleeves and price hike decrease it to only 3

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

142  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8