2359

Fine Jersey Leisure Dress

Based on 325 Ratings

84%

would recommend
this item to a friend

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Fit Guide

3
2
1
Small
True Size
Big

325 Reviews


by Kiki
August 27, 2014

Height: 5' 2"

weirdly sized

I really wanted to like this dress. but it was really boxy, I ordered a larger size to make sure it would be longer. It was short, like really short and Im 5' 2".

Fits? Big
Recommend to a friend? No

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Marki
December 2, 2013

Height: 5' 3"
Weight: 110 lbs

Love this!! Where are the other colors and the xs??

I absolutely love this dress. I own three already and they have held up so well through all the use. I get compliments every single time I wear these and would love to buy more, but where are the xs in other colors??? Please bring them back!

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Peanut
July 23, 2013

My "uniform", love it

This is it. I own(ed) 5(8)? and ordering 2 more for rotating fresher ones in black, red and navy, always have it handy. What happened to the size availability? XS across the board? It's the third time I tried to order purple and it's never avail? What happened to other more interesting/wearable colors too? Please consider doing forrest green, cobalt blue, burgundy, provence yellow (the gold was too orangey n bright, pale yellow is so washed out, both had to return) - hip trendy yet wearable hues you know. Enough wash outs or eyeache colors. Make it in seersucker? chambray? Variety please? Great cut and versatility, you need to do more product development here, look at the hundreds of five stars, we love this dress! If you're considering getting this, get it! Make sure to order up, way up. I'm a US size 4 or petite 6 and wears a L here normally, M is a snug sexy/non-fat days fit.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by grace
July 2, 2013

Height: 5' 9"
Weight: 145 lbs

please make more of the dress soon

It looks awesome. Sexy and casual, and I would live to have own it.

Fits? True Size
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Mara
May 20, 2012

Height: 5' 5"
Weight: 160 lbs

Perfect Fit

I am a 34 DDD and this dress is perfect for accommodating my ample chest. I wear it completely unbuttoned and still there is no cleavage being shown. If you're self conscious about your tummy, I would advise you to size up. The length is perfect. It hits me right above my knees. I was debating between the large and x-large, I'm glad I got the x-large. Don't hesitate to buy this dress.

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by 
August 30, 2011

Age: 27
Height: 5' 4"
Weight: 150 lbs

Great dress! Durable

I bought this dress in red in the Charleston, SC store sophmore yr of college 05 and it was still one of my favs in 2008. The color loasted and the material was durable through many washes. Unfortunately I don't remember what size I had and it got lost while moving. I'm busty and curvy 5'4" and around 155lbs 36DD , i think i'll buy L and XL and see which one fits best. Goodluck!

Fits? Small
Recommend to a friend? Yes

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Liz
August 19, 2011

I absolutely love this dress. I'm 5'5", 140 pounds, with a large butt and a small waist. The large fits perfectly and hugs me in all the right places. AA, please restock olive!!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Vivi
July 29, 2011

I started with red and asphalt and am totally addicted to this dress, so I later also bought it in navy, black and brown. I usually wear XS in AA styles, but for that one S is just fine. Dear AA pleaaase add the kelly or grass green again. I have to admit that sizes slightly vary depending on the colour but still this is my absolute favourite dress, and I'm planning to get even further colours.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Jilla
July 24, 2011

I love love this dress. Got it in creme at an AA store and didn't wear it for like 6 months because it was see through. Finally got a slip and it is so flattering on. Im 5'5 132 and L fits perfectly, flares out at the perfect spot and is short but not too short, can even wear it to work. Usually wear medium but these are a tad tight. About to buy the navy. :)

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by JUlie
May 8, 2011

THis dress is a great cut for me. It is classy and flirty at the same time. My measurements are 32-26-35 (32 a) and the small fits like a glove without being too tight. Furthermore I am 5'7 and this dress, while short, is not a mini dress at all. Longer than many aa short dresses. I just got the white one. If wearing nude under things, its fine but bright or dark show through with the white. Love this dress!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by sel
April 18, 2011

I love this dress! At first when I read the reviews it said it fits tightly so I ordered a small. I got it and it was huge (i'm 5'2, 106lbs) ! I returned them for XS and they fit perfectly! I have them in black & red & definitely want to get more. I can wear them to work with leggings and boots when it's cold & can't wait for it to be warm to wear them outside with sandals.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nina
April 15, 2011

These dresses are cute, but why do some look shorter than others? I'm 5'9 and I don't want to end up with a long shirt.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by violet
March 22, 2011

Like one of the other reviewers, I am also very petite (5'2", 30-23-33), I bought the XS in Eggplant and it fit perfect! I have been eyeing this dress for a year and saw it was on sale so I decided to try it out! I was unsure about the sizing because some people said this dress fits tightly, but it looked very nice on me, fitted on top and then flares below the waist. I'm glad I did not get the Small. The length hits me slightly above the knee. My hips have been bigger before (35") so I'm not sure how size XS will look on me if I gain weight, but for now it looks good and I am very happy with it. It isn't easy finding clothes that look good on me when I am so petite, so this dress is awesome!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Laura
March 8, 2011

Dear American Apparel: If 5'3" girls are saying that this is "just the right length," you can bet that it's going to be waaaay too short on many of us. If you insist on cutting all of your dresses for the very petite, could you at least have a selection of your most popular items in tall sizes? I'm 5'9" and 125 lbs., and a small fits me perfectly - except for the length, which makes it virtually impossible for me to sit down without exposing myself. It does not seem fair that I would need to go up to a size that fits me like a sack in order to look like I'm wearing a dress rather than a shirt. Please, PLEASE make a longer version of this dress! I love everything else about it.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Maija
January 24, 2011

It's really hard to find dresses which are simple, fitting and well-made enough to look classic, but at the same time not too showy or sloppy-looking. So, american apparel: never ever stop selling these. Just got a black one yesterday, and haven't been wearing anything else since. The cut is perfect for me (wide hips, narrow waist, normally all jersey dresses tend to hitch upwards or seem too tight around my hips - but not this one). I'm 5'3 and 50 kgs, usually wear xs or s, and this dress on size s is perfect for me. It's not loose, but definitely not too tight either, and the hem is mid-thigh.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Nico
December 14, 2010

I love this dress! It's simple, sexy, and hugs my body in all the right places. I'm 5'5" 110 lbs and I got a small in eggplant. I wore mine with thigh highs since the weather is colder right now. I want to buy up while they are on sale!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by morgan
December 6, 2010

this is my favourite dress. I usually wear it as a medium, but got it in a small to wear as a long t. makes my boobs look awesome for some reason. super durable.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Sean
November 11, 2010

EEEK!!!!!! It's on SALE!!! I have 5 of this dress, purchased over the past 3 or 4 years, and they're holding up GREAT!!! Yay, they're ON $ale, so I got THREE MORE!! Boo, way fewer colours.....and WHY on sale? Please, Please, PLEASE Do NOT Discontinue these! EVAH and Bring back ALL the Colours! I effin' LURRVVVVE This Dress! !! Please?

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by miya
October 17, 2010

I'm loving it! I have a babyblue and it shows me great.

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review


by Genevieve
October 6, 2010

I have had this dress for several years and I am extremely happy with it. Mine is eggplant, size XS; I am 5'4" and 100lbs and it is quite fitted - I need to wear a slip underneath to avoid showing underwear lines. I have washed it many times and it does not pill, unlike several other American Apparel products I own. Overall, highly recommended!

Fits? --
Recommend to a friend? --

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No


Reply to this Review

325  Total Reviews 20 per page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 17